We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very laid back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat Shed Bar & Grill

The Boat Shed Bar & Grill
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Polynesian, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very laid back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

This place was nice for a meal and a drink. It has a very laid back atmosphere and the staff were excellent

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    200
    74
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Having eaten at Samade on the Beach and received excellent food and service I was a little disappointed at The Boat Shed for the price I paid. I think the location, food and service were all better at Samade on the Beach, although The Boat Shed seems to be more popular as there were more people there. I think they offer a taxi service which maybe makes it more accessible...

Helpful?
Thank hannoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halton Hills, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice dinner at a nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Lovely presentation of the food. I enjoyed my dinner here. The menu offered something for everyone and the price was reasonable, too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scubakerryllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were staying at the Aitutaki Lagoon resort and spa. The lunch menu was getting a bit boring after a few days, so we headed over to the Boat Shed. While there, we met Steve, who used to run the resort, but now works at the Boat Shed. We spent a pleasant afternoon there, meeting the locals and having a few bevvies, which were much cheaper than at the resort. Steve was a wealth of information and quite good entertainment!! The lunch menu was limited, but still nice. I'm just sorry that I didn't go there for dinner. I loved how the locals drink there. The view is gorgeous. Highly recommended as a change from the resort food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jewel_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and awesome service (must go place)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We went back to The Boat Shed Bar & Grill again this year - more than once.

We had the Beef Rendang the first night - it was delicious and a huge serve.

The next night we came back again and had the Curried Prawns - awesome, awesome, awesome.

We went with 8 friends from Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa and EVERYONE loved it!

I would definitely recommend The Boat Shed Bar & Grill. The service is brilliant, in particular we love Princess - she is gorgeous and onto your every need!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fingalickingood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boat Shed Bar & Grill also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Boat Shed Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing