We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the lagoon”
Review of Ranginui's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Right on the lagoon”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here two nights and it was great value for money. Basic accommodation but the location was perfect, lulled to sleep with the sound of waves lapping on the beach. Friendly owner gave us advice on were to eat and was spot on.

Made good use of the kayaks, going up and down the lagoon.

Take a torch if you are going to be out late! Watch out for the crabs crossing the street and beach when you come back...its very dark!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranz-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
38
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Ranginui's was ok. Having just come from another place on the Island, Ranginui's was a bit of a letdown in comparison. The bed was very comfortable but the long drop for a toilet was definitely a surprise... The bungalow had a very dirty feel about it, one of the frying pans still had food on it from (presumably) the last guests.

The location of Ranginui's is great however. It is close to eateries like the Boat Shed, Koru Cafe and Samade. Unfortunately as it is located by O'otu Beach it is on the other side of the Island from the township.

The free kayaks which are on offer are fantastic and we definitely used them! I suggest you kayak out towards the reef to watch the sunrise, so peaceful and amazing. The beach on front of Ranginui's doesn't have much sand but is a great depth for swimming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The room wasn't all that bad, but the manager was. Her name was Mello. They provided breakfast for an additional charge. My wife and I told the manager that we wanted breakfast for the first morning we were there. When we waited around and breakfast did not come, we looked around for the manager. When we found her,she very curtly said "You did not order breakfast". No, "I'm sorry, I must have misunderstood you or anything like that". Also there was junk piled all over the place, the place was a mess. When we got a ride back to the airport from the manager, we got no "thank you for staying with us" or anything like that. I got the feeling that our presence there was an inconvenience to her. Definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Staying at Ranginui's Retreat is living the island dream! These one-room beach huts have a spectacular location right on O'otu beach looking out over Aitutaki's turquoise lagoon. The beach is white coral (not much sand) and is a good depth for swimming or taking out the free kayaks.

The only draw-back with the location is that you're away from the town. We hired a scooter one day to drive there for food and had a fun day touring the island.

The accommodation is fairly basic but everything you need is provided. We didn't use the a/c unit in our hut as there is a good breeze through, even though it was very hot weather when we stayed.

The hut is equipped for self-catering but it's difficult to buy much food on the island as the local families are self-sufficient. There is a market in the town but this doesn't sell much (even at 0730 am!), a small shop in the town and a family-run grocery shop (sorry I don't recall the name) on the road north of the town (we were recommended this by another tourist the day before we left so we didn't get a chance to go there).

There are 2 good restaurants within 3 minutes walk. The food is good but not cheap.

If you're planning on a trip to The Cook Islands you must visit Aitutaki. If we ever come back we would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hannoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Ranginui's Retreat is a well positioned property that is ideal for the independent traveler who enjoys modest amenities on a prime beach location for a great price!

A galley kitchen with hot plate, microwave, toaster, dishes and kettle served our purposes. The bathroom was adequate with good water pressure, the composting toilet was not noticeable and the bed was comfy.

The owner Steve was fantastic and assisted us with booking local tours, Bubbles Below for diving and dinners. He offers a great scooter rental and is a wealth of island knowledge. Really enjoyed our time at the Retreat and the price could not be beat!

Room Tip: Although Unit 7 was at the beach entrance it had a great view, came with AC, and had a steady breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukon Landcruis... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here and were amazed that for an affordable price we could stay in Aitutaki for even longer. I suggest a week minimum here if you enjoy water sports and a relaxed beach setting. Steve is a gracious host and a very kind hearted man who made our stay that extra bit special.
Ranginuis looks onto the same Lagoon as the Lagoon resort and at a fraction of the cost it the best option when weighing in cost and location. We will be back again and thanks also to the lovely housekeeper Lani who was so friendly during our stay.
The kite surfing, whale watching, one foot island trip all with Wet and Wild is truly amazing and bookable through the resort. Quinton and his wife Melo looked after us very well and the lunches were best we've had on day trips.
Keep up the good work Ranginuis!!

Room Tip: All rooms look over the lagoon and close to beautiful pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Have just spent 5 nights at RR and would go back tomorrow, we just loved it, it is of course not the Pacific Resort experience...so, if you don't need to be met at the airport with ei's and water and a special place to sit, if you don't mind an eco-loo,no air-con (in our room anyway), and if you just want to chill, it is just so peaceful and relaxing, can jump in the lagoon which is about 15 steps from doorway, bed comfortable, bars and cafes near if you want to go, friendly locals, scooter hire, gorgeous gorgeous views, kayaks to play around on and no-one standing on much ceremony but Steve (owner is great) then go to RR's. We just had the best time (at a great price!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 5 in Aitutaki
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranginui's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranginui's Retreat

Property: Ranginui's Retreat
Address: PO Box 8, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranginui's Retreat Aitutaki accommodation is comprised of 8 self catering beachfront bungalows sleeping a maximum of 3 Adults each or 2 adults and 2 small children. Each bungalow accommodation offers Queen size beds ensuite bathroom with hot and cold water, in room fans, kitchenette with fridge, microwave, cook top, utensils, rain water fountain and tea / coffee facilities and fully screened rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ranginui's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranginui`s Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing