We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Don't hesitate booking!”
other travelers have booked this property
Ootu Beach house far right, dark brown coloured, amazing views from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ootu Beach house far right, dark brown coloured, amazing views from balcony
Panoramic views from the villa balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Ootu Beach house far right, dark brown coloured, amazing views from balcony
Panoramic views from the villa balcony
Panoramic views from the villa balcony
Ootu Beach house
Ootu Beach house
Kitchen fully self contained
Bedroom with queen size bed, and lagoon view
2nd bedroom with 2 single beds
bathroom 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LeonKiwi
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate booking!”
Reviewed July 10, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Kia Orana Nora,

Thanks to you and Kim for a great stay. We love the location, houses were amazingly well kept and differed dependent on budget which you can understand. A lteral stones through from the lagoon and Blue Lagoon restaurant and bar which is great.We will certainly book again!

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2018
Kia orana Leon, thank you, we are glad you and the family enjoyed your stay, we look forward to meeting you again, Kia Manuia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadarmCor...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“PERFECT GETAWAY”
Reviewed December 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Aitutaki and we decided to stay over at O'otu Beach this time as that's where we spent most of our days. The Villa was perfect and just across from where we swam every day. It is the best swimming spot on the island and to be RIGHT there was awesome. We took our own blow-up sun beds [and left them there for the kids] and just floated up and down. I emailed Nora directly and she set everything up for us and Rima picked us up and dropped us off. It was a very easy holiday. Being self-contained made it easy for us to stock up on local fruits and we took our own muesli with us for breakfast. We got a scooter, so just popped into town if we needed anything or wanted to get away for a bit or go somewhere else for dinner. The Beach House is right next to Aitutaki Village which is accommodation and a fantastic restaurant right there which makes for an easy night of drinks on your own balcony to watch the sunset and then a short walk and a great dinner. We ate there most nights as we found they had the best food on the island. Highly recommend everything at O'otu Beach House.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2017
Thank you so much Cordelia, glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to meeting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer22...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location on beautiful island”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We needed somewhere for a night before we moved into the villa next door. The location on Ootu beach was just perfect, with three great restaurants and cafes within 10 minutes walk, and the most amazing beach a stones throw away. The house was great for our family of 3 couples, well accommodated with two bathrooms and toilets. It had good facilities including an oven and a washing machine. Although you are in a cluster of houses, the decks which look out over the water are private and the nicest place to spend time in the evening. The welcome we got from Rima was great. We will be back, thanks guys.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
Thank you so much, we look forward to meeting you again, Kia Manuia! & take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paultans
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome!”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is the best beach in Aitutaki and the house is right across from it. The deck looks over it, the location is perfect, close to things you need, the house is simple but great with everything you need, Nora is great to deal with for bookings and Rima when you get there couldn't be more helpful and made our stay amazing (organising us fresh fish, looking after the kids etc.). Recommend it to anyone!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrexN
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Much of what follows will initially sound like a complaint. It's not, being simply a report on a very nice place to stay, albeit one with some limitations peculiar to its situation.

Located next door to the Ootu Beach Villas and having the same owner, this is not fancy resort-style accommodation. Instead, it is a spacious, reasonably kept, two-bedroom house on a tiny third-world island literally across the road from the most beautiful tropical lagoon in the world. No staff - you're essentially on your own and you will definitely need wheels of some sort as it is miles to the nearest store. In short, it could be terrible or wonderful, depending totally on your attitude. We vote for wonderful.

There's no a/c, but lots of ceiling fans on high ceilings move the air around. Spacious kitchen, modestly well furnished, including some herbs and spices. Gas stove, two refrigerators, washing machine. You provide your own T/P, soap, shampoo, etc. Take sunscreen as it seems hard to find on the island. WiFi is available for purchase but the connection can sometimes be a bit iffy. There are two bathrooms, each with shower stall, but neither with an electrical plug for a hair dryer or shaver. The toilet in one bathroom is fussy and the light works in the other. You'll adapt. Drapes in the main bedroom facing the street are missing a panel so you cannot get them totally closed. In common with many places in the islands, tap water must be boiled for drinking.

On the totally-positive side, your shaded, party-size veranda is literally 20m away from what is arguably the most beautiful lagoon in the world. The swimming area is marvelous and offers a lot of wading area as well, depending on the tide. Amazing and unobstructed views. Friendly, warm reception, with airport pickup, including leis and coconuts and drop-off. Rima, the owner, stopped by every few days with fresh mangoes, passion fruit and bananas. Very personable lady.

On a less-than-totally-positive note, the nearby beach bar celebrates serving each and every beer by tossing the bottle into a dumpster. They serve a lot of beer. The rooster six feet outside your bedroom window (every island has free-range chickens) will remind you to put the coffee on at 0545. Bring ear plugs to this island paradise for your first few nights. Again, you'll adapt.

Bottom line – if you're looking for glitz, this isn't for you. If on the other hand, you're looking for an affordable, comfortable pied-á-terre for a stay in an amazingly lovely and laid-back spot and are willing to make a couple of compromises, this is a very good choice. A good place to relax and not worry about dressing to impress. You leave feeling like family, totally relaxed and at ease. We'd go back.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2016
Meitaki Maata for your feed back, we appreciate that very much, Kia Manuia!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flyfisher...
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great little house in the best beach location!”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great 2 x bed, 2 x bath house with a great big veranda and a truly magnificent view, ON THE BEST SWIMMING BEACH!!!

Well equipped and appointed, plenty of room and close to good restaurants, Koru Cafe, Vaka Lagoon Cruise, Aitutaki Sail Club etc.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and its location!!!
Liked least: A few sand flies and mossies!!! No big deal really!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to meeting you again, all the best, Kia Manuia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rando1994
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best lodging in Aitutaki”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at this property during the first half of a vacation trip. Absolutely loved it. Picked up at the airport by our wonderful hosts with fresh, fragrant leis and a freshly prepared coconut with a straw. The house could not be more convenient. A short walk to scooter rental and the best breakfast spot on Aitutaki. The spacious wrap around front porch allows for drying of wet gear and a convenient place for your sports equipment. The place was neat and tidy, with a pitcher of fresh filtered water ready in the fridge. A very nice touch.
Located right on Ootu beach you can lounge in the shade of your porch and watch the beach goers and passersby. The bedding and furniture were basic but comforrable and would easily suit two couples or a family. The unit even has a bbq if you feel like grilling up your catch of the day. Awesome, convenient location, super spacious, two beds, two baths, huge porch, outdoor shower and friendly hosts. What more could you ask for in a vacation rental?

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2016
thank you Randy, we look forward to meeting you again, take care, Kia Manuia!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing