We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aitutaki Escape
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Tamanu Beach(Aitutaki)
$306
$298
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$419
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rino's Motel(Aitutaki)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Etu Moana(Aitutaki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
169
6
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
6
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pooltwo bedroom villaour honeymooncook islandsnatural elementsamazing bathroomlarger propertiesmaking our stay wonderfulintimate dinnerfull kitchenlounge chairshuge showerflower petalseach morningtv seriesbest food on the islandhigh tide
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 180 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2010

After a fantastic stay at Rumours in Rarotonga we were looking forward to another great week at Rumours of Escape in Aitutaki. The villas are beautiful with a fantastic bedroom and bathroom area. The private spa was great and we used it a lot. We also enjoyed the beach chairs at the end of our own pier. We tried snorkeling off the beach but hardly saw any fish. (Take a snorkeling trip with one of the island tour boats to see some fantastic coral and fish.)The views from the beach and the beautiful sunsets were amazing however the accommodation is not up to the standard set by the Rarotonga property.
The front windows looking out to the beach are uncurtained – a deliberate design policy to allow guests to enjoy the views. Great during the day but at night it is dark and there is nothing to see! However the living area is all too visible from the beach at night, which is not a comfortable feeling. The Rumours brochure makes a point of how the only footprints you will see on the beach will be yours – this presumably excludes the motorcyclists who were ever present on the beach in the evening.
Inside the villa during the day is fine – quality furnishings and well supplied however the lighting is atrocious. It is impossible to play board games on the table in the living area in the evening and to read you have to sit directly under one of the lamps. The two diagonally wall-mounted fans in the living area were very noisy and reminded me of sitting in the small prop aircraft that brought us to the island.
Sadly even the cleaning was not up to the Rarotonga Rumours standard with water marks left in the bathroom and shower areas and most days shower caps and shampoos not replenished. Flowers in our villa were beautiful the day we arrived but were dead or dying and not removed by the end of our stay.
Tanya and her husband were very friendly and helpful but seemed unconcerned with the noise generated by the building work (more villas are being erected), by the cockerels that gave us early morning wake up calls, by the music from the radios of nearby houses and by the goats kept by the family next door.
All in all we enjoyed Aitutaki, its beautiful scenery and its friendly people but Rumours of Escape, at this early stage of its creation, does not live up to its hype.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ayalax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Rumours Aitutaki from Nov 2-6th. I can't say enough good things about our experience! From the beginning of my inquiries to Tara, I received nothing but professional and courteous service. The booking process was a breeze. On our arrival, we were met at the airport, had our bags and were whisked away within minutes. Our hostess, Tanya, was great-very accomodating to all of our needs and kept the villa spotless for us. The villa was beyond our expectation. This is a brand new property. Only 2 villas were built and being used when we were there. The 2 bedroom villa was still being built with a tireless crew working almost around the clock. Though they were relatively quiet, especially at night. The 1 bedroom villa is absolutely gorgeous. The enclosed courtyard has a private plunge pool as well as a heated spa with a beautiful wall waterfall in the background that extends into the house. The architecture and use of space was fantastic. The full kitchen was great to cook breakfast or dinner in. The bedroom and it's amazing bathroom was wonderful with an abundance of hot water and water pressure, dual sinks and a separate door leading straight to the spa for easy access. The outdoor deck with its lounge chairs got much use with us gazing out at the ocean every day. It only rained one of the days during our vacation but thanks to Tanya, we had DVD's to watch. There is no regular tv, but you know what? We didn't miss it!
A small warning: this is a pricey place to stay but well worth the cost after looking at the quality of work and beauty of the design, as well as privacy with your own pool and spa. The cost does include a full daily breakfast, free use of bicycles, snorkeling gear and airport transfers. The opening special is well worth it if you go soon as you also get a free lagoon cruise and airfare from Rarotonga.
The location of Rumours is great. A very short distance from the airport as it is on the northwest side of the island. It is within walking distance to Puffy's and definitely biking distance to Tamanu Resort, Tuano's cafe, Etu Moana and even Paradise Point. Tuano's is a must for the best food on the island! We had 3 lunches there and enjoyed every one.
A scooter rental is also a must as going to the highest point on the island is definitely worth the views. Sadly though because of the rain, we never made it to Cafe Tapuna.
Another highlight of our trip was the lagoon cruise we took with Teking Tours. The lagoon is just breathtaking with it's surreal blue colored waters and wonderful snorkeling stops. And the lunch on the "deserted island" we stopped at was delicious. We will be back. We loved the Cooks and Rumours.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank califgirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mene K, Public Relations Manager at Aitutaki Escape, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mene K, Public Relations Manager at Aitutaki Escape, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mene K, Public Relations Manager at Aitutaki Escape, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews