We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aitutaki Lagoon

Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These waters are home to a large number of fish, making it a favorite spot for snorkeling or scuba diving.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Simply the beast and most beautiul place where I have ever been. Love the locals and island`s atmosphere. I were there off-seasonand it felt like we (me and my boyfriend) are there alone. I haven´t never seen so amazing sky by night like there. Trillion stars and shootingstars. 1000 words cannot say it, you have to see it by yourself!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    41
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More beautiful than the pictures!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The colours of the lagoon are beautiful shades of vibrant blues and greens, framed artistically by the coconut palms and also the hammocks of the lagoon resort. We should have taken even more photos!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kreachee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The eighth wonder of the world... Aitutaki lagoon absolutely beautiful, safe, warm clear waters.
Multitude of islands to explore, and lots of good snorkelling spots. Check out the giant clams.
We went with Kia Orana tours (Captain Fantastic) which was excellent - a real character, and he knows his stuff! (and his Pawpaw curry is to die for!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jemnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breathtaking lagoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

A must see! We heard from more than a couple of travelers that this lagoon rivals Bora Bora. We used Kia Orana to explore the lagoon and outlying motus, and snorkel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem in the pacific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

A gem in the pacific my second trip back here. The views from air and the water are breath taking.

Crystal water with coral heads all over the place. Bright colours tropical fish cruising the waters with turtles and pure wite sandy beaches. Heaven.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aitutaki Lagoon also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing