We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A down to earth, real Aitutaki experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paradise Cove Lodges
Ranked #1 of 5 Aitutaki B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A down to earth, real Aitutaki experience.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend four beautiful nights at Paradise Cove with our closest friends for their wedding in July. It's taken me a while to get my review on here, and I usually wouldn't take the time but Junior and all the staff were so incredible that I want to return my thanks. Their hospitality was endless, including even popping down to the supermarket for us to get coconuts when some of the party came down with a virus. Nothing was too much trouble. They went out of their way to make sure our friend's wedding was more than memorable, fed us the most incredible Island feasts, and were such real and friendly people. The accommodations were basic, but what more could you want than having the sand at your doorstep, and to live like the Islanders do. I'd rather this type of experience than being locked away in a fancy resort for five nights! Would recommend to anyone... and hope to get back there one day.
Thank you! - Kyrie (Miranda and Justin's wedding!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    134
    40
    9
    19
See reviews for
39
262
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was struggling to decide where to stay on Aitutaki and am so glad I chose Paradise Cove.

Yes the rooms and facilities are basic, but they are clean and have everything (besides a tv) that you could possibly need! the small kitchenette came in handy when we wanted to do light cooking, the shower was great and I was surprised at how strong the water pressure was.

We requested a quiet location and were given a hut right at the end, this was nice and private! I love that every room has their own amazing view of the gorgeous lagoon from your private deck.

Puffys next door does lovely takeaways and I highly recommend Koru Café for breakfast/lunch, we ate here every morning and I was able to get my daily coffee fix.

The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to answer any questions or give advice. We hired a scooter through the reception which was great. there is even wifi in the reception area but we didn't bring our lap top to make use of it.

If you want your own slice of paradise and don't want to pay 5star prices that resorts on the same stretch of beach are paying for then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwichick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had 5 lovely nights here. The accommodation was basic but comfortable and private. It was great to sit on the balcony of our beach bungalow and see the sea and the awesome sunsets. Unfortunately, although there was a coconut palm in front of our villa, which blocked some of the view we didn't miss too much though. We were fortunate to see the antics of a whale from the beach one day. The place is stunning , even the friendly cat who visited us seemed to enjoy the atmosphere. The fact that the place is owned by a local family was a plus, as they were able to direct us to authentic activities on the island and not just the touristy things. They really care about the island. We highly recommend Puffy's as a regular eatery, it is 2 doors along and licenced. Also loved the breakfast buffet at Paradise Cove, the bread was from a local bakery, and made beautiful toast, the local fruit was a treat too which was being replenished on the buffet table all the time.
As this is a small place, it truly is paradise, as you get an uncrowded beach, as the beach tides take the water out quickly it is not the best for snorkelling but still lovely to swim in. Because we weren't there on a wednesday night we did not get to their barbecue, but but others there at the time recommended it.
The welcome at the airport was great too with the leis and coconut drinks. We were very sorry to leave Aitutaki for the "Big smoke" of Rarotonga!
The general store at Arutanga is an asset, we had a hired car, and found it stocked everything including gifts and souvenirs, had a cafe attached, and liquor, pharmaceuticals and everything you could possibly need, including take away ike mata.!

Room Tip: We had room 5 which had a coconut palm in front of it, which blocked the view of the sea . If there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robs440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

As others have said the accommodation is basic but comfortable and the beachfront location is stunning. Make use of the stop off in Amuri village when picked up from the plane to pick up basics as the accommodation is not in easy walking distance of any stores. We had considered bringing some food from NZ with us but decided not to bother, wished we had at least brought some cheese, salami and crackers as very little variety available and very expensive. Decent NZ wine at $28 - $30 a bottle was very reasonable I thought given the distance they had travelled.

Highly recommend Puffy's 2 doors along for wonderfully fresh fish, fantastic chips and salad and friendly service - note it is not open Sundays and there is nothing else within about a km where you can eat, so be prepared if you are there on a Sunday or make sure you have transport.

Loved all the local fruits which were part of the included breakfasts, some I hadn't tried before.

If you want to get out and about while here you need transport. The plus is that there are very few people on the beach and you get a piece of paradise almost to yourself - in fact sometimes we were the only people on the beach. Good swimming straight out from fales, not sure why others didn't think so. Only a small amount of coral and falls away to deep water quickly, snorkelling not good here though.

Don't be surprised if there's no one in the office at times during opening hours - they are probably picking up someone from the airport. On the upside they may well be around when office officially shut and are happy to help regardless. Lovely lei and coconut drink at pick up from airport a really nice touch. No shampoo, tea, coffee, milk or sugar supplied but soap and toilet paper is.

All in all a good option so long as you know what you are in for and aren't looking for a luxury resort experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have been home 10 days and I'm homesick for Palm Cove! Truly stunning place. The bungalows are small but you really only use them for sleeping. Staff are lovely and really look after you. You can't beat sitting on your balcony with a cold drink and watch the sunset. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiley605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had 3 lovely nights here and what made it special were the friendly relaxed staff which made our stay really enjoyable. The bungalow is very comforable and clean with amazing views from the decks overlooking the beach. It was so lovely to stay in a place owned by a local family who care about their beautiful island and keeping it that way by sensitive tourism. If you want all the bells and whistles don't pick Paradise Cove but if you want to tread lightly and have a genuine experience of one of the most amazing islands in paradise then you could not pick a better place.

Room Tip: Bungalows on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had a lovely stay at Paradise Cove. The bungalow I stayed in is clean and simple. It had most of the things I needed for my stay in Aitutaki. The view from the bungalow is amazing, great view for the sunset. Filled with friendly staff and you know Joe will look after you for all your accommodation and activity needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Cove Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Cove Lodges

Property: Paradise Cove Lodges
Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Cove Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Cove is located on one of the best sandy beaches on the island of Aitutaki, Cook Islands, with great swimming and snorkeling areas. Paradise Cove is locally owned and operated by the people of Aitutaki. We offer self-catering bungalows right on the beach. Our philosophy is to share our beautiful culture and unique island with visitors from all over the world. We have 10 Beachfront Bungalows right on the beach for singles or double/twin travelers and 2 Garden Suites (just right behind the beachfront bungalows) suitable for families of 4 persons. From the balcony of your private beachfront studio take in the magnificent lagoon scenery. In the evenings relax as the sun sets, giving you the most breathtaking scene in Aitutaki. Experience great hospitality at Paradise Cove with warm and friendly staff that will enhance your stay on the island of Aitutaki. See the whales in all their splendor going past the reef of Paradise Cove Lodges from your balcony during whale season. Paradise Cove's restaurant "Coconut Shack" right on the beach is open 7 days for dinner Island Night Buffet with Cultural Show every Saturday 7.30pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Cove Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Cove Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing