We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day of Our Honeymoon”
Review of The Vaka Cruise

The Vaka Cruise
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ‘must do’ day lagoon cruise aboard the 21 meter Polynesian style Vaka Titi ai Tonga.Every morning at 10am Mondays to Saturdays, the sound of the conch shell signals the departure of the Vaka for six hours of lagoon magic.There’s snorkelling, swimming and sunbathing to do before tucking into to an island barbecued lunch of fresh caught ocean fish served on board and accompanied by a full bar service.Visit several motu (small islets) and beach comb at One Foot Island before returning past the old TEAL flying boat base. Impromptu entertainment by the crew will have you tying pareu, weaving coconut leaf plates or humming island tunes.They are always happy to provide snorkelling lessons for first timers.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Day of Our Honeymoon”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This review is from our honeymoon way back in November 2012 (better late than never right?)...

The boat is nicely shaded and very comfortable. The stops were beautiful and we got to see several different islands. The snorkelling was great and we saw lots of fish and colourful coral. The crew was great and kept everyone happy and laughing throughout the day. Lunch was delicious and had lots to choose from. If we ever get back to the Cook Islands I would book this boat trip again in a heartbeat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    31
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing crew on paradise”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We did this as part of a tour around the Cook Islands with work and I loved every second. The food was amazing, the commentary from the staff and experience were impressive and very professional. The towels are AMAZING!

We got shown loads of interesting and useful demonstrations and I will recommend this to any of my customers

Helpful?
1 Thank Chasmaybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“The highlight of my two week trip!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I did this tour on Thu Mar 27, After a not so great start to the morning where they picked us up 40 mins before the flight myself and a group of fellow tourists were whisked to Rarotonga Airport only to find it unattended, After waiting 10 mins a woman turned up, checked us all in and by 8am we were directed onto the Air Rarotonga aircraft, After a flight of around 45 mins and a flight attendant serving us coffee (Needed on an early morning!) we landed in Aitutaki and were directed onto a truck,

We met Ali who was one of the most accommodating tour guides I've ever And also one of the stars in the latest Air NZ cook islands safety video!, NOTHING was too much trouble! We got taken into town where people could grab a snack at a café or peruse the convenience store (Typical souvenir trinkets) we were back on the truck and given a full island tour, then it was onto the boat where a friendly crew and coconut drinks awaited us. We began the sailing and he pointed out shark island, tiger island and then took us to where the cast and crew stayed during the filming of survivor cook islands,

After swimming and snorkelling in some of the most beautiful places and seeing so many fish, particularly zebrafish! and a trevally named (George was it?) Lunch was an international buffet, Ladies and children eat first followed by us guys including prayer (Since it is a religious country) and the food was really good.

As we got to One Foot Island those of us who had passports got them stamped with the special Aitutaki One Foot Island stamp (So bring your passport) and spent the afternoon swimming and being entertained with coconut cracking demos and sarong demos .Met nice people from new Zealand, Other parts of Australia, Germany, etc

Made our way back at 3pm and was back on the plane by 4:30pm...Although a couple of people on our tour were actually staying on Aitutaki so we dropped them back at their resort....Some nice resorts but very pricey!

Was back at the hotel by 5:30pm after a transfer back to apartment.

If you only do one thing in Raro this is it!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise exists!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I did the Aitutaki day tour with Air rarotonga from Raro and was pretty happy that they work with Vaka Cruise! The organisation in perfect, the food to die for and lot of food for vegetarians.
The places we visited just amazing and we had the opportunity to do some snorkel in 3 different spots. There are loads of fishes, giant clams and perfect beaches

Towels and snorkel gear are provided which is a plus

It really worth the trip from Raro!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumdoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore City, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Thank you for an amazing day that we will always remember. We did the day trip with Air Rarotonga which was a little expensive but worth every cent. We were meet at the Aitutaki Airport by our tour guide Ali. Ali was great, he was knowledgeable, passionate about his home and was always smiling and joking around. The crew on the Vaka were the same very friendly and welcoming. The snorkelling was amazing and my 65 year old parents who had never snorkelled before thoroughly enjoyed it. Lunch was yummy and the on board entertainment was a laugh. This cruise was the best tour we did in the Cook Islands and we will definitely do it again. Until next time.....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank net246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vaka Cruise also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Vaka Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing