We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful resort!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a couple of nights at this resort. We stayed in a garden bungalow which was very clean and accommodated us well and we had views of the lagoon from our balcony. The staff are so friendly and there is lots to do with water activities on site. The Lagoon is beautiful and great for swimming and snorkelling all day long. I have no idea why anyone wouldnt enjoy their stay here. We just loved it and hope to return again one-day. Can highly recommend the bananarama cocktail!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATDAV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 814 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2008

My wife and l have just returned from a five night stay at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort, we loved every minute of our stay, the staff were all very freindly and helpfull. The evening entertainment and dinner that is offered are definetly good value for money, you are not obliged to have the dinner in which case the entertainment is free. The room service meals are also excellent.

There are plenty of local activities, Lagoon cruises, snorkeling, scuba diving, none of which are expensive, we found that the people were not out to "rip you off" just make a living.

The main shopping centre on Aitutaki is very basic, but we could get everthing we wanted, If you just want to get away and chill this is the place, we will definetly be going back to the Lagoon Resort, if not this year then definetly next.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank hilpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

My wife and I went to Rarotonga and Aitutaki for Easter this year. Having been to the Intercontinental overwater bungalows in Bora Bora for our honeymoon last year we were looking forward to comparing notes - and we weren't disappointed!

We did the right thing by going to Rarotonga first because if that wasn't good enough, flying into Aitutaki was even more brilliant and I can't understand why so few people know about this gem of an island. We stayed at the Aitutaki Resort & Spa and had a fantastic time. We stayed in an economical bungalow so our expectations or attitudes weren't too high and as a result the staff were awesome and we have recommended the Resort and location to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travel2008Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2008

On arrival at the funny little airstrip on Aitutaki we were met with a tasty tropical drink. The wait for transport was a bit long, but what the heck, you're on island time. There was live music playing so the wait was not a drag.

We were booked into a lovely deluxe beachfront bungalow at the resort. Our room was very spacious and quite tidy. The private hammocks out the front are a nice touch, in no time I heard the gentle snoring of my husband as he took advantage of them.

The resort was in the process of being repaired/rebuilt after a recent hurricane so there was some mess around. Could not be helped. I look forward to seeing the new pool/spa facilities.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

The restaurant was surprisingly good value and very tasty. Located overlooking the lagoon, it was a great place to enjoy the fresh seafood meals and tropical cocktails.

With moped rentals just outside the resort, it was easy to get around.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

What an unforgettable experience, the location and the Accommodation was WOW, we stayed in a Beachfront Bungalow and it was spacious and what a view about 10 metres from the beach we were their for our 25 Wedding anniversary. This is one Holiday we wont forget, The staff especially Elizabeth and Carolyn And Flora were great.
We were their for a week the Flight over is 40 minutes and the resort is 10 minutes by bus again the water is Like a swimming pool the bluest water you have ever seen.
The Bungalow was great Clean with Air con sink. everything we needed.
We did A bishops Lagoon Cruise its
a highlight and worth every cent of the $65.00 its a full day and the snorkelling is awesome.

The Town is not much but their is a restaurant called TAPUNAS is very very good we hired a scooter $20.00 per day and went there for dinner highly recommended.
The resort is expensive for food and drinks so we ate out a fair amount of time .
The Island dance nights are well worth seeing. Over all we had an amazing time and will definitely go back

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gregaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

My advice is minimise your time in Rarotonga and spend as much time as possible in Aitutaki. We have been to many beautiful places - Tokoriki in Fiji, Bora Bora - Tahiti, Ko Samui - Thailand but Aitutaki is the most beautiful. We had the entire 8 days staying at Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and Spa and it was spectacular. The weather was perfect the whole time and the staff were amazing.
We recommend the over the water bungalow for the ultimate experience. We had a look at the Pacific Resort (The only other high-end resort on the island) but in our opinion the location is not as good as Aitutaki Lagoon Resort.
While we were there - A presenter from the tv travel show 'Getaway' (Katrina) was there for her honeymoon. Now if someone who has done nothing but travel to gorgeous places for the last umpteen years chose Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and Spa for her honeymoon - It MUST be good!
We WILL be returning in the near future. Rangi and Ash - keep up the good work! Candice and August - thanks for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fionaandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

My title says it all. Compared to Vanuatu, Samoa, Tonga and especially New Caledonia and Fiji, the Cook Islands are absolutely terrible. I strongly advise that if you are considering a trip there, you have second, or even third thoughts about it...then change your plans and go to Fiji. This is for the following reasons.

Aitutaki could be likened to the Vegas of the south pacific - Glitzy, glamorous...and completely lacking in substance.

The hotels are very 3rd-world. Conditions are quite shocking, especially in the Lagoon Resort and Spa where myself and my husband stayed. We found the room, service and even the lagoon itself to be severely lacking.

There is nothing to do.

And to be honest and quite frank, considering how long it takes to travel from Cairns to the Cook Islands (3 transfers...can you believe that?) it was hardly worth it. The beaches there are hardly any better than those here...and it costs me $5 (if anything) to go to the beach here and between myself and my husband and our pooch, it cost us $7000 for a mere 4 day stay.

Talk about a let-down.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank IslandLover262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
2.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
#2 of 10 in Aitutaki
1,176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
471 reviews
2.0 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
943 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa

Address: Akitua Private Island | Motu Akitua, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: $364 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only private island, adults only resort in the Cook Islands. It is the only Cook Islands resort to offer that invention of incurable romantics - the Overwater Bungalow. And it is the only resort on Aitutaki with a truly Polynesian flavour, so you can truly savour what the South Pacific is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitutaki Lagoon Hotel Aitutaki
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort And Spa
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort Spa
Lagoon Resort Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing