We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome to "casual luxury"”
Review of Tamanu Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tamanu Beach
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We loved staying here- we had the first "garden" bungalow with a great view of the infinity pool and the water.The greeting was warm and the bungalow decorated with fresh flowers which made it even warmer. The tropical decor of the bungalow was nice and the deck a great place to hang out. The bungalow had cooking facilities but we never cooked. Breakfast was included with the room and there was not just the usual cereals, juices, fruit, toast but some days also included pancakes, cheese, tomatoes. The salads and sandwiches we had were good, main meals were ok not great and the lamb meal fatty and undercooked. The island night buffet was excellent. The fire dance interesting but the calibre of the dancing not high. Good snorkelling from shore in shallow water. The giant clam nearby is well marked and not far fom shore. Heavy rain kept us from a lagoon. We used the bikes to pedal tothe "village"- scarely anything there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 477 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed a fabulous stay at Tamanu Beach Cook Islands. What can I say, we were welcomed by the lovely staff, Arrived there in time to be notified that a cyclone was on its way. Every thing possible was done to make guests feel safe and secure. we booked the garden bungalow accommodation. The Manager/Owner. moved everyone to the other side of the Restaurant and gave us great accommodation in other rooms. Made sure constant contact was made with guests throughout the duration, thanks Mike for that, At no time did we not feel safe, we sat and watched the fierce winds ans rain batter the island for a time, great lightning show. Fortunately for everyone, the Cyclone did its dash rather early, and we and the staff were all safe and sound. We requested to be moved back the next day. No problem, amazingly friendly staff, even the roosters were a welcome sight. The three cats were lovely, we adopted one while we were there. Just hope that when the next people stay in unit 102, please be kind to our little cat and feed her. All in all, thanks you once again to the lovely Akura at reception and all the staff, thanks to the great staff who serviced the units. And a big thankyou to everyone including the bar staff and to making our stay enjoyable. My husband immensely enjoyed Mike,s recommendation of his two deep sea fishing Trips.. He hasn,t stopped smiling. The fishing operator was Black Jack.. What a man. thanks guys to everyone.

Room Tip: Go for Garden Bungalows, No 101, 102, 110 and 111 close to great pool, beach, kayaks, restaurant/bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank casino69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Aitutaki is felt to be one of the most beautiful atolls in the WORLD. It cannot disappoint. For a family, a couple, newlyweds, it has the most perfect combination of weather, water, tropical fish, food.

Tamanu Beach Resort has one of the best sunset views on the island. Everything on the island is close, as it is very small (5 x 10 km¬) The staff are warm, friendly, and accommodating. We ate most of our meals there, which were delicious. Their "island night" (Wednesday) is described as the best on the island.

They have bikes that are fine for getting around the island. Their prices are very competitive, and favourable. They provide snorkels, masks, shoes, flippers, etc.

There is very little in the way of shopping on this island. It is a retreat. You will not regret visiting this lovely place!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are a bit more private, but all are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

They market themselves as casual luxury and that's exactly what you receive. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We stayed in the 100 block and we were extremely lucky to get room 101 which is a studio garden bungalow. Whilst not a beachfront bungalow it's the first one of the garden bunglows and has views over the pool and ocean. They are nice and large. We didn't use the air conditioner as we had a nice breeze straight off the ocean. The 100 block definitly had the nicer pool but you can use either.

The bungalow was completely self contained with a cooker, microwave, and fridge. Rooms were cleaned every day. We had plenty of pressure from the shower. Bath towels and pool towels were supplied.

I agree with others that the BBQ night is pretty basic but there is a lot of food if you are a big eater. The food on the other nights was really good. We arrive late and they were nice enough to book us a table for the night. It can get busy with non guests.

Snorkelling was not bad straight off the beach. Lots of sea cucumbers. I would suggest water shoes as there is loose coral.

The bikes were a bit rusty but we managed to ride them into town and back.

Wi-fi wasn't too expensive but a bit slow.

We couldn't get a late check out but they offered us a room to shower and clean up before we left at no charge.

I would highly recommend going to a church service if you can. It was all in Maori but the singing was outstanding. Everyone was really friendly.

We did a snorkelling trip with Teking and it was fantastic. You can book directly with him online.

Room Tip: 100 block has the better pool. If you can score room 101 it's a really good spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobsieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Beautiful bungalow and terrace, views of the lagoon (although we thought we'd be right on it, having booked a 'lagoon bungalow'). Friendly, helpful staff who allowed us into the bungalow on our morning arrival. Not so lucky as the other reviewers though, when it came to requesting a late checkout - wanted to charge us the full night rate, but eventually settled on a compromise - pity they insisted on this as the place was almost empty. But we loved it, the bungalow was very comfortable (some shelves in the shower to put soap etc and hooks in the bathroom wouldn't go amiss though). Great snorkelling just off the beach, and bike rides around the island. Worth walking up to the top of the hill to get great views over the island and the coral reef.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the three bungalows that are right on the lagoon. Ours was called a 'lagoon bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillyflower_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We fell in love with this resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we arrived mid morning and were allowed in our bungalow before the 2pm check in time, the room was well presented and romantic with a bottle of bubbles chilled on ice and flowers decorating the room. The beach access, pool and restaurant were ideal and lovely. Our room was serviced daily, no complaints here. We were on a later flight on our final day and were allowed a late check out and no extra charge. Overall we loved this place and want to bring the family back next time for another holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

what lovely people at this resort. They couldn't have been more accommodating with our mid-morning arrival - breakfast was still being served when we arrived on the early flight from Rarotonga. Our room was ready in no time at all - well before 11am. And at the end, they were also happy to allow us the use of the room until our 3.30pm pick up - all at no extra cost. Lovely 1 bedroom bungalow with views to the lagoon. Great transfer pick up service. A wonderful spot to relax and enjoy the lagoon - would go again. And a short walk to Taiono's Garden Cafe - such great food, its a must try.

Room Tip: loved the arrangement of the individual 1 bedroom bungalows as each has a lagoon view. Quite and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,215 reviews
2 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
954 reviews
2 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamanu Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamanu Beach

Address: PO Box 59, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: $333 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamanu Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm island welcome to Tamanu Beach Hotel- your casual luxury Pacific Island getaway destination, on the pristine atoll of Aitutaki. Tamanu Beach resort is located on the western coast of Aitutaki, with stunning sunset views from our beachfront Restaurant and Bar. Tamanu Beach resort offers four bungalow accommodation options, including garden bungalows and one bedroom lagoon view bungalows. All of our Cook Islands bungalows are nestled amongst lush tropical gardens. Our beachfront bungalows are on the water's edge- a stone's throw from our gorgeous blue lagoon. Our stunning Aitutaki beachfront resort features 23 bungalows, conference facilities, two fresh water swimming pools, a beachfront bar and restaurant and a gift shop. Casual Luxury at Tamanu Beach Our private, white sand beach borders Aitutaki Island's crystal clear lagoon providing endless opportunities for island activities such as swimming, snorkelling, kayaking and SUPS in the azure waters. Tamanu Beach is family operated and we offer guests a truly unique Polynesian experience. Every Thursday enjoy our "Takurua" Island Feast and show - a performance of Cook Islands song, dance, fire dancing and more from our talented and dynamic cultural group. Tamanu Beach is a popular haven for magical Cook Islands weddings and honeymoons, and is within easy reach of local cafes, bars and restaurants giving you the opportunity to dine out at your leisure. Your stay with us includes the following complimentary services: •Return airport transfers •Daily tropical breakfast •All SUPS, Kayaks and Masks and Snorkels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tamanu Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamanu Beach Aitutaki
Tamanu Beach Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing