We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coldfoot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coldfoot Camp - Slate Creek Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Coldfoot B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2013

As many have indicated, this is not the Ritz. But if you want to experience Arctic Alaska and the community of truckers that drive up and down the "haul road" (aka Dalton Highway), this is the place to go. We spent two nights there and while the room is quite basic, the whole experience was amazing. Dave was the best guide we could have had and really made our experience what it was. All of the staff went above and beyond, but we spent the most time with him. He even drove us back to Fairbanks when a snowstorm grounded the plane that was supposed to come get us. The driving was hairy, but we were in great hands. If you go there you HAVE to take advantage of all that is offered. Ride a dogsled, go to Wiseman for the Aurora (and hopefully you will have a chance to visit with Jack - a longtime resident of Wiseman and about the most interesting man you will meet). Take the tour up the Dalton to Atigun Pass. Oh, and eat the Tator Tots at the Trucker's Cafe - it will bring back memories of childhood!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank counselme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 92 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went to see the northern lights. The Inn was as advertised. The room was clean, comfortable, and most important......warm. The staff at the Inn and the Coldfoot truck stop/restaurant were very nice. They never let us know if they tired of our endless questions about life in northern Alaska.
The food at the restaurant was excellent. The prices were a little on the high side but not unreasonable considering what it takes to get it there.
The scenery was beautiful. We enjoyed the trip to see the lights from Wiseman. One of our favorite parts of the trip was the dog sled ride. Just walking around the area was an experience.
Weather blocked the lights but we did see them from Fairbanks on this trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

this was our stop for the night on our way to prudeau Bay.
The rooms might be a bit sparse but the food for all our meals was great lots of fresh vegetaables and stuff
They packed our picnic lunch for the stop later inteh day and everything was great.There a great visitor cents walking distance great speaker and a great place ina the middle of no where.
The room we had was clean.
The staff all friendly and helpful.
Do not go expecting a 4 star hotel, but remeber what part of the country yu are in and enjoy the beauty no mater what time of the year yu are there

Room Tip: any one is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruzzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went knowing it wasn't going to be a Hilton or even a Motel 8. But we wanted to see the northern lights and that we did! We saw amazing lights while there.
The rooms left much to be desired and they could with out much trouble fix them up. Even a coat of paint would help and fixing broken bathroom doorknobs. But we didn't go to be pampered. We end looking for Aurora's.
The staff was very kind and always working hard to please. You could tell they loved where they were and wanted to share that love with others.
The food was outstanding but was way over priced.
There was no internet for visitors. I would be nice if at least they had some place where you could log in to check the weather or the Aurora forcasts.
Would I go back? Yes in a heart beat I would!

Room Tip: Don't go expecting a nice hotel. Take snack along so you can skip an over priced meal or 2. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Djlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We made our third trip to Coldfoot Camp to hunt Auroras (Northern Lights) with great success this month (February 2013).

The first thing to know is that this place was built to support the builders of the Alaskan Pipeline and the Dalton Highway. It is NOT meant to be a vacation place. Do not expect luxury.

For that matter, you won't have cell phone coverage (there is a pay phone) and there is not internet available at all. There is a TV in the bar and in the 'common' room in the lodging building.

What you do get is a room with a couple of twin beds, a private shower, sink and toilet.

The beds are reasonably comfortable and there are enough blankets.

The shower is not huge, but the water pressure is great and you can have it as hot and long as you want.

The rooms are well heated, which is quite important. On this last trip, it actually reached zero (Fahrenheit) for a couple of hours one day. Most days were -10 to -20 during the day and as low as -28 (that we observed) at night. On a previous trip in November 2011, it was down to -40 one day during the day and much colder at night.

The cafe and bar provide good food and good enough beer (nothing on tap). The serving sizes are quite plentiful and the food is well prepared. They do some of the best french fries around (anywhere). The menu is not large. (Everything comes in by truck from 250 miles away at Fairbanks.)

Everyone working there is highly motivated to keep you happy. If there are any problems with your room (heating, for instance), they work quickly to fix it and serve you with a smile and great attitude.

It is about the best place in North America to see Auroras. When they are active, they appear almost directly over Coldfoot Camp. The only source of light polution is Coldfoot Camp itself and it doesn't really hurt the viewing and photographing.

I gave it an excellent rating on location because it is the best place for the only reason a tourist would go there - to see the Auroras.

If you go during the winter, remember to bring lots of layers to keep warm and to block the wind. And bring boots, because there will be snow.

Going during the summer to see Auroras is not recommended. One of the requirements to see them is a dark sky. Since Coldfoot Camp is 60 miles above the Arctic Circle, there is no dark in the middle of the summer at all, and very little around the edges. Starting about late September and ending about late March is the time frame you would want to go for Aurora hunting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed her as part of 3 night drive up the Dalton Highway and onwards to Barrow with Northern Alaska Tours. The accomodation provided for our needs, in that it was clean,warm and had an en-suite shower/toilet. You don't travel this road if you are looking for luxury but if you are looking for adventure and fantastic scenery this is the place to come. After all the nearest town is 250 miles away.
the Inn was built as prefabricated accomodation for construction workers in the 1970's which have been updated with en-suite units.
Food is provided across in the truck stop, we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food provided at breakfast and dinner. It was all freshley prepared from scratch including home baking. it consisted of a buffet style self service, you could help yourself to what you wanted. Sit in the bar area if you want to avoid the truckers smoking.
If you go in the summer wear boots, we were glad we did as the large area between the Inn and truckers stop can be deep mud.
If it is open make a vist to the National Park Visitor Centre which is close by.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room near the launderette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Coldfoot Camp is essentially a truck stop on the Dalton Highway. There is a cafe for guests and a reserved section which reads TRUCKERS ONLY. Get the picture? Anyway, the accommodation is about a 120 metre walk from the cafe over a carpark which is frozen in winter. The inn looks like it was pre-fabricated out of componet parts and then fastened together to make a building. Each module is a separate room. Long corridors link the rooms and the common area waiting room near the entry doors.. The common areas are carpeted but there is no mistaking that you are living in what was probably designed as temporary workers' accommodation.

Rooms themselves are clean, tidy, cosy. Distinctive fake wood panelling throughout. Bathrooms are good, they actually look newer than the rooms, plenty of hot water, clean and well maintained. Beds are comfortable but are all single, so no good for honeymooners. Bed linen clean, spare pillows and blanket in the wardrobe. Fake wood panelling not the best building material for sound insulation so beware of eavesdropping neighbours.

There is a themostat to turn up or down the heat in the corridoor, but it seems like one controller affects the temperature in your room and maybe one or two adjoining rooms that arwe covered by that section of ducting. So you might find yourself in a cold war/hot war with your neighbours (sorry about the bad joke there, reader).

The cafe shop sells basics like soap and deodorant (thanks, truckers) and counter meals are available most of the time. The only really annoying thing is that truckers have a tendency to smoke in their exclusive section and there's nothing worse than clouds of cigarette smoke to accompany your hot breakfast. Yep.

So the Camp is really just a glorified pitstop for truckers in the wilderness, but it does have everything you need. It is comfortable but not fancy. Just outside the camp is a street sign on the Dalton Highway that reads "NEXT SERVICES 240 MILES" so you really are isolated and miles from anyone. If you can get your head around that fact, you really can't complain about amenity. Yes, there might be a few small B&B's 12 miles up the road in Wiseman, but there's more to see and do at the truckstop! (And at a much more reasonable price).

There is very limited cell phone reception and no wifi etc for internet, so leave your ipad at home. But walk out the back door on a clear night and you will struck by the beauty of the aurora above your head. This is the main reason you would stay here, and it is worth it. You can do day tours and go dog sledding and visit the dogs whenever you like - working animals but very friendly! And the general area is so naturally beautiful, it is worthwhile amking the trip to and from Coldfoot Camp.

Room Tip: They're all identical so just take whatever you get. (Maybe ones facing away from the petrol bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dutyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coldfoot Camp - Slate Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coldfoot Camp - Slate Creek Inn

Address: Mile 175, Dalton Hwy, Coldfoot, AK 99708
Location: United States > Alaska > Coldfoot
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Coldfoot
Price Range: $165 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 133
Also Known As:
Slate Creek Inn Coldfoot Camp Hotel Coldfoot
Coldfoot Camp - Slate Creek Inn Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing