We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Aitutaki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2009

This hotel is simply wonderful! The beach is fantastic and staying in front of your bungalow seems to be completely isolated from the rest of the world within your private beach. Book a standard bungalow: the beach is nicer in front of these. The food is very good and the service nice. Please keep in mind that the weather is very variable at Cooks: in 5 days we had only 1.5 days of sun! BTW Pacific Resort is much better than Etu Moana which is certainly a lower standard and that has a very very small beach with only 2 bungalows in front of it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cisis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2009

This place is fantasitc. We stayed at both Aitutaki Lagoon and Spa and the the Pacific for 3 nights each. The Pacific was the highlight of our 6 week holiday around the world.
The moment we arrived we were greeted by a very warm welcome by Ann. The service of the resort was genuine and efficient. We travelled with a 4 month old baby and the staff were a great help.
The manager Michael was fantastic and after a brief conversation came up with a great way we could do a lagoon cruise with our baby. I believe a very reasonably priced charter boat with Quinten and our very own baby sitter on board. Absolutely fantastic. We visted one foot island (so beautiful there) and some snorkelling only made possible by great service.
The resort itself was gorgueous. Our Beachfront Bungalow was lovelly and very clean. The porta cot for our baby even had a mosquito net over it which seemed to entertain our baby! The restaurant was so beautifully designed to make the most of the spectacular views. The food was very good. I very much enjoyed the included cooked breakfast. I was getting sick of Buffet breakfast at other resorts and this was a nice touch. Breakfast was also till 11am which was great for us then the usual 10am at most other resorts.
The only thing we commented on the guest comment cards was the tv's they currently have in the rooms and course with the good service at this resort it was followed up that they are getting flat screen Tv's by the end of Nov.
I highly recommend this hotel. We stayed at both resorts and the Pacific won hands down. Beautiful location, great staff and very good food.
Thank you the Pacific Aitutaki for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvofholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

My husband and I chose Aitutaki for our honeymoon as we really just wanted to relax and "do nothing" after all the stress of organising a big wedding. We like to indulge ourselves when we go travelling, so from our investigations on line, Pacific Resort Aitutaki seemed to tick all the boxes there. The difference between this resort and other high end hotels we've stayed in around the world is that it is small enough to give you the most personalised of service and in the 6 nights we stayed, we got to know many of the staff quite well.

I suppose it's all about your expectations, but I think that if you can't enjoy yourself here, you can't enjoy yourself anywhere! Even though it is a high end resort, you have to remember that it is located on a remote island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean with a population of only around 1000. Although they support the local community by using produce grown on the island, a lot of things also have to be flown or shipped in, so don't be disappointed if they don't have the wine you want to order or they've run out of lemonade - just try something different. No one on the island gets stressed out, and that rubbed off on me straight away which is odd because I'm usually a huge stress head!

We took advantage of the complimentary bikes and cycled around the island. (They do arrange scooter hire for a fee, however I just wasn't confident enough to ride on those. Also, I found that I was able to sit back and take a lot more in going a lot slower, as well getting some exercise too!) The complimentary kyaks and snorkel gear are great for this as well.

There are a variety different themed nights at the Restaurant that they run throughout the week, such as "Romance Night" where fire dancers come in to entertain you at dinner where a special menu is prepared. "Island Night" is fantastic - there is an extensive buffet and a group of local singers, musicans and dancers come in and entertain. As it was our honeymoon we also took advantage of the special romantic dinner where they set up a lavish tent on the beach in front of our suite, decorated with flowers, torches and candles and served us a private meal. Apart from making sure you were being well looked after in terms of the food and drinks, they pretty much left us alone and gave us privacy which was wonderful.

Apart from all of this, I just enjoyed the fact that the service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. We spent most afternoons lounging by the pool sipping cocktails and getting a tan. Just when you thought it was getting too hot, someone would come by with ice-cold flannels to help cool you down or one of the girls from the spa would pop down and offer a foot and leg massage.

On top of all of this, Aitutaki is one of the most beautiful, unspoilt places in the world to visit. To be able to do it in such luxury was just the cherry on top.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Aitutaki is an incredible island and the resort is located on one of the more beautiful beaches. My partner and I have traveled to a few locations in the South Pacific and the Cooks are now our favorite. This is French Polynesia without the attitude. The people throughout the Cooks and at this resort are absolutely delightful.

Highlights of the resort:

- spectacular setting / beachfront
- wonderful staff. very friendly 5 star service
- lovely rooms that are locally inspired but with modern amenities. bungalows are very private and are tucked away into the landscape
- diverse menu that is consistently good
- whale watching from the deck of the hotel restaurant during September / October
- lovely sunsets since the resort faces West

If you decide to stay at this resort, there are a few things to keep in mind that may be disappointing for some people.

- the pace of things on the island is a bit slower and service levels at the property are, for the most part, in line with what you would find at a Four Seasons or Ritz; however, it is a little more relaxed and isn't always as fast as it would be in a city
- this isn't a discount destination. the remote nature of the Cooks means that things are more expensive. The Pacific Resort Aitutaki is pricey in comparison to many alternatives on the island but is similar to the cost of a Four Seasons or Ritz in another location and you get what you pay for
- the beach at this property may not be for everyone. this isn't a good swimming beach. water is often very shallow and the sea bed has a lot of coral and sea cucumbers. there are also stone fish in the water which means you need to wear reef shoes (provided by the hotel)

The Pacific Resort is not on the lagoon but we felt that the beach was more lovely because of the variations in color due to the rough sea bed and shallowness of the water. The lagoon side is probably a better choice if you want to spend most of your time in the water.

A few other notes on the destination:

- if you want to do a lagoon cruise, try to reserve in advance and give yourself a few potential days for cruising. if boats don't fill, they don't go. as a result, there is no guarantee that you can go on the day of your choosing. we waited until our last day and couldn't do the cruise because none of the boats were running that day
- humpback whale season is an amazing time to visit. we could see the whales from the hotel restaurant every day (though at a distance). we were also very lucky to see them up close while scuba diving
- there are mosquitoes. the Pacific Resort provides complementary all-natural repellent. you'll need it once the sun starts to set

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Japan_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

the resort is absolutely great
location is perfect, service is awesome with Michael (GM) and all his staff treating everyone like a king..
The restaurant rape Bay is the best on the island.. (together with Tapuna)

The masseuse in the SPA gave us the best massage ever...

HIGHLY RECCOMENDED!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The hotel is located on the beach but best beaches are on the other side of the island and you can reach them only by bike or scooter. the meal plan is too expensive , the food a la carte was good , but avoid evening buffet. The service at the restaurant was good but really slow. We had to wait for more then one hour for a hamburger or a salad at lunch and sometimes the same in the evening . We spent half vacation to wait for food!
The room was spacious but not so clean. The service was good but not so good for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeceMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

From the moment we were met at the airport, to our greetings on arrival at the resort by the GM, Michael, we were treated like vip's. The service by all staff was exceptional, nothing was ever too much trouble. Our room had the most spectacular views, with private beach access, was spacious and clean and well situated so that we didn't notice other guests. This is definitely the place to stay at Aitutaki. The food was beautifully presented by friendly waitresses. The selection of food was amazing, especially the a la carte breakfast. We booked for the island dance and dinner evening. The buffet was the best we have ever seen, with an amazing selection of food. The entertainment was spectacular.The whole place had a very relaxed atmosphere so that we slipped into holiday mode and felt very comfortable as soon as we arrived. Our welcome was so friendly we felt as though we'd arrived to stay with friends. We stayed for only 3 nights, so it was difficult to drag ourselves away to do any sightseeing. Next time we'd like to spend all of our holiday just relaxing in the resort. Don't look anywhere else in Aitutaki for your holiday - this is the very best an island can offer. You won't be disappointed. Thank you to Michael and his staff for providing such a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jak75Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.4 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
175 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
176 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
474 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Aitutaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Aitutaki

Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: $566 - $957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pacific Resort Aitutaki 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury … The multi-award winning, five-star Pacific Resort Aitutaki, surrounded by the breathtaking, tranquil turquoise waters of the Aitutaki lagoon, offers an intimate collection of only 27 luxuriously appointed bungalows and villas. Each air-conditioned room offers uninterrupted views across the lagoon from your very own private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Resort Aitutaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing