We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island night and dinner cannot be missed”

Tamanu Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Aitutaki
Price range: $11 - $46
Cuisines: Seafood, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tamanu beach has a beachside 60 seat Bar & Restaurant. We are open for breakfast lunch and dinner with a simple Island style menu. Our feature Island Nights every Thursday are a highlight of Aitutaki dining. Sunday is a relaxed family bbq buffet. The specials menu changes regularly with the freshest catch and seasonal fruits. We do pretty good coffee (getting better every day!) and our sunset cocktails are very tempting.
Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Island night and dinner cannot be missed”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Island entertainment cannot be found anywhere else. Fire dancers are much better than what you find on rarotonga. Dinner was outstanding and be sure to go here without eating beforehand as you will want to try and taste everything they serve you. It will make all your senses soar with delight.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kiwi020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    108
    40
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tamanu Beach Restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice breakfast with all you can eat, the evening meals were nice, some waiting at times but not too long.
Relax & enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The best venue to catch Island Night”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We dined at Tamanu's several times-but the highlight was island night where local dishes were prepared and served. Our favorites were the spinach prepared island style (with a coconut type of sauce), curried lamb, and the ika mata.

After dinner and dessert, we moved closer to the beach where seats had been neatly arranged for the show-and what a show it was. The opener was a young local who performed while spinning a fiery stick in a breathtaking fashion. Additional acts included dancers-both men and women whose traditions are passed on by moms, dads, fathers and grandfathers. The combination of freshly prepared island fares, and local dance and song, in a beautiful setting, made for a most memorable evening.

Note: This is a popular event and it can sell out due to the limited seating, so booking early is a must. A couple that were staying where we were had been unable to get reservations for island night at Tamanu's because it was sold out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ciscospudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Island night!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a couple of nights out here. First was a romantic dinner on the beach I had organised with the help of the girls in Etu Moana. A really lovely thing to do if you have a special occasion. Private setting under the stars, beautiful. The following night was the Island night dinner and performance. Fabulous food and sooooo much of it and then a great performance after. Brilliant music and great dancers. Staff were super friendly and great fun.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samwisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The food was fantastic - wonderful selection and probably the best spread at any island night i've been to. The show was spectactular and great right on the beach. Lovely atmosphere. Really excellent night.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank morgandNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamanu Beach Resort also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tamanu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing