We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food we had on Aitutaki”

The Boat Shed Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Aitutaki
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best food we had on Aitutaki”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Everything was delish! The ika mata, garlic bread, salad, chips, deep fried ice cream, or was it banana...anyway it was good!

We all enjoyed a cocktail as well and they were rather strong!

Would recommend the Boatshed, but you might need to book first or do what we did and eat early!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ranz-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    216
    79
    31
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing dinner”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The place and staff are good but unfortunately the food was poor, our entrees arrived with the mains and th efish was overcooked and tasteless and other meals disappointing. Maybe just come for a drink.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dthomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So friendly!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The guys at the Boat Shed are great. Super friendly and always accommodating. Their Kumara chips and Ika Mata are fantastic and they have a great $10 range of cocktails. Their setting is great although do bring insect repellant as the sand flies are persistent!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EvBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good view but ...”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We visited the boat shed for lunch...
The view is awesome but at the end of the day, the food is not so spectacular like the view... fatty , big portions and pretty average.
Nothing of note

Helpful?
Thank ReebEztam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wish we hadn't waited until the last day.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ate here for lunch on our last day. Great food, ...and cocktail menu. Loved the interesting bits of history on the walls. Out of the places we ate, this was possibly one of the best on the island (for value, ambience and taste.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat Shed Bar & Grill also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Boat Shed Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing