We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“True paradise”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent seven days at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and when it was time to leave it felt like we had only just arrived. You can do lots or just find a lounge under a shady palm tree to read a book and when you get hot take a refreshing swim in the crystal clear waters. Our bungalow with the outdoor shower was great. Staff, food, drinks and activities all made for a memorable holiday. A must for anyone's holiday list.

Room Tip: Premier bungalows and deluxe bungLows have the best views over the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2delighted2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiMate, Guest Services Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Kia Orana “2delighted2013”,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Resort

I am glad to read that you had a wonderful holiday at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa and that you had time to relax and enjoy the various activities and excursions in and around the resort.

We are happy that you have had a memorable holiday and would be happy to see you again in the future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Mani Mate
Guest Services Manager

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    212
    110
    67
    51
See reviews for
72
600
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We didnt stay at The Aitutaki Lagoon resort and spa as the price was rather expensive, but we wished we did, we spend two of our 8 days in Aitutaki there, having lunch and watching our twin girls play and feed the fish, This resort for us is by far the best, the restaurant was good food, well priced and the location unbeatable! There is hammocks on the trees next to water and so many places like Fiji have advertised using a picture of their hammocks as their own that's how perfect this paradise is, the staff were awesome, its is on its own litte motu and they have a ferry to take guests across, you can Kayak and stand up boarding etc, they have two pools and over water bungalows, and hand feed fish from the sand, its stunning and you need to consider them, we peeked in the bungalows and they look lovely and all seem to have great views, i love this place and we will be trying to negotiate a price to stay next time, thanks guys, you rock!
oh amd we had to pay a resort fee, but both days we were there no one else was on the beach on either of the two days, Aitutaki is often deserted :) its so amazing

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiMate, Guest Services Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Kia Orana Kim M,

Meitaki Atupaka for your positive feedback and comments in regards to your experience with us at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

We are very happy that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

Our Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill has the best location on Aitutaki directly on the Aitutaki Lagoon with the most wonderful views imaginable, offering wide range of local and western flavors, using and supporting local produce and freshly caught game fish, our menus rotate on a daily basis offering a variety of cuisine flavors.

Our private island location means that even at full occupancy our resort still offers the serenity and quiet atmosphere preferred by a lot of our guests.

Thank you once again for your positive comments we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Mani Mate
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent 4 nights here after 3 days on Rarotonga. We had villa #7. The room was fine, but a little small. We had no hot water the first morning which I realized as I was going to take my first outdoor shower. The blown breaker problem was very quickly resolved. We enjoyed the outdoor shower but wonder what it would be like in the really rainy season!

The resort was going into it's slow season so was not full, but the staff were all friendly and helpful, especially Janish, our great kitchen chef. Because it was not real busy lunches and dinner were served at the restaurant by the beach bar. The food was pretty darn good but we felt a little rushed at times. It was the only thing that didn't seem like 'island time'.

I loved some of the unique things around the resort like the giant chess boards on the beach.

We probably would not go back just because the island is just a bit too laid back for us but are really glad we went to enjoy the lagoon and the resort.

Room Tip: If we were to come back I would book a room on the larger part of the lagoon or an over the water bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seabreeze223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiMate, Guest Services Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Kia Orana ‘Seabreeze223’

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Resort.

Our Beachfront Bungalows overlooking Full Moon Lagoon certainly offers its own private beach with magnificent sunsets in the evenings. All our Beachfront Bungalows now feature outdoor showers which is popular among our guests.

I am happy to read that the breaker problem was resolved very quickly.

Our private island location means that even at full occupancy our resort still offers the serenity and quiet atmosphere preferred by a lot of our guests.

I am also happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful; I will certainly pass on your wonderful comments to Janish.

Once again thank you for your providing feedback on your holiday.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Mani Mate
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We loved every minute of our 9 nights spent at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. We stayed in a beach front bungalow and an overwater bungalow - both are fantastic. The rooms are lovely and we loved the outdoor showers. The lagoon is picture perfect every day and the colours are amazing. If you like tropical - this is the place to rest and unwind and escape to, it is a little like going back in time. We snorkelled, swam, paddle boarded and paddled a kayak across the lagoon to lunch - what a novelty! Massage on the beach was excellent. The staff are great and we dined at the resort every night - loved the Flying Boat Bar restaurant, with the fish swimming past or jumping in the lagoon beside you while you are dining. Lots of tropical gardens and resort is well maintained. We have wanted to visit Aitutaki for some time now and certainly were not disappointed - we look forward to our next visit to the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiMate, Guest Services Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Kia Orana ‘Pearlgirl01’

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

We are delighted that you experienced both our Beachfront and Overwater Bungalow’s during your stay. Both rooms have their own unique features and fantastic locations. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the outdoor showers; this is a popular feature of all our bungalows.

I am happy to hear that you had time to relax and unwind and also managed to take advantage of the lagoon activities and visiting the uninhabited motu’s.

It’s pleasing to read that you enjoyed your dining experience at our Flying Boat Beach Bar & Grill and that our staff took great care of you.

We are very happy that you fulfilled your desire to visit Aitutaki and have enjoyed what was on offer. We certainly will be very happy to welcome you back in the future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Mani Mate
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We originally booked into the beach front bungalows for a week, however, there was a problem with our booking, and we were required to change dates and flights. Not a big issue. We ended up in one of the over water bungalows. Firstly, pictures do not do these bungalows justice!
The staff were outstanding, friendly and nothing was an issue. Freda, who was working in the section where you picked up your snorkelling equipment, paddle boards, kayaks etc is definitely worth a mention - always a smile, and so very helpful.
My partner said that this was definitely a bucket list addition.
We will be going back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiMate, Guest Services Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Kia Orana Craig O,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, we really appreciate this.

We are happy to read that despite problems with your bookings you were able to have a great holiday and that you enjoyed our Overwater Bungalows.

The Overwater Bungalows feature pandanus-lined walls, private open-air shower, spacious bathroom with double vanity, and direct access to the lagoon which make it very popular choice for our guests.

I am glad to hear that you took advantage of the many activities on offer and that our staff were outstanding. I will certainly pass on your comments to our team.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our little slice of paradise.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Mani Mate
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

You take a ferry - 30 seconds, from one side of the river/inlet, to the other. Welcome was quite strange. As we were not staying at the resort, we were given a list of 30 things we couldn't do. Can't walk off the path. Can't go in the water. Can't look around. Once you got by the Storm Troopers at the front desk, it was wonderful. Good restaurant, both service and food. Servers were very friendly. Resort looked very nice, and the view, over the lagoon, was fantastic. We walked out about 1/2 mile, on the sand bar, and we were still knee deep in water.
Everything but the front desk personnel was great. They should be replaced immediately

Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarraville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed in a premium beachfront room, which was large and well kept. There is a deck at the front, which extends onto prime beachfront. Each room has two banana lounges on the beach and a hammock. At the rear of the room is a large bathroom and outdoor shower.

Although there were plenty of people staying at the resort, there never seemed to be many people around, so the beach really felt like a private beach. The view from the rooms is sublime - right up there with Isle of Pines, Tahiti. You can lie in bed in the morning and take in the best view of the lagoon.

The lagoon is warm and safe to swim in, or alternatively there is the pool. Make sure you check out the beach on the western end of the island, just beyond the wedding/function hut. The sand is so soft and smooth.

The staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome, especially our 4yo daughter who loved the resort. The food was also of a very high quality, especially the dinners. Having a drink or dinner at the Flying Boat Bar was something quite special. You can relax, feed the fish, and take in the view and always amazing sunset.

We took the opportunity to hire one of the cars available at the hotel and drive around the island. Of the resorts on Aitutaki, this is definitely the best in terms of location and view. It certainly is very special.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazb6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManiMate, Guest Services Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Kia Orana’Dazb6000’

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your recent stay with us at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

I am happy that you enjoyed your Premium Beachfront Bungalow directly located facing the beach with magnificent views over Aitutaki Lagoon. Under the cool shade of coconut palms, the Premium Beachfront Bungalows feature an uninterrupted view out towards the spectacular lagoon vista and outdoor showers.
You are right in saying that even with a lot of people staying it is generally quiet. Our private island location offers the serenity and quiet atmosphere preferred by a lot of our guests.

Once again, it is pleasing to read that you found the staff lovely and welcoming. I can assure you that they are vey happy to help in any way possible to make your stay comfortable with us.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you back in the future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Mani Mate
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
2.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
451 reviews
2.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
914 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Cove Lodges
Paradise Cove Lodges
#1 of 5 in Aitutaki
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Property: Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Address: | Akitua Private Island, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island, adults only resort in the Cook Islands. It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics - the Overwater Bungalow. And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Lagoon Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort And Spa
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort Spa
Lagoon Resort Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing