We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun fishing, great people”

Black Pearl Charters
Ranked #3 of 15 Tours in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep sea fishing, Private lagoon/snorkelling tours, spearfishing in Aitutaki.(All snorkelling is guided and includes the outer reef)
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun fishing, great people”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked our trip on Black Pearl via email based on trip advisor advice. Was very easy. Once we got to our place we were staying on Aitutaki, they notified us that Mike & Mere had already visited them and organised our pick up.

Had an excellent time - Mike & Mere are very accommodating. We originally booked half fishing / half snorkelling trip, but were having so much fun decided to keep fishing - was no worries (unfortunately I got sea sick an hour early and went in). Have heard the snorkelling is also a great time. We caught some GT's and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Mike is very entertaining with his stories.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachbum255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“The Best Part of Our Holiday”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was the best fishing charter and morning of our Holiday , Mike and Mere are wonderful hosts and really go out of their way to help you , I had a 1/2 fishing charter arranged and due to my partner, we re-arranged for some morning fishing and some snorkelling. sight seeing, The 1/2 day was a highlight of a 9 day Cook island trip. Mike was very capable, at providing some fun , (3X Yellow-fin Tuna and 5X SkipJack Tuna, with several Skipjack landed on light tackle ), Very exciting., At one point we had 4 Yellow Fin hooked up at once. but lost one Thank's Mike :-), Mere picked-up up my partner later in morning and we all met back at the harbour then went off for some snokelling , No mucking about with maybe visability , if the area was not crystal clear, they knew another spot. We had some great snorkelling both inside and outside the lagoon . Mere joined us and was able to highlight and explain items of interest (outside the lagoon was the most unbelievable when in 30 to 40 meters visability) and the colour so blue..., With some of the Skipjack caught earlier in the morning we fed the legendary "GT'S ", 30 kg monster Giant Trevally.Rather than a Group Lagoon cruise, pay a bit more and get the personal touch Thanks Mike and Mere I'LL be back

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Friendliest people in Aitutaki”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked through e-mail and from the email alone I could tell the tone of the snorkelling trip was going to be fun and friendly. Mere phoned our Hotel the day before and arranged to pick us up at 09:30. we met and were whisked off to the Black Pearl to meet Mike and load the supplies for lunch etc. We went straight out into the deep past the reef and snorkelled on the safe side of the breakers. Mere always swam with us and guided us around the underwater sites. One of the nice touches was to be given a chewy sweet after each dive to clear the salt taste from our mouths. We stopped at many other places including a massive ball of bait fish which we swan through. We also were shown massive clams, many wonderfully coloured sea fish and some very rare tropic birds. The highlight was being dropped on a sand bar and walking through the shallows to One Foot Island where lunch was served. What a lunch! Tuna, chicken, pork, sausages all freshly BBQ'd and then salads and bread and then pudding! Fantastic. All washed down with A beer and Mere even provided her own Mossie repellent.
We had a fantastic day, we were royally looked after and to say that Mike and Mere were excellent host/guides is not doing them justice.
Just book and see!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank corky617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mike and Mere -Black Pearl Charters #1”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have fished competatively for Marlin in Kona-owned a fishing lodge in British Columbia Canada and for the last 25 years have mainly fly fished.I had the pleasure of a charter with Mike and Mere of Black Pearl Charters Aitutaki .The boat is immaculate/safe and seaworthy.It was the first time in my life on a charter that a captain took the time to point out all of the safety features and equipment on the boat [and they have it all] as well as how to use them.A cell phone was also available with the numbers of fellow charter operators who would come to our aid in case of trouble.
The fishing equipment was top quality and condition.Mike was a blast with his stories and his fishing skills.Mere had prepared more food of great quality than we needed and it was hard to stop eating.Mike interupted the fishing for us so we could have a small snorkel and get to see the drop off.
Although I had long ago quit fishing Blue Water Mike rekindled this passion.

Please understand that I have nothing to gain from writing this but would enjoy it if someone else experienced this adventure.This is the first time in 65 years of fishing that I felt motivated to write a testamonial.
Thanks again Mike and Mere for making such a memorable time for me.
Sincerely, Keith Wilson MD FRCP{C}

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most professional knowledgable and caring fishing and snorkeling charter.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Mike and Mere's service was extremely professional, safety conscious and entertaining. They made us feel comfortable and relaxed by their homely attention to detail and friendly nature.
Lunch they prepared and shared could only be described as delicious. After catching Yellow Finn Tuna we were then delighted by the many speecies of underwater life living on the reef within the prestine lagoon of Aitutaki. This lagoon experience is like living in heaven. Paul and Maureen Harding Sydney Australia.

Helpful?
Thank Morningsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pearl Charters also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Black Pearl Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing