We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Rivals North America” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Tupuna

Cafe Tupuna
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Polynesian, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A la-carte Casual Fine Dining. Covered but in a garden setting. Fully Licensed. Open Monday to Saturday from 6pm. Major Credit Cards accepted.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Food Rivals North America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Given the high costs of food, transportation, and power, Cafe Tupuna does a remarkable job in providing high quality meals in an intimate setting for a reasonable price on Aitutaki. Found without difficulty on our moped, we were well received despite not having reservations and enjoyed one 3 course meal and a la carte entree, with beverages for $80 NZD.

We thoroughly enjoyed watching the Head Chef and her entourage create in their professional kitchen, and the server was prompt and professional. Cafe Tupuna's is in a garden setting with a sand floor. Bugs are to expected, especially given the rain showers after an extensive drought. Although mosquito coils are a-glow, we still recommend a few squirts of bug spray.

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and we regret not returning for a 2nd meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yukon Landcruis... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    95
    31
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“unique dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Sand floors, moku (the local laughing lizards,harmless) awesome fresh food I'm never in a hurry for the experience to be over.
I do have to say though having read through some of the other reviews that if you want things like home, holiday at home. the Island and its people have their own rhythm of life no one is in a hurry and if you are there on holiday you should'nt be either, just relax. the only other advice i have is book, you will be dissapointed if you don't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank madkeenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It was okay, but not sure what all the fuss is about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Went here after hearing so many rave reviews. While it was a really nice setting and the food was okay, it really wasn't anything to write home about. The service was fine and the beers were cold. Prices reasonable. Take it or leave it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointed about this place! We were looking to visiting Tupuna's after hearing good things about the food. However, we were astonished by the rudeness and complete lack of professionalism demonstrated by the proprietor after a simple misunderstanding about a reservation time. I can only imagine they believe they can get away with this behavior simply because of the limited eating options on the island and that the majority of their customers are tourists unlikely to return. It is such a pity because everyone else we encountered in Aitutaki was so friendly and welcoming. I highly recommend against giving this establishment your business.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Alej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupuna S, Owner at Cafe Tupuna, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
The FACTS are that via your accommodation reception you were requested to be ready for a Pick Up at 7pm. Between 7-10 and 7-15 the (Independent) Transport Owner phoned that he could not find the Guests, had been waiting approx. 10min. and had other guests on board who were becoming agitated at the wait. We agreed that he should leave at that point. Some 15 min. later you phoned and after much discussion with our staff and myself, you refused to accept our explanation and apologies.
Tupunas Restaurant does not have its own Transport and relies on Independent operators for those guests who need assistance with transport.
Tupuna (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must do dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Dined here near the end of a beautiful 10 day Aitutaki fishing trip and only wish we had discovered this wonderful place sooner. Luckily we were taken there by a local and were told it was unusually quiet for a Friday night, but the lovely ambience, stunning food in a beautiful setting was the highlight of our dining experience during our stay. The medium hot fish curry was superb! This was a wonderful dining experience and I cannot recommend Cafe Tupuna highly enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Tupuna also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Cafe Tupuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing