We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful!”
Review of Atiu Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atiu Villas
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Atiu
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Upon arriving at Atiu Villas and seeing how gorgeous my villa was, and how beautiful the island was, I immediately changed my flights so that I could stay a while longer here. The villas and surrounds are absolutely stunning! Beautiful landscaping, a lovely pool to swim in at the end of a day exploring the island, and delicious dinners. The villas themselves are amazing and have everything you could possibly wish for. I only wish I could have stayed longer. Tip for anyone planning to spend 'a couple of nights' on Atiu: 2 nights isn't nearly enough. 4 or 5 nights is more like it!

Room Tip: Villa 6 is divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our second visit to Atiu Villas, we didn’t stay long enough the first time, and even though we stayed 4 nights this time, it still wasn't long enough. Kura and Roger are the perfect hosts, warm and helpful, with great evening meals and drinks in the pavilion and Kura's kitchen. The villas and grounds are simply paradise, lush gardens, peaceful tranquillity, and even a pool added since our last visit. The experience of riding round the island and walking on beaches totally on your own, without even any footprints is divine, especially on Sunday after experiencing the spirited a cappella singing in the beautiful CACC church . This time we even went reef fishing, after visiting the caves and the bird-man George tour last time. Lots to do if you want, but just perfect for chilling out too. Great wifi access if you want this while you’re on holiday. If you stay for a few days, the lower cost of the villas compared to Aitutaki or Rarotonga will pay for the airfare. We’ll be back!

Room Tip: Villas five and six at the boottom of the garden are the newest, and enjoy the most privavcy, but al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg48Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent three nights at Atiu Villas in July, 2012. The bungalows are set in the most beautiful tropical gardens. It was everything we could have hoped for and only wish we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed it all. Thank you to Roger and his staff for taking care of us. You are the best!

If you are looking for an amazing adventure - Atiu is the place. The secluded beaches are breath-taking and the cave tour was worth every minute of the challenging hike. The island is paradise and you can spend entire days without ever seeing another person!! No paved roads - no restaurants, resorts or shopping malls - just friendly people and natural beauty everywhere you go!! The home-cooked dinners each evening were the best. We will be back.

A special thank you to Tree Ritchie at South Seas Adventure for taking care of every travel detail of our vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms are very rustic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveandSandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Like some of the other reviews, Atiu was our favourite island in Cook Islands. We were there in January for 3 nights. The island was so unique, relaxing and everyone was so friendly. We fell in love with the place the moment we landed, and it's just somewhere you've got to be to experience it.

Roger, Kura and Einstein the cat were great hosts. Coffee from Atiu is fantastic and Roger can organise all your tours. You can also hire an inexpensive scooter from Roger and tour around at your own pace.

If you are planning a trip to Cook Islands and want to escape the beaten tourist track, add Atiu to the list!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alphaleo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The previous reviewer took the title "Natural Paradise" I was going to use! This was hands down my favourite place in the Cook Islands and I wish we could have stayed longer, next time we will. I am an avid birder and attracted by the gorgeous Rimatara Lorikeets (Kura) which have been recently re-introduced to Atiu and are thriving! The villas are gorgeous, very tropical in design and surrounded by lush vegetation which attract hungry lorikeets at times. The food is actually very reasonable and we would have been happy to use the pre-stocked cupboards if we hadn't already had left over tinned food from Aitutaki. Roger is a great bloke and puts on a nice mini-tour from the airport and gave us beautiful fragrant eis. Free wifi is a bonus, no other place in the Cooks gave us this little bonus!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tikibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have just returned from the Cook Islands where we spent the first half of our holiday on Atiu as guests at the wonderful Atiu Villas. The 6 villas are set in lush tropical gardens and are set out in a way that provide a quiet private retreat. Whilst the resort is not 5 star luxury, it provides things that many accommodations don't. These being great hospitality, plenty of opportunities to socialise with other guests and staff at the communal dining table and around the pool, homestyle meals and Roger, an excellent host and manager.

Now for practicalities - note first that Atiu is a remote island that relies on supplies by cargo ship every 5 weeks, and smaller cargo by daily plane - so life is a little simpler and more self reliant - no luxury spa's or big shopping centres here! If that's your thing, this is not for you. However, if you want to have a closer experience with the island and the locals - this is definitely the place!

The Villa we stayed in had a king and single bed, and a loft bed as well, a kitchenette with toaster, gas stove, and bar fridge. There is an ensuite with shower and toilet - hot water by solar panel. No air conditioning but there was a ceiling fan in the main room. The cupboards and fridge are stocked with basic foods - breakfast cereals, eggs, drinks, canned food and light lunch supplies - record what you take and pay at the end of your stay.There are a couple of small shops in the nearby village for other supplies - variety is limited however. A picnic table on the verandah looking over the gardens is where we would eat our breakfast and lunch. Most nights dinner is available at the resort. Roger will book you into the local tours if you want and will organise an island night by co-ordinating with other guests, including those staying elsewhere. The island night is a wonderful family gathering of the local villagers, singing, dancing and music - unpretentious and warmly welcoming.

All in all, our stay at the Atiu Villas has provided us with wonderful memories and we hope to return soon!

Thanks to Roger, and Andrew (barman and fishing guide) and our tour guides, Marshall, Birdman George and Juergen and Andrea.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0belly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

There is not a lot to do on Atiu, but this is a good thing. There are only about 400 people on the island and it is very laid back. Atiu Villas are probably the best accommodation option on the island. The rooms are a bit dated, but still comfortable. The fridge and cupboard are fully stocked and you pay for what you use - which is good as there are not a lot of food options on the island. There is a restaurant at Atiu Villas and the food is basic island fare - but very good! Alcohol options are plentiful and cheap. The best thing about Atiu is the ability to grab a motorbike and go exploring this fascinating island. If you want to do activities while you are there, contact Roger at Atiu Villas before hand - otherwise you may not be able to do it at the last minute. The pool is nice to relax in at the end of the day - but beware of mosquitoes! they are everywhere on this island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joeschwaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atiu Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atiu Villas

Address: 7 Box | Areora, Cook Islands (Formerly Atiu Motel)
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Atiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Atiu
Price Range: $121 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atiu Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atiu Villas is located on Atiu Island at the edge of a central plateau overlooking a tropical garden, pineapple fields, jungle and has distant views down a valley of the Pacific Ocean. The villas are built in the native style out of polished native timbers of mango, mahogany, red peanut, cedar and coconut in 6 well separated villas and includes a villa suitable for families. A tour desk, restaurant, bar, entertainment area, swimming pool, floodlit tennis court, property wide free Wifi, rental bicycles, scooters and car are all available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atiu Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing