We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers, great prices”
Review of Kuku's Cafe - CLOSED

Kuku's Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wilyabrup, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great burgers, great prices”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

You sometimes find little gems in places you just don't expect! Looking for a late lunch after getting my Cook Islands drivers licence, we went past Kuku's and quickly turned around and had a look at the menu. Lots of burger style meals, but also a vegetarian option using local breadfruit, eggplant (aubergine) etc. and local salad vegetables. Washed down with REAL iced tea. They also do island fries (breadfruit chips) for a yummy alternative

Food was excellent, really nicely presented on a banana leaf (no washing up!) and we had a lovely chat with the freiendly owner (sorry - never did get your name!). Would definately revisit on a regular basis for a tasty and reasonably priced lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ovolacto_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big Menu, Good Value & Friendly Service”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We ate here a couple of times for lunch. We would have eaten here for breakfast if it opened earlier (opens at 10am). The owner is friendly and the service good.

There is a huge menu to choose from and the prices are really reasonable. The offering is mostly fast-food in nature with burgers, toasted sandwiches and the like.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere!
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“delicious hamburgers”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stop here for a wonderful lunch of large tasty hamburgers and chips. Wash it down with a delicious fruit smoothie!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank goingsomewheresoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best burgers on the island”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

KuKu's Takeaway in Ureia has the best burgers I have ever had. She puts chutney on the delicious buns and WOW was it ever good. In fact, I bought chutney at the marketplace so that I can try it at home. The owner is a real sweetheart, also.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing little cafe”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at Paparei bungalows right across the road from Kukus so obviously we were going to try it out. The verdict: delicous and very good value.

I can easily recommend a lunch at Kukus cafe, I tried Als burger and was very impressed. The iced tea was also a welcome beverage on a warm day.

We also hired a kayak from here which was excellent value at $20 per day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuku's Cafe also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing