We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We decided spare of the moment to go to Aitutaki for a short break to escape New Zealands cold weather. We flew Air New Zealand to Rarotonga and arrived in time to fly straight out to the Island. I personally like not having to waste a night either side in Rarotonga. The extra 2 nights is bliss. Had previously stayed at Pacific Resort, but decided to try Aitutaki Lagoon Resort for a change. We were nativlely greeted which was lovely, and received a surprise upgrade to Lagoon Side. The rooms were beautifully decorated, however, I felt a little darker than the cheaper rooms. The Staff were fabulous and very helpful and polite. We hired a scooter from a lady just at the entrance to the resort and she was fantastic to deal with. We had drinks and dinner at a couple of places outside the resort, TePunas, being one of, if not the best Restaurant on Aitutaki. Bookings are essential there. The food is exquisite and all cooked by TePuna herself.
If you get the chance its very much worth the visit. The week at this resort, was just beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Kia Orana DelandDean

Thank you for taking the time to upload a review on your recent stay with us at The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa. I will pass this on to our team.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance..

Kind Regards & Kia Manuia

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 814 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

From the native greeting to the extra time given for our room for a late late check out, everything was as expected and more. The staff were fantastic and friendly and very accomodating. The room ( overwater bungalow ) was to die for and the room servicing was brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickNJulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Kia Orana RickNJulz

Thank you for your wonderful review, I will pass this on to our team.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance..

Kind Regards & Kia Manuia

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Family (2 adults & 3 kids) loved our 5 night stay. Friendly staff, best location in Aitutaki, private ferry to only resort on island, bungalow location perfect - 10m from deck to beautiful blue warm water, hammocks slung between palm trees, free activities.......

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Kia Orana StephenJac

Thank you for your wonderful review, I will pass this on to our team.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance..

Kind Regards & Kia Manuia

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a beachfront bungalow, gorgeous outlook, nice room, shower nice but pretty chilly when the weather not good as it is outside. Despite several reviews over a period of time regarding the cost and quality of the food, disappointed to say that nothing has improved by all appearances, it was tasteless and over priced. And the breakfast was the same everyday.You could order a cooked breakfast but it cost 3 times as much as ordering the same item as a side - good way to get around it, make yourself some toast and order a side of eggs! The coconut's to drink on arrival and at breakfast were a nice treat. We also had an invitation to a 'Manager's Cocktail' party - unfortunately very grand title for very disappointing event - lousy nibbles, mediocre punch and no manager - which is apparently the norm not the exception. Despite the efforts, of lack of, of the management, this was a wonderful place to stay by virtue of its location, definitely the best place to be on the island.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet due to the isolated location of the island, the rooms on the mainland side, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangrovemountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Kia Orana Mangrovemountaineer

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We really appreciate this.

Glad to read you enjoyed our newly renovated Beachfront Bungalow, this year has been surprisingly very cold especially for a local. Our Food & Beverage team has taken your comments on board to assist them in reviewing their menus. My sincere apologises for not meeting up with you at our Management Cocktails.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance.

Kind regards

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Top venue. Beach front bungalows superb - loved the outside shower! Let down a bit by standard and price of food in the restaurants. Limited selection and expensive even by NZ standards. The lagoon cruise is a must! This is a brilliant place to unwind and chill. Will return........! Just hope they get a good chef who can train the staff in food presentation and a more varied selection. Other than that - no problems.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Kia Orana Alan B

Thank you for your review and we are glad to read that you enjoyed our new upgraded Beachfront Bungalows.
Our Food & Beverage team has taken on your comments and will review their menu.
We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.
Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance..

Kind Regards & Kia Manuia

Rose Kareroa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Cook Islands and the French Polynesia in July and August 2011. We spent four nights in an overwater bungalow at this resort and we will definitely come back. The staff welcomed us in a very special way. The out door shower is a great surprise. The food is excellent, so is the service. The lagoon is absolutely beautiful and we had amazing view over the lagoon. This place is truly amazing and very romantic!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Kia Orana Mina

Thank you for your wonderful review, I will pass this on to our team.
We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.
Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance..

Kind Regards & Kia Manuia

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wow- our bungalow was fantastic - we loved the outdoor shower, the king size bed and the amount of space in the room. i really did not like the arrival when we were all seated and given a run down of the resort before we could go to our room - surely that is what a compendium is for?? Another issue we had was one night we decided to go for dinner at the Flying Boat restuarant only to find it was closed, so we went to the Bounty restaurant only to find that the only meal choice available was a buffet!! sorry not our style!! We were told we could order room service - but with limited choices - it was all too much bother so we had a packet of chips and a very expensive bottle of wine!! We also found that some of the staff bordered on being rude, particulary the bar staff. The cleaning staff were fantastic and very pleasant as was the staff member who ferried us backwards and forwards across the channel. The location of the resort is amazing, the water so blue and clear and having it all so close to our room. Having a deck with a table and lounge chairs was great for sitting and admiring the view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseKareroa, Resort Manager at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Kia Orana Pumpkin20

Thank you for your review, I will pass your comments onto our Housekeeping team and Captain Tak.
We have taken your comments on board as an opportunity to improve our services.
We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.
Feel free to contact me directly if you require any assistance..

Kind Regards & Kia Manuia

Rose Kareroa
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
2.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
471 reviews
2.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
943 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Address: Akitua Private Island | Motu Akitua, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: $364 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island, adults only resort in the Cook Islands. It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics - the Overwater Bungalow. And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Lagoon Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort And Spa
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort Spa
Lagoon Resort Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing