We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise”
Review of Aitutaki Lagoon

Aitutaki Lagoon
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These waters are home to a large number of fish, making it a favorite spot for snorkeling or scuba diving.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“paradise”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Everyone should put this on their bucket list, please remember that coral is a living thing don't stand on it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank madkeenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    41
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geilo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unspoilt Paradise”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

A plane from the main island Raratonga Cook Island. Most friendy and musical people ever.
Flowers on arriving, tropical scents and smiling people. Very kind. I had my little straw hut on the beach. Stayed at Paradise Cove.The sunset amazing! A few hundred metres from the property was this smallcafe with 4 tables. I got to meet the locals. Junior and co. The transport on the island is mainly by scooter, only a few cars.
Cook islanders love music, big families and church is important. When they sing the roof just lifts off. Women all in white with hats on and men in black. Food afterwards for everybody.
The islanders live off the earth and all rubbish is burtnt in the ground as it grows in the ground.
BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE ..... wait to you hear them play their drums !!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Awaqy from the hustle & bustle”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Life here is so laid back time almost stops and it is so good to just let things slowly roll a long. Peaceful and untouched by modern technology as much as is fees able this is almost the last unspoiled holiday location you will find in the South Pacific.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank our56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent our honeymoon here and I can honestly say it's the most stunning beach I've ever seen. It's so beautiful, it hurt my eyes. Do a lagoon cruise; it's definitely worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank roxdebruyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful places I've ever seen”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Aitutaki Lagoon has been the highlight of our trip around the world, a few years ago, even better than the beautiful islands we visited in French Polinesia. We travelled to Aitutaki on a day trip from Rarotonga, and then a boat took us to the lagoon: I just wish I spent more time there..The colours were incredible, crystal clear waters in all the possible shades of blue and truly white sand. A once in a lifetime experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aitutaki Lagoon also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing