We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Heaven”
Review of Cafe Tupuna

Cafe Tupuna
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Aitutaki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A la-carte Casual Fine Dining. Covered but in a garden setting. Fully Licensed. Open Monday to Saturday from 6pm. Major Credit Cards accepted.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Food Heaven”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived on our bike (as many others had) and was surprised to see sand floors and all open to the 'great outdoors'! So romantic with soft music playing - so different!! We were greeted with a big smile and menus. Soursop cocktail was so yummy!!! Whilst trying to decide our meal choices we had garlic bread - not the ususal one piece per person! We had 3 slices each!!!
For main meals we both had fish - fresh tuna wrapped in a banana leaf and the other in a coconut with mango and spices both served with individual salads and rice! The food is OUTSTANDING.The portions were extremely generous and beautifully presented!
When leaving we saw Tapuna again (met when we booked) and she was SO pleased we'd made it 'up the hill in the dark'!
This is the BEST place to eat on Aitutaki and given the quality, presentation and atmosphere the price is more than resonable.
Book a table and GO you will NOT be disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trina027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    97
    34
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indio, California
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Place for Relaxed Dinner”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I like the sand floors, the free pick up and return, the expensive but worth it mud crab and the other fresh and tasty items on the menu. Best restaurant on Aitutaki

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank themccullochclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I had the mud crab and it was just magic”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The place is definitely a must do if you make if to Aitutaki, the food (the mud crab) was mint, and he service is just down to earth. I have to agree that you do not go here for the wine list but hey it's Aitutaki after all! Get along if you can and don't forget to book!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brendonford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Highly recommend you book ahead and get the crabs as they are a pre-book item. The rest of the food was amongst the best we've eaten on the cook islands. It was because of a recommendation from Lilly at Air Rarotonga that we went and we were impressed. Great value for money. Dont expect a lavish wine list though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahurangi West, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious chilli lime fish”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The daiquiri cocktails and chilli lime fish starter were our faves. The tuna main was excellent, personally we weren't so keen on the wahoo main but then I think that's only because we are spoilt with fresh fish in New Zealand. A brilliant experience, highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Tupuna also viewed

Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
Aitutaki, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Cafe Tupuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing