We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Slice of Heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Etu Moana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Etu Moana
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We recently spent 6 wonderful nights at Etu Moana in Villa 2 - it was paradise. When looking to book had my heart set on this place and was not disappointed in any way. The location and setting is amazing - it doesn't get better than this. The Villas and facilities are awesome - all well appointed and well equipped to cater for your every need. Steve, Amanda and their wonderful team were welcoming, friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.....the roosters regardless of what some might say are really no bother. It was the perfect place for a relaxing holiday and I would recommend Etu Moana to anyone considering a visit to Aitutaki. We enjoyed wonderful meals at Koru Café (tuna burger a must try), Tupuna's Restaurant, Tamanu Beach and the Boat Shed plus a fun day on the Vaka Cruise. Thank you Etu Moana and Aitutaki for making our holiday a very special one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    48
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
752
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Etu Moana is such a lovely, relaxing place to stay. We recently spent 4 nights there, having also stayed 2 years ago. The villas are beautifully appointed, with an authentic feel. The beachfront villa was extra special - being able to sit on the veranda and soak up the view.

It's great to have a small kitchen for snacks or meals, or just to make coffee. (You might want to bring some basic food items from Rarotonga or home if you want to prepare meals, as the range of food available nearby is a bit limited. We got a bbq pack with fresh fish and salad from Koru Café so that we could have a bbq by the pool one night, which was great.)

Steve and Amanda were very welcoming and happy to go out of their way to make sure our holiday was perfect. As returning guests, we were made to feel like VIPs! Shardae and the other girls on staff were always friendly and helpful.

We made good use of the bikes, pedalling to the wharf one day, and to the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort another day. Cycling fits with the pace of the island, but you can also hire scooters or cars if you want to explore further afield.

Truly a special place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ararofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerston north
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

As others have said this place this truly paradise. The resort is amazing, such attention to detail that really made it stand out from the other resorts we visited whilst in the island. We stayed for 6 nights first in villa 3 and then in villa 10 both were beachfront and lovely villas, villa 10 just a little more private. Beach was wonderful and quiet, snorkelling was amazing and some nice places for dinner nearby. We hired a beach buggy to see a bit more of the island and also made good use of the bush bikes available for free. All the staff were friendly, helpful and had plenty of time to stop and chat and give advice about things to do. The breakfasts were yum and we had a free bottle of champagne to celebrate our honeymoon - so thoughtful! The honesty bar was good fun for making cocktails at sunset and make sure to read the visitors books in the rooms lots of handy tips of things to do and see!
We had no bother with the roosters, had lots of bug spray so no issue with mossies (didn't have one in the villa the whole stay!), just a few ants in kitchen so don't leave food out and open!
Can't recommend this place enough, so pleased we chose it and can't wait to go back again and again!! Loved it!

Room Tip: Villa 10 is beachfront and little more private as its the newest villa on the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buster181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We just love this place, it's quiet and boutique, the rooms are just beautiful, the managers welcoming and helpful, the location is perfect for access to the whole island and the facilities are second to none ... We will be back again and again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzyGirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I went for our honeymoon this first week of July. We stayed in Villa #7 and loved it! We did a lot of research before our trip and were prepared for a slower pace of life and to just appreciate the beauty of the island.

Some of the negative reviews I read about:

Roosters.... yes, they can be annoying at first...our rooster sounded like he was being choked to death...but this is an island that wakes up with the sun and goes to bed with it. You'll get the most out of your day adjusting to that schedule.

Mosquitos.... You're in a tropical location, what do you expect? We were prepared with bug spray and were careful when opening doors to not let any in.

Breakfast.... They must have updated the breakfast because we really enjoyed the various breads and jams along with cereal, fruit, hardboiled eggs, coffee and juice.

Beach... no this is not a swimming beach, but we knew that going in. The coral housed some beautiful, colorful fish that we only see in aquariums in the states, so it was great just walking around in the crystal clear water looking at all of them. We saw an eel and blue starfish as well. The sea cucumbers are not ideal, but they help make all that beautiful white sand, so appreciate instead of complain.

The managers, Steve and Amanda were lovely. They left a bottle of champagne for us with a note congratulating us on our marriage. It was a very nice surprise!

Our trip was planned for 5 days in Aitutaki, 7 days in Rarotonga...I wish we had done it the other way around. Aitutaki was so peaceful and relaxing. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melyna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beautiful place to have a holiday, thank you for the friendly welcome and the wonderful up grade nearer the beach....want to come back!! Was great walking down the beach in the dark meeting the crabs looking for the restaurant for dinner....

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
437 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I celebrated my 60th birthday here and stayed 6 nights. We could readily have spent a month at this place!!!! Lots of extra touches were provided - a spacious room with a comfortable super king bed with "views to die for" looking out over Aitutaki Lagoon (we had a beachfront villa); a huge covered, elevated deck which serves as extra living space. A well appointed bathroom with a nice tiled walk-in shower and rain shower head. Granite bench tops in the kitchen and the bath room. The deck has a table and chairs, a lovely comfortable day bed with 2 cushions (on one side of the deck), and a recliner on the other. Afternoon power naps on the day bed are highly recommended!The deck proved to be great for eating our breakfasts on (we selected what we wanted from the serving area around the swimming pool each morning and took it back to our villa), for watching the sunsets from and for escaping the searing sun! All of the staff are exceptionally and genuinely friendly here. Our many thanks to Steve and Amanda (who manage the resort), for providing good advice on things to do and places to eat. The villas are fitted out to a very high standard. Continetal breakfasts are excellent (who really needs scambled eggs any way!), although the coffee is a little strong for our liking. Very easy to lose track of time here. You'll need a car or scooter, as the resort does not offer lunches or dinners; some restaurants will pick you up but wheels give you much greater flexibility. We hired a pink (yes pink) Honda Jazz from Aquila car rentals in town for only $50/day for a 4 day hire. This is actually cheaper and safer than hiring 2 scooters which are $30 each/day. Bring plenty of effective mosquito repellent and water resistant sun screen.
A few negatives: our villa did not have a compendium when we arrived and despite asking for one twice, it never turned up - we had to borrow one from a guest in another villa, which was disappointing as it contains alot of interesting info which we read about only towards the end of our 6 day stay. We felt there should have been travel brochures in the villa with various activities and places to eat at on the Island - yes they have one in the front office; however this office is not manned in the evenings when you are planning the day ahead. The lagoon is also very shallow and rocky in front of the villas, especially at low tide.
See my revews on "Trip Advisor" of the many restaurants we ate at on Aitutaki; and the 2 lagoon tours we did (with Teking and Aitutaki Adventures - I recommend both very highly). Best restaurants we discovered are the Koru Cafe for lunch and Tipunas for dinner. We were very disappointed with the food and service at the 5 star Pacific Resort.
After looking around at a number of accomodation options (for the future) during our holiday, we came away convinced this is ther best place to stay at on Aitutaki. Yes it's alittle expensive but as Mr Nike says, "just do it!"

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 9 which we were told is the "owners villa"; we think it's the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 6 in Aitutaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etu Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etu Moana

Property: Etu Moana
Address: PO Box 123, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Etu Moana 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Etu Moana Beach Villas offers ten Polynesian style villas with thatched roofing. The Villas are situated on a beautiful white sandy beach and you have a mesmerizing view of the turquoise lagoon from each Villa. The Villas are all self contained and have a kingsize bed, large covered verandas, and Tasmanian oak floors. The style is crisp and modern. We offer complimentary Tropical breakfast, kayaks, SUP, snorkel equipment, and bicycles. In the rooms are smart TVs with 40+ movies on a hard drive. You are also able to listen to your own music by connecting your phone via bluetooth with a sound bar. In addition we also offer a gift USB card, coconut drink, ei's and airport transfers. The lovely Cook Island staff at Etu Moana are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Etu Moana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etu Moana Aitutaki
Etu Moana Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing