We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do in Aitutaki”
Review of Kia Orana

Kia Orana
Ranked #9 of 15 Tours in Aitutaki
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We invite you to book a Kia Orana morning or afternoon speedboat cruise (for up to 10 people) when you come to Aitutaki. Whether you are an individual or a couple, a wedding party, or a group of friends, cruising around the Lagoon and visiting One Foot Island, and Honeymoon Island is one of the most memorable things to do in the whole of the Pacific. We cruise to what we call "the seven wonders of paradise", and every island has something special to see and experience.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must do in Aitutaki”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

During out recent stay in Aitutaki we went out for the day with Kia Orana Cruises. We had a fabulous day, Captain Fantastic was a great host. It was lovely being part of a small group the snorkeling was amazing and the beautiful Honeymoon Island and the lovely island where we had lunch were truly paradise. The meal of fresh barbecued fish with salads was just perfect. Swimming with so many colourful species of tropical fish was fascinating and we couldn't believe the size of the Giant Trevally that swam with us at one snorkeling spot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We spend a magical half day snorkeling with Kia Orana Cruises. Captain Fantastic and Mrs Fantastic are wonderful people and really really made us feel welcome. The snorkel spots they took us to were sensational. The ship wreck was cool to swim around. The final stop where we anchored the boat in shallow water on a sand bar and swam out into deeper water was incredible... and then the Giant Trevalli turned up! WOW!!
You will not regret the decision to go out on the lagoon with Andrew (Captain Fantastic) and his lovely wife.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kbalnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Captain Fantastic is truly FANTASTIC!!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My mum and I had a glorious time with Captain Fantastic. We were just lucky to find out about him, as we were eating lunch at the takeaway store; right next door. When we met up with him we were greated and taken away in less than 30 seconds. On our way out, he was very helpful and considerate as my mum and I have never snorkelled before. His lunch that he prepared on honeymoon island was so delicious and unique. There were other people on the island, that was with another cruise and they had walked into a beautiful hut. So I walked in (as i was pretty much sun burnt hehe) to find Captain Fantastic preparing our lunch; therefore these people had to leave our beautiful hut, to go back into the heat and wait for their hosts (poor thing). The boat was also in full condition; it had a nice cover over the boat so you can sit in the shade. In comparisons to the other cruises I saw on the waters; they looked over crowded and had no shade. Those boats just looked like regular fishing boats. However, my experience with Captain Fantastic, was FANTASTIC!!! :) MUST GO

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Day Trip - Ever”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were recommend by fellow travellers to go with Kia Orana. They were definatley right. This would be the best day trip we have ever done. Small and personal service. Captain Fantasic - you really are. Being a small group met on the islands you could feel like you were the only ones alive, on the lagoon it ment that the beautiful giant clams, fish and coral was all yours to enjoy, without bumping into people. Truely the best way to see this magical place. Lunch was fantastic. Truley brillant alue for money. We are hoping to go back next year, but just fly in for the day to this cruise, thats how brillant it was. Please don't book with anyone else if you want to truely explore the lagoon and all it has to offer. Thank Kia Orana, see you next year.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nici3714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One Incredible Day”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We were supposed to go with another company luckily they were booked out otherwise we would of missed out on going with Kia Orana Cruises. There was only the 3 of us so it felt like a private charter. Captain Fantastic was great with his storytelling and singing we even brought the DVD. First we went to One Foot Island then we went onto snorkel on our way to Maina Island. CF dropped us off at Maina while they went over to Honeymoon Island to prepare our lunch. Walked the whole way around Maina felt like being on a deserted Island. Takes your breath away the scenery too perfect to be true. CF came back and got us for our Island lunch. Lovely island feast served on traditional island plates Cf serenaded us while we ate and he even sung Happy Birthday to me as it was my 50th. Had another swim in the crystal clear water before boarding the boat for our final destination we went snorkelling again and were joined by the largest Trevaly I have ever seen. I sat in the water and It circled around me very tame though would be scary it we weren't warned about it.

Headed back to the mainland tired and sunburnt but well worth it to have such an amazing day. Highly recommended a day with Captain Fantastic.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kia Orana also viewed

Amuri, Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Kia Orana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing