We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best day”
Review of Bishops Cruises

Bishops Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best thing about Aitutaki is her lagoon, and a visit is not complete without joining us for a fun filled day cruising this spectacular natural wonder. We offer a range of tours and lagoon taxi services, snorkeling gear, beach towels and food and beverage options on the famous One Foot Island.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
214 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The best day”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The day we went the weather had been a bit dicey overnight so many of the couples cancelled and it was just us and another couple, awesome. We were asked what we were here for and we all agreed it was the snorkelling so he made that our priority, very kind and thoughtful I thought. We didnt miss out on anything we still saw the islands as described but he personalised it and we appreciated that. We had the best day with great company, the ukelale playing in the background and an awesome lunch, we have had a fantastic time and we thankyou.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mushyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Captain awesome delivers an awesome day”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

On a day that started out wet and overcast, the crew at bishops delivered a fantastic day for my self and fellow passengers.

Led capably by the enthusiastic Captain Awesome, I experienced a fantastic 6 hours cruise around the aitutaki lagoon.

The trip included a great musical accompaniment to keep us entertained.

The snorkelling for an hour was awesome with lots of tropical fish to see.

A beautiful lunch on one foot island comprising fresh fish salads and fruits was a great way to top off the day.

Hats of to captain awesome and the crew for a great mix of culture music and food.

In a word awesome. Definitely recommend it to complete your aitutaki experience ...

Helpful?
Thank TAGSTERSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
302 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“A great day on the lagoon”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We initially tried to book with the competition, but couldn't get through so went with Bishops for a cruise and snorkelling on the lagoon. The Bishops boat is smaller & doesn't have an on-board toilet but it is covered. It was soon apparent that both operate the same itinerary with the Bishops boat in the lead by about 15 minutes. On the day we went there were only 7 passengers (we could see the opposition boat had around 20). Our captain (Leo) gave an entertaining and informative story at each spot we stopped in. The snorkelling was OK - a strong wind off the sea so a lot of current in the designated snorkelling area on the day but saw some giant clams, which we haven't seen snorkelling anywhere else. Snorkel gear & towels provided.

Lunch on One Foot Island was very good, although they allowed way more time than strickly necessary. Leo cooked fresh fish and there was a good range of salads. The crew operate the Post Office there (stamp your Passport) for a set period each day, which explained our extended stay there.

The lagoon is breathtakingly beautiful - absolutely stunning, and we were very happy with our cruise.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lagoon was dream come true!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Bishops was great. Staff were friendly and sang to us throughout the boat cruise. We stopped in various islands (can't remember names of them all). The one thing I would've liked more is if they let us off on the sandbank ("heaven on earth") for a little more than 5 minutes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Waters, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Bishop Cruises are tops!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

On my 11th trip back to Aitutaki, I always go out on the lagoon with Bishops! I have watched this family business grow from strength to strength, always very careful with their clients needs on any days outing.

The Crew are very attentive, loved their singing and entertainment.

The boat is the best to enter the water off the back of the boat, and then return to the boat, no having to struggle into the boat for older persons.

Once again, many thanks, Annie for a fantastic day!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mudjimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishops Cruises also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Bishops Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing