We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Magical Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went on a holiday to Aitutaki and throughly enjoyed every minute off it, we would recommend this location and resort!

Great accomodation , great views, great service and would recommend trying local restaurants on island.

Breakfast at resort amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazza34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Kia Orana Pacific Resort Aitutaki!!
Wow what can we say about this incredible Resort. From the moment we stepped off the plane we were greeted with warm welcomes and taken to an area of the airport which was just set up for The Pacific Resort, we arrived a little late than everyone else here as we were talking to the Captain who we knew, and we never received a flower necklace which I really was looking forward too as its part of our island experience (I could have asked for one as everyone else had one on but that's not me I didn't want to make a fuss) we then were taken in a well air con Van (thank goodness) to our Resort which is only a quick 5 min drive! Once we arrived we knew we had picked the right Resort the grounds and entrance way were well kept and stunning, we were meet by Jason (Manager) our bags were taken to our rooms for us while we were taken to seats and enjoyed our Welcome Coconut Drink and while Jason was telling us a little about the Resort, we were then taken on a quick tour of the Resort and he pointed out key areas and were breakfast would be and where the other restaurant is. We then one couple of by one couple were taken by a lovely Staff Member to our rooms, who then showed us all the features in the room which was great, and our bags were already there and waiting for us!

Rooms:
We had an Ultimate Beachfront Bungalow, the moment we stepped into our room it's like we stepped into another world, the first thing we noticed was the stunning incredible, breathtaking view of the Lagoon out our front doors onto our Balcony! The room was amazing, the bathroom was great we even took pictures as its something we LOVED so much, that we want to put it in our house we are going to build later this year! The room had great aircon cooled the room down fast and wasn't noisy. The beds were amazingly comfortable, we got turn down service every night and a wee treat to eat, on arrive there were a touch of tropical flowers everywhere so nice, our room had its own balcony which had chairs and table and also lead to our outdoor shower to rinse off the sand, this lead to our own bit of beach and our own sun loungers and hammock! The views I can not explain they we just breathtaking. Our room also had our own set of snorkeling set and the staff recommend Reef shoes which you can get from reception. (Def a must). One more then on the room you get a little surprise or a gift you can take home, which ill leave for you to find out for yourself.

Service:
If you haven't already figured out the service is top class in this 5 Star Resort, from management to the restaurant staff to the ground keepers and house keeping everyone wants to make your stay the best it can be and will go out of their way for you. Jason (manager) would come around and check on how your stay was going and if there was anything he could do, he even took photos for us! (Thanks Jason) also head of customer service (so sorry can't remember her name) she was great did the same thing as Jason asked us how our stay was going and if we needed anything just let her know! They also recommend a day tour/ snorkeling tour around the island (A MUST DO), also we wanted to go for a walk up one of the hills (127m) 360deg views of the whole island!

Restaurant/Bar:
Great food and service, the main restaurant (Rapae Bay Restaurant) is a bit more pricey but you would expect this at a 5 Star resort on a remote island! This is also where you have breakfast every morning which is a cooked breakfast off the menu which is already been included in your room rate, The other restaurant pool side The Black Rock Café which is cheaper and has nice snack food and also dinner options too, this is also the Bar/Cocktail area which there is a huge selection and if your fav drink isn't on there, if you know how to make it, tell the staff and they will make it for you! Service is great here after our huge climb of the hill they brought our drinks to the pools edge to enjoy, bless!!

Activities:
We read there was one of the highest hills on the island we could climb up (127m) and see 360deg views of the whole island, they told us at reception where to go and we took bikes (take a scooter if u aren't that fit as the scooter will get you further up the track than bikes can (which we left at the bottom) also note don't go in the peck of the hottest part of the day like we did, it's hot!!! (Also take water you will need it, we weren't very organized) Hill is steep in same places and rocky and slippery just take your time. Over half way up there is a flat part where u can take photos but then there's one more part to climb the steepest part, once you are up there it's well wroth all the sweat and aching legs, the views are incredibly, the track is meant to be kept well maintained up it hadn't been when we went it was a bit over grown!
They also have kayaks you can take out on the lagoon, as well as your snorkeling gear which is in your room and reef shoes from reception all free!
There is also demonstrations of different things like Coconut husking and sarong tying during the day at The Black Rock Cafè this is all found of your daily news letter, delivered the night before!
The Day Spa is amazing on my birthday I got a relaxing 1hr long massage it was bliss! Another must do while staying here!

Patrick and myself (Katrina) would love to thank everyone for an amazing Hoilday you guys really made our Hoilday what it was, and thank you for sharing your little bit of heaven with us, we will be back for sure and we have been telling everyone we know about this amazing place and they MUST stay here! Until next time.....Aere ra (Goodbye)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatandPat_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

we could not have asked for a better place to spend our honeymoon. if I'm lucky enough to visit aitutaki again I will only ever stay here.

Rooms: All of the rooms are on the beach so no matter what type of room you get you know its going to have fab views. The resort knew we were a honeymoon couple so put us as far away from the reception/pool etc. all the rooms are very private - we had our own little piece of beach and a balcony to enjoy a wine or two as the sun set. they've even thought about the sand and installed outside showers and a tap so you can rinse the sand before heading into your room. Air conditioning his perfect, not too loud and takes hardly any time to cool the room down. water pressure was good, the resort provided free bottled water in the rooms for drinking although the tap water is safe it is highly mineralised. Bed - OH MY GOODNESS! so comfortable!! if you have any issues with walking up inclines then id suggest you ask for a room on the flatter side of the resort.

Restaurant/Bar: Great!! a lovely touch when we arrived they'd named the cocktail of the day after us. overall food is fantastic - is more expensive than usual but you expect that when you're on a secluded island. They didn't have a cocktail hour which im used to from my experiences in rarotonga but do have a 'nightcap hour' instead.
breakfast - I loved that breakfast wasn't a buffet, everything was prepared as you ordered it and yum - coffee wasn't amazing but I got used to it and there was the option to order specialty coffee. the staff are lovely and very willing to try to make your experience with them perfect. One time our breakfast order was forgotten but that didn't bother us at all - after all we had all the time in the world :)
They open up the bar/restaurant poolside during lunchtime with very nice burger/pizza/salad type menu. you can also have this menu during dinner time or you can go to the beautiful open restaurant overlooking the lagoon (same at bfast) food there is amazing - definitely fine dining!

Service:
Couldn't have asked for better service - everyone was so pleasant - the Resort Manager made a huge effort to go around a talk to people to ensure they were enjoying their stay. Reception staff were lovely and super helpful, the Reception Manager was great she encouraged us to do a snorkelling tour which we weren't sure about but she was right A MUST DO.. Bar and restaurant staff were great learnt who we were and knew what drinks we liked etc. - Housekeeping & garden staff always cheerful and said hello whenever we passed them, the turn down service at night with a little mini muffin/cake was a really lovely touch. We had a massage on our last day there and I'd highly recommend this - perfectly relaxing.

Facilities:
everything you could ever want or need - snorkelling gear, reef shoes, kayaks, endless amounts of towels. THE POOL!!! an amazing infinity pool - its just like it looks in the pictures. all of the loungers, umbrellas etc are in great condition. you can book tours, scooters. cars at reception which are there waiting to be hired. the resort offers free use of bicycles. day spa is great. the resort even has a little gift shop.

Location:
The island isn't very big so its easy to get anywhere by scooter (apparently by pushbike too but far to hot for us :) This resort is about a 1mnute scooter ride to shops where you can buy snacks/drinks etc - its on the sunset side of the island - its only about 5 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCLC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Oh my where do we start, from the moment we arrived and that was at Aitutaki Airport we knew we'd made the right choice with Pacific Resort - even the welcoming area in the airport was lavish....we'd stepped into paradise! We enjoyed two Ultimate Beachfront Bungalows during our 7 day stay at Aitutaki - very spacious 1 bedroom bungalows, Grandma and the two kids (13 & 5) were in one (not too cluttered) and we enjoyed the neighbouring one, all enjoying stunning water views, own private beach area with two sun loungers. The balconies were also spacious with seating and loungers. The staff and management were brilliant, even the Head Chef took the time to chat with us during our wedding planning stages, all made our stay a very memorable one and would highly recommend a wedding here. Te Kura our Wedding Planner was so efficient and certainly a person to go to, (Initially I had found communication a little difficult from New Zealand) but really I had nothing to worry about, apart from which amazing spot I wanted to get married at (too many to choose from), what we wanted to eat and which sound track to walk down the coconut isle! It was all in hand. Jason the Manager made sure our stay was perfect too, checking up on us whenever he caught us around the reception or popping by during breakfast, he was very attentive to all guests and the arrival with the coconut just a special touch.

There was always Plan B and C (due to the unpredictable weather) for both the wedding day and for the evening prior as we booked the Bedouin - this was perfect, highly recommended for the romantics, honeymooners, etc it was a real kick start to our wedding proceedings by watching the sunset and savoring the seafood platter over cocktails and champagne, thank you to all the staff for taking photos and making sure we had alone time but ensured our glasses were kept topped up.... lovely.....and then the wedding day....everything ran smoothly, we enjoyed spa treatment in the morning, relaxed by the beach during the day, even the Groom was given a room to move into for the day so we did not see each other. Preparations went well, we used Blondies Photography who is Aitutaki based, Potini was great, he worked the camera, we felt comfortable around him and we ended up with over 400 photos of our beautiful day - the weather was perfect and the sunsets unreal.

I'm a techi fan and never too far from my ipad or iphone - I always like to tap into work, but it was time to relax and enjoy the surroundings, there is internet wifi connection that you can pay for, but don't rely on it, you DON"T NEED IT - no one is going to go anywhere back home!!! There's plenty to do you won't get bored, we snorkeled, swam, kayaked and cycled most days, we hired a car for all 5 of us and took a tiki tour around the island, there's also scooters if there's just the two of you - Also book Captain Fantastic at Kia Orana just down the road from Pacific Resort he picked us up and took us on a boat trip to 7 islands (inc One Foot Island, Honeymoon Island and other haunts of the reality show of Cook Island Survivor - very important information for our 13 year old!!) reasonably priced and Capt & Mrs Fantastic ensured that our 5 year old and Grandma who were not snorkellers had the time of their lives.

The food was stunning at the resort, we alternated our dining at the Black Rock Cafe and the the Rapae Bay Restaurant at the resort and enjoyed scrummy breakfast each morning with stunning views. On Wednesday evening it is was Cook Island Night and enjoyed a buffet dinner with entertainment.

We also visited Lagoon Resort and Spa as this was the place I WANTED TO GO TO originally, oh my I am so pleased I was outvoted, I would have been very disappointed, although the lagoon is extremely picturesque the resort itself is not a patch on Pacific Resort. We loved it that much we tried to stay longer and miss out on Pacific Resort Rarotonga for our return leg home, we had been spoilt (thanks again to Jason, the Manager for trying to arrange) - Rarotonga was too busy for us and we were put off by the busy resort, Muri beach did not enjoy the all day sun and the stray dogs on the beach, resort and restaurant (11 at one time barking away - was a real put off!!)

Regarding Ratings below - Kids activities are limited at PR Aitutaki - but we never expected anything, we were there to enjoy the surroundings, so pool, beach, kayaking, snorkelling, etc was enough for our kids anyway however at 3pm there was always a catch up with coconut husking demos or sarong tying, etc.... the staff enjoyed our 5 year old and allowed him to sign icecream to the room - which made him feel important! There's no fitness centre but you can apparently use the school gym if you wish, we enjoyed a jog in the morning or early evening and there's complimentary bikes, so you can get the exercise if you wish - but a holiday is not a holiday unless you go back home putting on a few kg's :-)

I could go on longer, thank you once again Pacific Resort Aitutaki for an amazing wedding, 40th birthday, honeymoon and family holiday all rolled into one....until next time.

Highly recommend to all!

PS - don't forget your underwater camera!

Room Tip: All rooms are beach fronted at Aitutaki Pacific Resort, so you can't go wrong - the Ultimate Bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolingHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Resort has wonderful bungalows with great views of the beach and ocean, while shielding you from neighboring bungalow with mature trees and foliage. The pool looks out over the lagoon, as does the main restaurant and snack bar, for a true "tropical island paradise" feeling where ever you go on the grounds. I challenge you not to say "wow" as you walk through the resort and along the beach and pool area!

Hotel staff anticipated your needs and fulfilled any request we had. Especially impressive, was the fact that when our circle island tour cancelled (for lack of bookings), the receptionist told us they had made "other arrangements" for us instead. It turned out that one of the drivers for the hotel (native born and counsel member on the island) personally took us on a 2-3 hour tour of the island, giving us insight to the locations, history of the island and made us feel like a long lost member of his family during the trip. We were happy the "tour" cancelled, after Poo took us around "his" island!!

When we chose to eat dinner at another island location, the hotel arranged a car for us for a no stress ride to and from the location.

The island of Aitutaki is spectacular, and our stay at this resort made this trip absolutely wonderful! I highly recommend a stay here, and if you stay in Rarotonga, stay at the Pacific Resort there too...we didn't (only visited it for a night show) and were sadly disappointed with our other hotel (Rarotongan Beach Resort).

For those of you reading this in the United States, the Cook Islands are kind of unknown here in the states. This is an area well worth visiting!!!

Dan

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaMarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's a place to unwind and forget about everything! it was our first time in Raro, we were recommended by our travel agent with package deal to stay at both of their resorts, one in the main land Raro and one in Aitutaki.
It was my husband that planned this trip for our anniversary, he told the agent that he wanted this to be luxury trip and special.

I had high expectation after I had told where we are going and had rad the trip adviser review.

I think this resort is over rated a bit, we stayed at many five star hotel and resorts chain but this one is not up to five star standard for their foods and room décor.
We were given the room at the far end west wing beach front Bungalow, it was very dark and smell of damp, we have to leave the air con on all the time so it won't smell as bad, also lights on during the day there's no sunlight into the room, all the trees were blocking the sun, also not enough lights in the room to read the book, we have to set out at the veranda during the day and can't read at night. The bedding sheets and pillows was old and smelly we had to request for changing to new ones. The towels were meant to be white color but it looks old and gray this reminds me of our trip to China last year in the 3 1/2 to 4 star hotel.

The food quality was poor at the main restaurant and not enough choices, we had to look where else to eat after the first night, we had bad experience with had to wait for 30min after been seated no one come back for any water or ask if we wanted drinks. The Lamb rack cutlets was well over done and chewy had to send back, and the grilled baby chicken I ordered were not baby it was a big size of chicken breast that's been cooked twice and was chewy and dry.

The location was amazing I must say! if you'r not fuss about foods and the comfort of the room.
the staffs were so attentive and helpful. The Spa massage was as good as any other resort that you must try if you are here.

Beautiful lagoon for snorkeling at front of the resort with complimentary gears and great spot for Kayaking, we will be back again if the food and the room were updated.








Stayed: April 2013
2  Thank Lucky2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Pacific Resort was fantastic and we believe it was certainly the best choice on the island.
We were greeted with a drink in a coconut in a magnificent outdoor lobby filled with marble floors and lilly pad filled ponds. All the bungalows share the same amazing view of the pristine lagoon, which was amazing for snorkeling. This was one of the highlights of our trip, to snorkel in these fish and coral filled waters and we were not disappointed. Considering the small size of the island there was still plenty to do. We spent one full day exploring the lagoon on a charter called Aitutaki Adventures with Tuma has our captain. It was wonderful - a small intimate group of 10 people ventured out for a great day of snorkeling, laughing with Tuma and enjoying a BBQ lunch on One Foot Island. My husband did the deep sea diving and caught a shark! It was the tuna that he brought back to the resort where chef Adrian grilled it to perfection for our evening meal. The manager, Jason, was always visible if you needed him for anything. The grounds were immaculate and the breakfasts amazing and filled you until dinner. If you are lucky enough to get Loretta has your waitress you are all set! If we were to do one thing different on this vacation it would be to spit our time equally between Rarotonga and Aitutaki vs 9 days and 3 days on each.
We didn't want to leave!! It was the perfect ending to our 25th anniversary holiday in the south Pacific.

Room Tip: We stayed at the very end, very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.4 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
472 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Aitutaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Aitutaki

Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: $541 - $891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pacific Resort Aitutaki 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury … The multi-award winning, five-star Pacific Resort Aitutaki, surrounded by the breathtaking, tranquil turquoise waters of the Aitutaki lagoon, offers an intimate collection of only 27 luxuriously appointed bungalows and villas. Each air-conditioned room offers uninterrupted views across the lagoon from your very own private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Resort Aitutaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing