We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Having spent the night in the sister resort in Raratonga this resort was just stunning; from the view from the plane coming in to the two rooms we had. The villa was large and spacious with separate bed and lounge area and several balconies to sit on and direct access via stairs to the beach. However ours (no 300) didn't get much sun throughout the day. We also had a beachfront bungalow no 112 which was direct onto the beach infront of the others and 10m walk to the sea. We spent most of our day on this balcony! Mossies are a pain and the hotel fogs and provides DEET. Yes there are plenty of sea cucumbers but wear the reef shoes available from the bar and forget them. The lagoon is shallow and the coral reef provides plenty of fish life to see. Having been, the beachfront bungalow is all you need. Restuarant and local night are reasonable value but the whole resort isn't cheap, but what a beautiful setting. The view of the reef lagoon is enough to set you up for the day and makes the bill that much more palateable.

Definitely do the Kia orana cruise ;small boat 10 people max, for a stunning day out. There are also a few shops 10 mins walk away for convienence stuff.

On a general downside note the local sight of family graves infront of the houses is somewhat unnerving and if this practice continues the island will resemble an extended graveyard in a few generations time.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank watchitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    86
    26
    7
    5
See reviews for
118
814
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

This was the main part of our honeymoon - we were there for 12 nights. Firstly I must say that this is far too much time to spend on this one island - it's tiny, there's nothing to do at night, and 4-5 nights would be enough before moving on.
On arrival at the hotel, the first impression was magnificent. The beach was amazing, and you're right on it. The views are spectacular, really once in a lifetime job! However, that's what we were expecting because that's what we paid for. The first few days were lovely, the staff were friendly, the food was amazing, and the rooms were lovely. Unfortunately, we had one problem, and it was a big problem that ruined out honeymoon to an extent - cockroaches. We could handle the little lizards and big spiders that we came across in our room occassionally, but not the cockroaches. They seemed to have infested our room. We came across them running up the wall, across the ceiling, in the bathroom - little ones, medium sized ones, and giant ones. The locals thought that this was totally normal, and the management talked about sorting it out. But after every major psticide spray - they just kept on coming back! We recieved no apology, or any acknowledgement of the severity of the problem. The irony was that we specifically choose this resort based on previous reviews from trip advisor saying that it was cockroach free as compared to Fiji/Tahete/etc.
Staff were generally very friandly, but in the end the 4 sleepless nights we had patrolling the room and catching cockroaches took there toll! Not a good way to spend a honeymoon, and certainly not for the extraordinary prices they were charging us to share a room with a load of cockroaches.
There must be nicer hotels for this type of money, but if you do go be wary of the cockroaches and don't forget deet!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — All of the cockroaches!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fitzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

This hotel is fantastic. Although the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and Spa might seem a better choice if you are looking at a brochure, we also went there to have a look around and, while the Pacific Resort can't match the lagoon view, the Pacific's rooms look far better and the wind levels at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort and Spa made sitting on the beach there unpleasant at times. I am not sure about the differences in room prices but, assuming they are the same, I would say the Pacific Resort is easily the best.

Our room was the lowest category room, but was still fantastic with 62 square metres of space. It was beatifully furnished with dark wood furniture and a dark wood floor. The view from the terrace was amazing and could also be seen from inside the room. The bathroom was also really nice, with marble tiling, twin sinks and a large shower. There was no bath, which I suppose some people might prefer but may not be provided for water conservation reasons since the Villa (the best category of resort accommodation) that we were allowed to shower in before heading for the airport also didn't have a bath. There was a TV and mini hifi (includes a CD player and can accept an MP3 player if you bring a suitable connecting cable). The TV channels include CNN, TCM, Eurosport France and a channel showing DVDs which the hotel changes every day and details in the Pacific Drum newsletter they put under your door each morning.

All the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive. You are met at the airport and the next time you see your luggage is in your room. You are escorted to your room after the manager has welcomed you to the resort and have all the features of your room explained to you.

The beach is fantastic, with sea kayaks and a pedalo available to use if you want them. The snorkeling isn't great by the resort, so I would recommend going on a lagoon cruise for that.

The breakfast is really good. We found that if you had the hot breakfast in the morning you didn't really need to eat lunch. The dinners in the Rapae Bay restaurant are also excellent. The hotel can also arrange taxis to other restaurants around the island, which cost NZ$10 per person return. We would recommend going to Tupuna's Restaurant - the food is excellent there. The Te Vade Bar and Restaurant at the hotel along from the Pacific Resort is rubbish. Apparently the Samade restraurant and the Boat Shed are good, but we didn't eat there so can't say for sure.

The pool area at the hotel is really beatiful. You can see the sea over the infinity pool. One word of warning is that the cocktails in the pool bar are very strong.

There are quite a lot of mosquitos on Aitutaki so take plenty of strong repellent with you. The Pacific Resort fogs the foliage to reduce the number of mosquitos around the hotel.

Overall I think this a fabulous and intimate hotel. There are very few rooms which means it doesn't seem overcrowded at any stage. I would recommend staying here. I would also recommend going on the Kia Orana Cruise of you want to go on a lagoon cruise, and would advise against using Bishops Cruises.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Jessopsjuices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

I have to start by saying that the sight you get when coming in to land in Aitutaki 'Airport' is one of the most breathtaking things I have experienced.

First impressions last in my book and you wont be disappointed on this front. You are met by a friendly, if a little false, hotel rep and taken to the hotel to be greeted and booked in.

Rooms - clean and what you would expect for the price. However, we had to get an ants nest cleared from ours (which was done inside 10 mins to their credit)

Staff - accommodating and helpful

Food - what they do, they do well. Due to the remoteness of the island, don’t expect a huge variety to choose from

Activities - If you like sunbathing, then you are going to the right place. Not a huge amount to do otherwise, other than checking out the other resorts (using a moped) and visiting islands that are pretty much the same...beach and palm trees.

One major downer was the ever-present swarm of mosquitoes. They hotel promised to fog the place, but it didn’t happen in our time there.

Overall, the place was every bit as idyllic as we were expecting and you would have to be very pernickety to let the little things spoil an experience that will stay with you forever.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ECtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2007

After returning to Rarotonga for a second time, I felt I had really missed out on not going to Aitutaki, so we paid the extra for flights and Accommodation and went up there. On the morning of our flight I was so excited I couldn't sleep. I had seen all these wonderful pictures of crystal clear water etc. That was such a let down. We were staying at the Pacific Resort, which is the best accommodation on the Island and we had upgraded to a Beachfront Suite. The room was awesome, but after running down to the beach in front, which had rocks in front of it, I stopped in my tracks, there were sea slugs everywhere. It was truly disgusting. We never got into the water. In fact, the water in front of the standard rooms has better water. If that wasn't enough to dissapoint me, it was the mosquitoes, which are a real problem up there. In fact you are even given stuff in your room to put on, and there are so many reports of Dengue Fever. You could not sit and enjoy a meal for there would be hundreds of mozzies trying to bite your ankles. The food at the Pacific was appaling. I ordered a Basil and Beef Salad for Lunch and got 4 strips of beef, no basil, iceberg lettuce and two slices of cucuber and that was $19.00. The only thing I would go back to Aitutaki for is a quaint Restaurant, run by one of the locals on the middle of the Island. The food was the best I have ever eaten anywhere and we have been all over. The place is called TuPuna and its just awesome. The pool area at the Pacific is great and the weather in July is Hot unlike Rarotonga, but if its beautiful water you want, stay in Raro.


  • Liked — It was awesome
  • Disliked — Mozzies and Sea Slugs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

my husband and i spent our honeymoon here and found the pacific resort to be pure bliss! our beachfront bungalow was perfect, quite roomy and the service was excellent. the staff was at our every call and even delivered our room service dinner in courses! i would highly reccomend this amazing resort to anyone looking for a romantic and beautiful place to spend their time in the cook islands.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kategr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.4 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#8 of 10 in Aitutaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Aitutaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Aitutaki

Property: Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pacific Resort Aitutaki 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate collection of 27 secluded hideaways with absolute beach frontage while set amongst lush,palm filled gardens for privacy. With a luxury rating reaffirmed through its association with Small Luxury Hotels of the World this winner of numerous International Awards offers the complete luxury escape while respecting the principals of Social Responsability. Pacific Resort Aitutaki champions Eath Hour and also offers the Cook Islands first Aquatic Eco Trail just off their beach. Pamper yourself in the Tiare Spa with Manicure, facial or island Rapae Massage, Dine on sophisticated cuisine in Rapae Bay Restaurant as the sun sets, or between July and October breakfast while whales Breech in the waters offshore. The Black Rock Cafe is nestled between the beach and the infinity pool and provides a selection of cocktails and al fresco dining experiences to perfectly round off your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Resort Aitutaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing