We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day on the lagoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bishops Cruises

Bishops Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best thing about Aitutaki is her lagoon, and a visit is not complete without joining us for a fun filled day cruising this spectacular natural wonder. We offer a range of tours and lagoon taxi services, snorkeling gear, beach towels and food and beverage options on the famous One Foot Island.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
518 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“A great day on the lagoon”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We initially tried to book with the competition, but couldn't get through so went with Bishops for a cruise and snorkelling on the lagoon. The Bishops boat is smaller & doesn't have an on-board toilet but it is covered. It was soon apparent that both operate the same itinerary with the Bishops boat in the lead by about 15 minutes. On the day we went there were only 7 passengers (we could see the opposition boat had around 20). Our captain (Leo) gave an entertaining and informative story at each spot we stopped in. The snorkelling was OK - a strong wind off the sea so a lot of current in the designated snorkelling area on the day but saw some giant clams, which we haven't seen snorkelling anywhere else. Snorkel gear & towels provided.

Lunch on One Foot Island was very good, although they allowed way more time than strickly necessary. Leo cooked fresh fish and there was a good range of salads. The crew operate the Post Office there (stamp your Passport) for a set period each day, which explained our extended stay there.

The lagoon is breathtakingly beautiful - absolutely stunning, and we were very happy with our cruise.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    13
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lagoon was dream come true!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Bishops was great. Staff were friendly and sang to us throughout the boat cruise. We stopped in various islands (can't remember names of them all). The one thing I would've liked more is if they let us off on the sandbank ("heaven on earth") for a little more than 5 minutes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Bishop Cruises are tops!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

On my 11th trip back to Aitutaki, I always go out on the lagoon with Bishops! I have watched this family business grow from strength to strength, always very careful with their clients needs on any days outing.

The Crew are very attentive, loved their singing and entertainment.

The boat is the best to enter the water off the back of the boat, and then return to the boat, no having to struggle into the boat for older persons.

Once again, many thanks, Annie for a fantastic day!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mudjimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great company”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We got married on the "one foot Iceland." Bishops Cruises was our wedding planner - Annie and her daughter Tanya did it professionally.

The lagoon trip has thoroughly enjoyed it. Lunch on one foot Iceland was very good.

So who is looking for a wedding planner is in good hands and the lagoon trip should be booked necessarily there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

You haven't fully experienced the beauty and splendor of Aitutaki until you have taken a lagoon cruise. I am traveling on a tight budget, but this cruise was worth every penny! The islands in the lagoon are gorgeous, great snorkeling (we saw lots of giant clams of all different colors), and the provided BBQ lunch is wonderful. Bishops has great boats and a friendly crew. The boys played festive music as we cruised the beautiful waters. The lagoon is turquoise and seems to stretch on forever... I wish I could go back.

Helpful?
Thank LaurenKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bishops Cruises also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Bishops Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing