We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ranginui's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Putaruru
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Ranginuis Retreat looks over the lagoon to the posh Aitutaki Lagoon resort and they pay lots more for their view! Rooms were adequate for what we wanted.
Nice and relaxing for our 5 days as you can walk to restaurants, but on-site scooters for hire are needed to check the rest of the island. A long way from the shops.
Pacific Cove resort do a cheap Umu meal during the week. Check out the clams at the Marine Research Centre, but best seen snorkelling from a lagoon cruise.
Take heaps of insect repellant and it is mossie heaven on the island!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NzBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

As Steve said as we looked across the narrow channel to the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort, they're paying $400 to $700 to look across at us. The motor scooter was included and very useful to go downtown to stock up on some food & drink items although we enjoyed trying out the 3 closest retaurants and bars: Samade, Koru & Boat Shed. They all provided good, well prepared and reasonable priced food.
The room was basic but clean and relatively spacious. As noted by some others, the eco-toilet was no problem and gave no smells. There was plenty of hot water for our showers and washing. We didn't cook in our room but appreciated the fridge, utensils and kitchen sink. The transfers from and back to the airport were included.
As we were there from Saturday afternoon to Tuesday morning we went to the main church (by scooter) on Sunday (oldest and largest on Cook Islands) for some amazing singing and on Monday, walked to the Vaca Lagoon Cruise for snorkelling and to visit the outer islands / motus. Steve arranged this tour for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Location was perfect. Beautiful view of the lagoon and view of the expensive Aitutaki Lagoon Resort! Steve was an excellent host. Picked us up from the airport. Taught us to ride scooters. Eco toilet is nothing to worry about. I was hesitant at first but it does not smell at all (better than a regular toilet). For the price and the location, this was the perfect place to stay! Restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lisa108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was my second visit to Aitutaki as once was definitely not enough. The first time I stayed on the Western side of the island which was nice, but nothing like the eastern side and the perfect Ootu beach! It is the best spot on the island for swimming, lazying around on the beach and eating out. Ranguini's is located smack bang in the centre of this area and what great value for money. Nothing beats the view from your bungalow!! Steve the owner is fantastic and made me feel right at home, any query I had he was happy to help. I rented a scooter from Steve for a few days and got to explore every part of the island. The bungalows are simple and have everything you need - a double bed & single, kitchenette with small fridge and stove, dining table, open closet and bathroom with shower. Ranguini's also has a swimming pool and free kayak hire! The only drawback is the compost toilet but if you can get over that then this place will meet all your expectations! What value for money on the most perfect island in the world. I'll be back again realy soon!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AussieGal1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

OMG is this our room was the first thing we said when we got dropped off on our doorstep, the sun was shining on the most beautiful bluest lagoon i have ever seen. we stayed here for 3 nights before relocating to the other side of the island to a rental home. we explored the whole island n can honestly say you won't find a better spot. We travelled with our 3 yr old and there was a single bed for him next to our double was which was great we all had the most gorgeous view.
We spent most of our time in the water if not in front of our room then we'll use the canoe to explore the waters or go over to the resort just across from us where you can have a cocktail over the water. the room is budget but clean and comfortable i can't say anything bad about it except for the 'compost toilet' I'm not used to not flushing. but if you can get over that fact and you don't want to pay an absolute fortune at aitutaki lagoon resort then i will highly recommend to anyone to stay here, the waters on the other side/ amuri side of the island are very shallow so its hard to actually go for a "swim".
Steve the owner is great, truly friendly. he helped us with car rental n even gave as the same low price even when we went to the rental home.
we spent 2 weeks in the cooks islands, in a few different places, but this place was deffinately the highlight of our trip, we can't wait to get back there and ranginuis retreat is exactly to where we'll be returning too.
Also we went on black pearl to explore and go snorkelling around the island, their service is amazing, highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IFudare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Four nights sandwiched between stays in Rarotonga and just what we needed. Very relaxing and what a perfect spot! Of course it is budget accommodation but that is part of the charm. Walk out your door and step into the warm water. You dont have to do anything but enjoy the peace and quiet - apart from the roosters of course! If you feel like some exercise though there is kayaking or take one of the amazing snorkelling trips - we joined TeKing and had a great day. Also the restaurants and there are a few on that part of the island that are more than adequate. Clean, comfortable accommodation with very helpful and friendly staff. A little out of town but that is fun when you are mastering the art of riding a scooter with the added bonus of very little traffic to get in the way! Would recommend this accommodation for a totally laid back break away - take some breakfast makings and mosquito repellant. You might even get time to read a book!

Room Tip: Room next to pool. Some have air conditioning and that would be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WetaRotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Only stayed 1 night at RR having spent time elsewhere on the island. I haven't made my mind up whether I liked staying over this side of aitutaki compared to the Amuri region. But I'll save that debate for another day. At least I could get my Top Gun fix and race the planes along the runway on the road out to Ootu.
As for RR, I would describe our stay as pleasant, but its not somewhere I'm itching to get back to. On the plus side... The rooms are spacious, clean and air conned (for an extra charge). The views are great looking back across the lagoon. Kayaks are available for guests to explore some of the nearby motu. And there is a deep swimming channel out the front, as well as a pool if you'd prefer a different water experience. Steve is a good bloke who is happy to run you to the airport, store your bags or hire you a moped on site. Oh and you're a short walk to the best coffee on the island at Koru.
But in saying all that, we just didn't find that RR floated our boat. It was nice, without being great, and I think if you are on Aitutaki then you probably want great. As I said, the rooms are fine, but they aren't anything special. The toilet is a nature loo, which was a little disconcerting at first, but remarkable in the fact that it doesn't actually smell funky. Overall RR is good value but we paid a similar price to stay in a more central location. The jury is still out on whether I liked staying over on this side of the island and ultimately that is probably influencing my review here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Rino's Motel
Rino's Motel
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranginui's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranginui's Retreat

Property: Ranginui's Retreat
Address: PO Box 8, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranginui's Retreat Aitutaki accommodation is comprised of 8 self catering beachfront bungalows sleeping a maximum of 3 Adults each or 2 adults and 2 small children. Each bungalow accommodation offers Queen size beds ensuite bathroom with hot and cold water, in room fans, kitchenette with fridge, microwave, cook top, utensils, rain water fountain and tea / coffee facilities and fully screened rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ranginui's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranginui`s Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Hotel Aitutaki
Ranginuis Retreat Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing