We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Cove Lodges
Ranked #1 of 5 Aitutaki B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our cottages were right on the beach and were wonderful. They are clean and comfortable. The staff are very helpful. There was a huge sand fly population around when we were there but the staff made sure we had enough of the repellent. The evening meal and entertainment was very special and thoroughly enjoyed - would recommend this too! If you are looking for a tropical paradise, this is your place. Oh, rent the scooters too and tour the island that way. It was awesome!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinandroxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    136
    41
    9
    19
See reviews for
40
265
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our short 6 night stay in the Cook Islands. We were greeted at the airport by Junior with fresh flower leis and cold coconuts with a straw in them. We got a lift into town while they were dropping other guests off somewhere which allowed us to get some bottled water as well as soft drinks and a bag of ice for our sunset drinks. As we were only staying 3 nights we did not worry about cooking in the room. Upon reading the guest information booklet it appears that if you want a lift to town as a special trip you will be charged, so you are better off hiring a scooter from them or arrange a lift when they are already heading into town.

We stayed in a waterfront bungalow and the view was great. We got a package deal including airfares from Raro, through Island Hopper travel on Raro which was all arranged via email, and worked out a lot cheaper than booking the room and airfares separately. The rooms are basic but comfortable with fresh flowers placed everywhere for our arrival, however they did not last for long in the January heat. No air-con but the ceiling fan above the bed and the sea-breeze kept us cool enough and the screens kept out the mosquitos. If you get hot there is deep water straight in front of the rooms for swimming.

The Saturday night BBQ was cancelled due to the low number of guests, so walked up the beach 2 doors to Puffys for fish and chips and a few drinks as the sun set over the water. Guest numbers improved and Paradise Cove had sunset cocktails and fish and chips on the beach on Monday night and it was good value and very relaxing.

The staff were very helpful, they rang around to organise a lagoon cruise on the Sunday after one of the two cruises cancelled on Sunday morning. We ended up going with Puna on his (faded) yellow boat and it was a great day.

We hired a scooter from Paradise Cove for and did a self-tour of the island and used the scooter to travel to a restaurant for a meal at night.

We would definitely stay here again on this laid-back, friendly and relaxing island with a beautiful lagoon!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are the best. Odd rooms are set further forward and Room 1 is on the end and has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigAussie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

There's not a lot I can add that hasn't been written before regarding the location. It's just beautiful.

We were travelling with our two younger children, so booked a family bungalow. They are one row back from the beach (so no beach view) but are large and comfortable with a double bed and two bunks. The only thing we didn't like about the room was the bathroom because it had no ventilation whatsoever – no windows nor an exhaust fan. With the four of us using it, it did get pretty 'stuffy' in there and the only way to let the steam and odours out was to leave the door open. Otherwise the accommodation, though fairly simple, was very comfortable.

En route from the airport to Paradise we stopped at the grocery store in town to buy some supplies. It's a good opportunity to stock up on snacks, bottled water and other drinks as there's no restaurant at Paradise Cove. (They do however serve a tropical breakfast of fruits and toast and once or twice a week they have a barbecue or local food dinner – which are definitely worth partaking of.)

If you want internet at Paradise Cove you need to buy a voucher in town (at the post office or grocery store) to use the hotspot. We did, but found the connection to be so slow that it was pretty much a waste of time and money. So you're better off just turning off the electronics and just chilling out while you're there.

Regarding lagoon cruises, we did the Vaka and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Would we go back to Paradise Cove to stay again? Yes!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkabout59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This bungalow style of accommodation is perfect for those who like to feel as being alone on the tropical island. Although pretty close to each other, bungalows are surrounded with palm trees, elevated on wooden posts and almost all of them are at the beach front. Each bungalow has a veranda facing open see, a perfect place for watching the sunset and enjoying glass of wine with significant other. Interior is pretty basic but fairly clean and comfortable. Plenty of hot water and no mosquitos in the room. They offer complimentary local phone calls from the reception and free pick-up/drop-off from the airport. We were offered free breakfast on our first day.
No free Wi-Fi, only Telecom hot spot. Scooter rental at the premises. I liked the place and would not hesitate to come again.

Room Tip: Waterfront bungalows are worth price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We (22y.o couple from Sydney) stayed here for 7 nights during our 13 night Cook Islands trip. After reading many reviews on tripadvisor about Aitutaki/Raro, and following advise from Paradise Cove, we made sure to spend majority of our time in Aitutaki - and were very right to do so!

Location - perfect. The beach is beautiful and great for swimming/snorkeling. There are restaurants in walking distance (next door, and 2km up the road), however for everything else you will need a scooter (available for hire for $20 a day) or you can grab a ride in the van when the staff go into town (which they also offer when they pick you up at the airport).

Room - great. It has a full kitchenette, small bathroom, king bed (uncomfortable) and a balcony. The only downside is no aircon, but there is a fan that does make do.

Service - we didn't have much interaction with the staff, our room wasn't serviced in the time we were there (our towels only changed once) which was disappointing. The buffet nights are HIGHLY recommended, amazing fresh island food and entertainment.

I would definitely stay here again. Don't stay here if you prefer hotels, stay here if you prefer to be more cultural and experience island life.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLR003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Excellent service, which is what you expect on these islands. Cute rooms and a beautiful view. What more could you want? Aitutaki is truly a paradise and Paradise Cove is in an excellent location with everything you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zach K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

2 weeks at Paradise Cove and we could have stayed 2 months! This is a lovely low key, relaxed and friendly place to stay. We loved the sand at your doorstop, the open air dining space, the coconut palm though the middle of our deck and the casual way the staff set up dinners on the beach in front of the Ares. Little things like a phone being left on the reception desk for guests to book things themselves when staff weren't around was great. Junior and the staff were fantastic and everyone who was staying there during our time was so down to earth and friendly. The rooms are fine with everything you need to do a spot of cooking. The buffet and oomu nights were lovely and make sure you try the local greens cooked with coconut milk. We will go back.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are on the sand and so have a superb view of the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Lodges

Property: Paradise Cove Lodges
Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Cove Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Cove is located on one of the best sandy beaches on the island of Aitutaki, Cook Islands, with great swimming and snorkeling areas. Paradise Cove is locally owned and operated by the people of Aitutaki. We offer self-catering bungalows right on the beach. Our philosophy is to share our beautiful culture and unique island with visitors from all over the world. We have 10 Beachfront Bungalows right on the beach for singles or double/twin travelers and 2 Garden Suites (just right behind the beachfront bungalows) suitable for families of 4 persons. From the balcony of your private beachfront studio take in the magnificent lagoon scenery. In the evenings relax as the sun sets, giving you the most breathtaking scene in Aitutaki. Experience great hospitality at Paradise Cove with warm and friendly staff that will enhance your stay on the island of Aitutaki. See the whales in all their splendor going past the reef of Paradise Cove Lodges from your balcony during whale season. Paradise Cove's restaurant "Coconut Shack" right on the beach is open 7 days for dinner Island Night Buffet with Cultural Show every Saturday 7.30pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Cove Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing