We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Lights!”
Review of Boreal Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coldfoot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boreal Lodge
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Northern Lights!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This lodge is located in Wiseman, a few miles north of coldfoot and is very nice and clean. The kitchen was well equipped and bathrooms very clean. We just needed to step out of our rooms for seeing the northern lights!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrinalini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After several conversations with Heidi the owner, I was willing to atempt to drive the Dalton Highway. She said that although I am from NYC i could handle this highway. She was right. I drove up from Fairbanks. Road is a mixture of packed dirt, gravel, and pavement but very driveble. Stopped at Coldfoot and was very happy i was not staying there. Drove the next 13 miles, then the small road by the creek to get to the village, and found our way to the actual lodge. Was greated by Heidi, who showed us where the restrooms were etc. Restrooms were shared but that was never a problem. Room and restrooms were very clean. We left for breakfast and when we returned our room was already cleaned! This is not a luxury NYC hotel, but a rustic cabin within the arctic circle. Couldn't ask for a better one! We left a day early due to bad weather was forcasted and she refunded half our money which we thought was more than fair. Thanks Heidi! We would definetly stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1LGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

As a motorcycle tour company bring UK and European bikers over to the US we always look for clean, rustic accommodation with value and this ticks every box. The rooms are small but cosy enough and the shared bathrooms are really clean. The kitchen area is a good meeting place for the 10 of us on each trip but the DVD selection could do with improving a little :-). It's 16 miles north of Coldfoot so make sure you fuel there and grab some food as there are only snacks available at Boreal. Much nicer and better value than Coldfoot camp but I would advise a call ahead as space is limited. Wiseman itself is a fascinating little place and worth the time to walk around and explore. Great job Heidi and we will be back in 2013

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The accommodations were rustic but wonderful. The place was clean as clean could be and very comfortable. The bathrooms although shared, were immaculate. We would definitely stay here again. Great job Heidi, your lodge is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristiana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We rode our motorcycles up the Dalton Highway this summer, 2011 and were told about this Lodge by some fellow ADV riders. Much better than the Coldfoot accommodations and half the price. Only about 13 miles north of Coldfoot and 3 miles off the Dalton and you get a wonderful host family, clean facilities and just a nice place to stay warm for the night en-route to Deadhorse. Don't expect cook meals but the main Lodge has some canned goods and staple foods for you to buy. Coldfoot is not far away if yo must have someone cook for you.

There is a shared kitchen that you can use and it is stocked with pots and pans, even coffee for you to make in the morning. No WIFI unless you are in the main lodge. Just FYI.

Highly recommend this place over Coldfoot not only for the price but the location. Oh, not many rooms, only 5 and a cabin so maybe call a head to make sure they have room.

Room Tip: There is no swimming poor which is not a big deal at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatormandan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We went here on one of our stops on our Alaska honeymoon trip. We stayed in the lodge which hass two twin beds. Surprisingly, the beds were more comfortable than we thought. It was a nice stay with Coldfoot only 12 miles away for food and fuel.

Room Tip: Try to get the cabin if available. It has a larger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatormandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I thought a "lodge" would also offer meals. When we arrived we found out that they didn't. So we drove 60 miles (RT) to get to a place to eat. When we returned after dinner we found out that they DO sell some minimal amounts of canned and packaged food in their little office/store.

The bathroom for the room we rented is in its own separate building, but this was ok in mid-summer. Overall we were very pleased, and especially appreciated the hike recommended by owner Heidi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boreal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boreal Lodge

Property: Boreal Lodge
Address: 1 Timberwolf Trail, Wiseman Village, Coldfoot, AK 99790
Location: United States > Alaska > Coldfoot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Coldfoot
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Boreal Lodge Coldfoot, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing