We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have you ever read a bad review of this place?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Resort Aitutaki
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The experience begins as you descend to Aitutaki Airport! The lagoon is magical; dotted with small tropical islands and ringed with "talcum powder' coral sand. I have never experienced such an organised arrival! We were met on the tarmac at the small but charming Aitutaki Airport by a hotel representative who after presenting us with a beautiful lei, ushered us into a lounge reserved for the resort. Check in to the resort was completed "in a jiff" in the airport lounge, and after identifying our luggage, everything was taken care of and we were driven to the resort and were quickly installed in our stunning bungalow. We opted for a beach front suite- a beautiful large room perched above the beach, looking across the lagoon. I would highly recommend this quality of room though I don't believe there is a bad room in the resort!

The resort is a tranquil haven- beautifully kept gardens with the bungalows sculptured seamlessly into the landscape. Even when at capacity, you never get the impression of a crowd. During our week long stay, not once did we have trouble securing a couple of pool side loungers.

For us, Aitutaki provided the ideal holiday. Walking/biking around the island was relaxing and fun and we met some lovely locals who are very friendly and cheerful. It is a very safe place- probably a bit like life used to be before rock music, the internet and mobile phones. Plenty of low key cafes/eateries and nothing much to buy except tonic water to go with the gin!

The resort food satisfied our demands- great breakfasts that set you up for the day. The local seafood is well worth a go- I particularly liked the fresh tuna. There is a more casual restaurant by the pool but even in the main restaurant, most patrons seemed to feel comfortable and were welcomed in "beach dress".

The hilight of my stay was the snorkelling with "Teking". There are a number of lagoon tour operators and a helpful discussion with Jason, the resort Assistant Manager will probably enable you to make the right choice. Some tours are a relaxed look around the islands of the lagoons while others, such as Teking are focused on exploring what lies under the water. If you like snorkelling, select Teking. A great guy who gelled with our small group! Even showed us turtles-he is the "main man"!

Doing nothing is a greatly under rated past time, but I feel Aitutaki was invented for this activity. It was great to relax on the beach in front of our bungalow with a glass of fine champagne in hand, some delicious pre dinner nibbles nearby, watching the sun sink low in the lagoon- next to that special person in my life. As I write this, I cannot wait to return!

The resort staff are well trained, courteous and helpful. They gave us useful suggestions on how to fill in the day and were always attentive and followed through with requests.

I have to mention Jason- I feel he is the key to the success of this place! I am not sure if he ever has a day off as he always semmed to be about the place! He interfaced well with guests/staff and I think because of him, problems do not occur. We had an issue with our room configuration on arrival but he promptly sorted it out and produced a satisfactory solution. Because of the small and intimate nature of the resort, he comes to know guests, and discreetly and regularly checks that things are going well for you and attends to any issues you may have. Every resort like this needs a "Jason" and in my view, this is why a number of similar places I have visited in the past fail.

The Pacific Resort Aitutaki is a very special place. Do not waste your time in Rarotonga. After reading this review DO NOT TELL ANYONE ELSE HOW GOOD THIS PLACE IS!

Holiday hint!
Sick of cocktails not as good as the ones you make yourself at home?
Then get yourself one of those refillable plastic sports drink bottles with a wide neck and a "pop top". Shake everything up with the ice, "pop the top" to drain the contents.

Thanks Jason/Julian and the team for a great stay! We will return!

Room Tip: Beach fron suites- just the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drurolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

666 - 672 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have stayed and seen quite a few hotels in the Cook Islands and I must say, when compared to the hotels in Fiji, I was always disappointed with the service levels in the Cook Islands.
But what a breathe of fresh air the Pacific Resort Aitutaki is. Finally a hotel deserved of it's 5 star status. The rooms were modern and beautiful, all with amazing views and very private. I have waited a long time to find a resort that stocks all those little items you sometimes forget to pack, and there it was, a selection of toothpaste, batteries, sunscreen, aloe vera, all in your room and available to purchase as you would an item from the minibar.
The highlight of the resort was definitely it's food and beverage service, unlike anything I've experienced in the South Pacific, absolutely amazing.
The beach is beautiful, however when compared to the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort it's definitely 2nd place. However after seeing that property, there is no comparison. If you appreciate beautifully designed and furnished rooms, top quality service and amazing food you'd be foolish not to stay at the Pacific Resort Aitutaki.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room right next to the pool area as it's a bit more exposed and less private th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_tome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at the Pacific Resort Aitutaki in June 2012 and had the most amazing time. It is an experience not to be missed. The big point of difference between Aitutaki and Rarotonga is the the sheer beauty of the lagoon. So crystal clear, less wind & amazing snorkeling. Fish galore! The Pacific Resort Aitutaki is also a big 'step-up' from the Pacific Resort in Rarotonga. Each gorgeously appointed villa had absolute beach front access and the service was second to none. Jason (FBM) and Julian (GM) were both terrific and always on hand to make arrangements during our stay. Absolutely every member of staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. Jason arranged a personal 1/2 day snorkel charter with Black Pearl Charters - they were fantastic! They had such an amazing knowledge of all things Aitutaki and were very patient with a nervous snorkeler, like myself. If you are considering taking the next step over to Aitutaki, I would highly recommend choosing to stay with Pacific Resort Aitutaki. It will be as much a talking point of the holiday as the destination itself - from the separate Pacific Resort arrival lounge area at the airport to the departing gift, nothing else on the island compares. One piece of advice:Try and get a daytime flight from Rarotonga to Aitutaki. We arrived at night and missed the amazing view of the island as we arrived.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camlyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay here for 5 nights as part of my honeymoon. The location is nothing short of stunning, with incredible views of sunsets to the West from the infinity pool.

We were upgraded to a suite which was massive and beautifully secluded with our own spot on the beach.

Only drawbacks of staying here are that wifi and alcohol are both pretty expensive but you can do without the internet in paradise if you ask me and the shop down the road has alcohol that's a little more reasonably priced.

The staff were so helpful and the complimentry bikes enabled us to discover the island at our own pace...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Aitutaki Lagoon is is Stunning, and so is the Pacific resort which is part of the Small luxury Hotels of the World Group. The villas are beautiful, private and spacious and well appointed. The resort is really 5 Star with 5 star service with friendly attentive staff.

We were so impressed with the service, the atmosphere, the food and the gardens we're going back this October to get married. Can't wait.

The Aitutaki Lagoon just doesn't compare and is in the same league.

Couldn't recommend it more

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

There are two reasons why you must go to Aitutaki, its Lagoon and the Pacific Resort Aitutaki. Both are simply stunning.
My wife and I visited Rarotonga 4 years ago and simply loved the place but then we heard about Aitutaki, we promised ourselves if we were to return to the Cook Islands it would be to Aitutaki. If we were to come back we had decided to make it a memorable occasion as a trip to Aitutaki is not cheap so when the opportunity arose we decided to go all the way and book into the islands reputed No1 accomdation the Pacific Resort Aitutaki.
When you commit to spending so much money on a holiday there is always niggling doubts, is this the right thing to do, will the No1 resort live up to the hype, does the promotional material overhype the resort such that it it becomes a disappointment with the actual experience.
Early June 2012 we completed our promise and all I can say is a holiday at Pacific Resort Aitutaki is an experience never to be forgotten. They deliver a level of service that goes way beyond any experience anywhere. It begins at Aitutaki airport where each guest is met on arrival and whisked away to the special area inside of the terminal that is set-aside for Pacific Resort guests only. This is where staff will check you into the hotel and give you an insight into the Pacific Resort Aituaki experience. Your bags are then marked ready to be delivered to your room at the resort by resort staff. You are driven to the resort where upon arrival the resort manager (Adrian) will greet you personally and will sit you down for a little chat and to introduce you to a chilled coconut that has been prepared for each guest to drink. At the conclusion of the meet and greet you are personally escorted to your room where you will find a beautifully prepared room complete with Champagne on ice. The staff member will show you all the facilities within the room before quietly disappearing leaving you totally gobsmacked by the level of personal service that you have just experienced.
When they say every room is a beach front room they really mean it. All the villas are spread along the beach front and are laid out so that each can have total privacy right out and including the large furnished patio that comes with each villa. Beyond your patio is the beach and right there are your own loungers just inviting you to use them to look out over the lagoon and out to sea and in the evening amazing sunsets. Your bed is positioned so that by simply lifting your head off the pillow you have this amazing view of the lagoon and open sea. You can choose to have either screen doors or glass doors as the barrier between your bed and the beach.
The service does not end there. If you have prearranged tour activities through Island Hopper the hotel will also receive this booking and 24 hours before each activity you will receive a personal letter at your room from the desk reminding you of the upcoming activity and where you need to be and what time. The hotel does all the confirmation work for you although it pays to check with the desk to make sure they have all your correct tour details just for your own peace of mind.
Dining in the restaurant is also an experience. A la carte Breakfast is included in the room rate with only morning cocktails not included, they are an extra. The menu is comprehensive and is designed to meet everyone’s tastes. You can ask for anything off the menu or if you want you can customise to meet a particular need. Evening dining comes with a $50 discount for guests per room. We enjoyed some magnificent dishes and just loved the fresh fish that featured as fish of the day. Island night is a time to enjoy culture along with other guests. During the day guests are invited to create their own “Ei” or traditional head gear under the instruction of staff at the Black Rock Café to be worn later in the evening at the Island night.
There is a restaurant manager, Jason, who makes sure that every guest is well catered for and both he and Adrian the resort manager often call by for a friendly chat about your day and holiday plans. Jason is the goto guy who makes stuff happen. It only takes a comment at breakfast, he will pick up on the thoughts and within minutes he has arrangements made already for you to accept. For example one breakfast we watched a casual comment at another table about going fishing result in Jason heading off to check availability amongst his contacts and within minutes he returns to the table with an offer of a fishing trip that day for an amazing price with pickup and drop-off included. We expressed interest in a Vaka race one morning at breakfast and Jason turned this into a van load of resort guests heading off to the after match BBQ that evening where guests had the opportunity to contribute to fund raising for a local junior Vaka crew that wanted to go to the world champs. It was also a chance for resort guests to mingle with the local crowd. It was a unique island experience that will never be forgotten. This is the level of service offered by Pacific Resort Aitutaki.
Yet there is more, a daily newsletter tells you everything you need to know about the next 24 hours, there is the bed turn down service each evening that also has a little surprise waiting for you in the fridge, home baking to have with your evening cuppa.
Just when we thought the service could not get any better we received a personally signed letter from Adrian the resort manager explaining a change to the TV service for the resort brought about by their pay for view provider with an apology that the change was to occur during our stay.
The staff are amazing and are only too pleased to help where they can. You only have to ask if they have not already thought of it before you.
The pool and attached Black Rock café are beautifully laid out and each day fresh towels are placed at the end of each pool lounger along with a flower, a nice touch.
The service continues, there are bikes lined up for guests to use, the only requirement is that you bring them back. You do not have to sign for them you just take them and return after use. Same for the water sport equipment it is all there for you to help yourself to at any time of your choosing.
The only down side is the snorkelling immediately outside of the resort is not the best, being very shallow even at high tide however it makes a great area for canoeing. If snorkelling is important to you then a day trip out into the main lagoon is where you must go where you will have the most amazing snorkelling experience. We travelled with Bishops for a trip out into the lagoon for a magnificent day in what has to be one of the world wonders, the Aitutaki Lagoon. Sand so white and water so clear it is simply stunning. The visit to one foot Island, for a stamp in your passport, and a great BBQ lunch sets off a wonderful day out in the Lagoon.
Eventually your time on Aitutaki must come to an end and this can be a time of great sadness as you leave what is a fabulous resort behind you and head back to reality. Both Jason the restaurant manager and Adrian the resort manager are there to see you off personally with a small gift as a token of appreciation before you have to say your final goodbyes.
The hype is all true. It’s the only time where the brochures and promotion material accurately reflect the experience of being there.
I love fishing and I deliberately did not do this activity so that I have an excuse to go back to Aitutaki and the Pacific Resort. Adrian and Jason we will be back and thank you and your wonderful staff for such a memorable holiday.
A message to Adrian and Jason, it’s the small things that really matter to guests so please keep up the great personal service that you and your staff provide. It makes a refreshing change from that provided by any other accommodation provider. Hope to see you soon.
Steve & Gwynn Donaldson

Room Tip: Every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteveD811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Pacific Resort surpassed our expectations. After 2 nights @ The overrated and overpriced Aitutaki Lagoon resort we spent a luxurious 7 days @ The Pacific Resort.

This is a true 5star experience. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The resort is clean and has an excellent pool area. The occasional free hors d'ourves late afternoon by the pool was a nice touch.

We ate at all the recommended spots on the island....only to realise that the best food was where we were staying.

This is one of the few resorts I've stayed at that I would happily return to.

Room Tip: You can't beat beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Al Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aitutaki hotels
1.4 mi away
Aitutaki Escape
Aitutaki Escape
#3 of 10 in Aitutaki
177 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aitutaki Village
Aitutaki Village
#5 of 10 in Aitutaki
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Etu Moana
Etu Moana
#1 of 10 in Aitutaki
954 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tamanu Beach
Tamanu Beach
#4 of 10 in Aitutaki
477 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ranginui's Retreat
Ranginui's Retreat
#9 of 10 in Aitutaki
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Aitutaki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Aitutaki

Address: Amuri, Cook Islands
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Aitutaki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aitutaki
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aitutaki
Price Range: $547 - $974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pacific Resort Aitutaki 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Luxury … The multi-award winning, five-star Pacific Resort Aitutaki, surrounded by the breathtaking, tranquil turquoise waters of the Aitutaki lagoon, offers an intimate collection of only 27 luxuriously appointed bungalows and villas. Each air-conditioned room offers uninterrupted views across the lagoon from your very own private sundeck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Resort Aitutaki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Aitutaki Hotel Aitutaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing