We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Island Escape”
Review of Tamanu Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamanu Beach
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We spent 6 nights on Aitutaki, at the end of November 2013. We were originally booked into a different property, which could not take us as they had run out of fresh water (nice to find that out on arrival) so we were grateful from the start that Tamanu Beach had room for us.

We spent the first 2 nights in the beachfront self contained cabin, which was excellent, and then the last 4 nights in the a cabin set back a bit from the beach. In the end this was fine, as you settle into island time and relax, everything is ok man!

The island is beautiful, but the services are quite basic. Very little in the way of fresh food if you are looking to cook, and what there is is very expensive. But we were their for the peace and quiet, to snorkel off the beach right in front, to kayak, and just relax. This was the perfect place to be.

We hired a car for 2 days to explore the island, and we went on a lagoon trip with Teking, which was excellent. We had the island bbq and attended the island night at Tamanu Beach, both recommended and we also dined at the Pacific Resort one night, whilst we had lunches at Samade, and at the Boat Shed (it was our favorite).

Don't go to Aitutaki if your after night life, or lots of glam resorts (although there are a couple). Do go if you are after natural beauty, a fabulous lagoon, and peace and quiet (well apart from the roosters).

Which there are other

Room Tip: Don't be too worried about the "Beach front" as you are not far from the beach, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillDelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 471 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely weekend getaway as a raffle prize, but we made it worth the while by making it coincide with our 10 year wedding anniversary. We found the room absolutely wonderful and the place very relaxing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Stayed in room 204 and found it very handy to the restaurant and had the pool right next to the room. Staff made the stay in Aitutaki great. Was a first time visit to Aitutaki so will definitely be looking to return. It is a great getaway for locals looking for a more private stay, thank you again for a memorable stay!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our room was just set back from the beachfront ones but still had a fantastic view of the lagoon. The sunsets are great. The rooms are very large and comfortable with a separate lounge and bedroom and with a large open sided verandah/deck at the front. It was a pleasure to sit there with a glass of wine and look at the view. Rooms are air conditioned with a fridge. Only downside was the shower which was a bit hit and miss. There was a small pool near to our room which was great for a relaxing cool down after the beach. The beach is great with lots of Palm trees and white sand and a bit gritty in places but very clean. Water was clear but there were quite a lot of sea cucumbers in places. Harmless but annoying. Plenty of free kayaks available. All the staff we came across were happy and very helpful. The restaurant was very good and the island night should not be missed - the dancers are excellent. Hotel was very quiet during our visit so no problems with sun beds etc. Island night was very popular. Breakfast was ok with nice croissants most mornings and the passion fruit are superb. Plenty of chickens wandering about and a couple of cats. The roosters didn't really bother us in the mornings. Not really any other restaurants in easy walking distance and we were just too lazy to go out in the evenings. Hotel has push bikes available but some didn't have any brakes. We managed to get to the main town ok to visit the "superstore" for a nice cold smoothie. A lagoon cruise is essential here. The lagoon is just stupendous. Proper desert islands and loads of fish. If only it wasn't all so far from home.

Room Tip: Get a room near the main part of the hotel. Ours was 210 and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were pleased by the view and the cabins were everything we had hoped for. It was such a great place to relax. Our bungalow was great with a nice little touch of freshly picked flowers on the bed, kitchenette and washroom sink to welcome us. The pool was beautiful just a few meters from our bungalow and the beach. Kayaks were available for our use as well as bicycles (although some new ones would be in order, the one I used wasn't the greatest). The only negative things about our bungalow was our one screen door didn't work too well, but we kept it stationary and used the other side. Twice we found a big cockroach. One in the washroom and the other in the kitchenette, but considering they are native to the area we were not turned off by it. Geckos roam the island as well as chickens and rosters who will wake you up at the crack of dawn. We really didn't mind that either. The staff were ever so friendly and helpful. I had requested a candlelight dinner at our bungalow. It made the night for my wife and I. The staff came and set the table with flowers and linen and the Bar -B-Q Tuna was excellent. It was truly romantic. Guys, this is one you have to do. You can't miss. Staff even made reservations for us at another hotel for dinner. We will be back and will tell our friends in Canada this is the place to stay. Thank you Tamanu Beach. You made our holiday great!

Room Tip: Make sure you catch the polynesian show & dinner at the resort. Worth every dollar. Bring your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Really lovely location, access to the main town via cycle , but best of all your own private space on this very special island , the accommodation is great providing an excellent access to the beach and snorkelling and kayaking . The staff are helpful and happy to advise on island activities. Food choice is excellent and the breakfast makes a good start to the day. Highly recommend this as a base for a visit to this excellent island

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JPswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed 4 nights at Tamanu Beach on the Cook Island Aitutaki.
The flight from Rarotonga was smooth and comfortable.
We had an on beach room 10 metres from the water.
If you ever dreamed of a perfect holiday with blue sea, white sands, great meals,helpful and obliging staff this is it, Nothing is any trouble if you ask for anything different.
The accommodation is beautifully maintained has large rooms with lounge, king size bedroom, large ensuite and a verandah with beautiful views.
We walked along the beautiful beach for several kms.
We snorkelled with Teking. Being a keen diver and snorkeller the trip was world class.
So many fish, giant clams and coral.
Being a Travel Agent I always wondered why other Travel Agents visited this place and now I know. There was a film crew making a new Air New Zealand Advert but they were no bother
and just goes to show you the quality of the place for them to use this property. Manager gave us a free late check out until 4pm instead of 10am but this cannot always be arranged.
Would re visit and stay here at anytime. Being a travel agent I paid my way and apart from the late check out received no other extra benefits. So my report is genuine and neutral.

Gary and Amy

Room Tip: If you can ask for as close to the beach as possible but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed at the Tamanu from October 28 to November 2. The entire staff were great people. Our bungalow # 210 was great. Here is my beef with the management. Upon arrival we were told that about 4pm a film crew would be filming in front of the restaurant for a couple of hours. What we ended up with was two days out of our of our five day stay we were affected by the filming. The filming in front of the restaurant lasted to 10PM. The next day they were flying a drown all over in front of us. So much for a peaceful and quiet vacation. The manager was more engrossed in pleasing the film crew than taking care of his guests. A number of us were watching the sunset and the film crew asked us to get off the beach so they could film. We tried to rent a car but were told the film company rented every car on the island for the week. So much for transportation.

On top of all this, we discovered that most if not all rooms had problems with controlling the temperature of the shower. It was either scalding hot or cold.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 991MRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,176 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
170 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
943 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamanu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamanu Beach

Address: PO Box 59, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: $290 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamanu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm island welcome to Tamanu Beach Hotel- your casual luxury Pacific Island getaway destination, on the pristine atoll of Aitutaki. Tamanu Beach resort is located on the western coast of Aitutaki, with stunning sunset views from our beachfront Restaurant and Bar. Tamanu Beach resort offers four bungalow accommodation options, including garden bungalows and one bedroom lagoon view bungalows. All of our Cook Islands bungalows are nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Our beachfront bungalows are on the water's edge- a stone's throw from our gorgeous blue lagoon. Our stunning Aitutaki beachfront resort features 23 bungalows, conference facilities, two fresh water swimming pools, a beachfront bar and restaurant and a gift shop. Casual Luxury at Tamanu Beach Our private, white sand beach borders Aitutaki Island's crystal clear lagoon providing endless opportunities for island activities such as swimming, snorkelling, kayaking and SUPS in the azure waters. Tamanu Beach is family operated and we offer guests a truly unique Polynesian experience. Every Thursday enjoy our "Takurua" Island Feast and show - a performance of Cook Islands song, dance, fire dancing and more from our talented and dynamic cultural group. Tamanu Beach is a popular haven for magical Cook Islands weddings and honeymoons, and is within easy reach of local cafes, bars and restaurants giving you the opportunity to dine out at your leisure. Your stay with us includes the following complimentary services: •Return airport transfers •Daily tropical breakfast •All SUPS, Kayaks and Masks and Snorkels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tamanu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamanu Beach Aitutaki
Tamanu Beach Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing