We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahaa
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This place is unbelievably beautiful! Located on a motu with a wonderful view.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable, huge balcony, very charming decoration.
Loved their swimming pool. They have a good bar by the pool, with many options of cocktails.
They have 3 restaurants. One of them is a gourmet restaurant called Ohiri, which is great! There are only 4 tables, so you should book in advance.
Breakfast is really good!
Staff very helpful, very friendly.
There is a wonderful coral garden where you can go snorkeling.
It was an amazing experience!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natalia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    201
    72
    36
    24
See reviews for
138
1,040
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

If you want somewhere quiet where you can do some paddling / kayaking and really awsome snorkelling all free of charge then this place is fantastic. When we were there there was even a well-know hollywood star staying! That just says it all. It's really isolated.
Go for a massage at the spa, the staff are well trained. Breakfast is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, LA
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Now I know what it means to stay in a Relais and Chateau property-WOW! We were greeted by the manager, Julian, who was also there to tell us goodbye when we left-the whole staff was just over the top in service excellence. We were given a nice minty lime drink and taken on a tour of the property and offered an upgrade to a beach villa in honor of our wedding anniversary. It was huge and very nice, but we opted to keep our overwater bungalow-how many times do you get to stay in an OWB in your life? We were very happy with our choice, but our bungalow was not in deep water-we heard many people say they saw manta rays and octopus in the deeper water. However, we were seldom in our room, and we did see baby sharks when we threw bread in the water from the coffee table, so no big deal. We stayed in Moorea and Bora Bora as well, but Tahaa just seemed more truly Polynesian. A lot of the management staff live at the resort, like the manager, the activity director and the awesome pastry chef.

Every evening we got a treat-the first night we were sent champagne and our bed was decorated, the second night we were sent an unbelievable chocolate praline cake(we had the same cake the night before and I had complimented the pastry chef and told him it was the best dessert I had ever had), and the third night we found Tahaa vanilla beans waiting after dinner. The first night our dinner was complimentary as well-all in honor of our 35 wedding anniversary!

We had one issue with our first night dinner, where we believe the order was lost. When the dinner finally arrived it was not hot. I spoke to the manager and he was so upset that I was sorry I complained. Everyone apologized and the next night we were sent glasses of champagne with our dessert. Our food at our other dinners was all spectacular. We thought breakfast was divine-all of the breads, pastries are made by the chef and the madelaines- god, I lost count of how many I ate.

To snorkel in the best location here, go past the pool, keep walking all the way down to the end of the motu, where the rock is volcanic-slip in and let the current take you back to the resort. Be careful here- there are some very shallow spots-it is easier with water shoes, not fins, and be sure to wear a rash guard to protect your skin from the coral. There is nothing worse than a coral injury, except maybe a foot stabbed bye a sea urchin and there are many here. They hide under the rocks and have long black spines. Bring a little bread with you and as you swim along you will be surrounded by beautiful fish of every kind and description.

We ventured into town one afternoon-my advice-do not waste your time if you are going for water or wine. They give you 2 waters every day at the resort and you can fill them up for free in the fitness center-which is very nice by the way. It has lots of elliptical machines, treadmills, balls and weights and overlooks a lovely lagoon. Anyway, the store has a VERY limited selection of wine- I am talking Carlo Rossi here in a jug. There are a few chips for snacks, no toiletries(not that you need any). The only thing I bought was a Diet Coke for $1.75 since they were $4.00 at Tahaa. Wine at Tahaa was $10.00-$12.00 per glass and the glasses were very generous-we just stopped worrying about it.

One night we ventured out to Chez Louise for dinner. It is not for you if you need fancy every night-this is a true cultural experience(see separate review). One hint-bring your own wine here-hers is not good. We brought some of those small wines with us from home and kept the little bottles-we ordered wine from the resort, poured it into the little bottles, put them in my purse and voila!

We went on a circle island tour with Dave Antinui and he was wonderful and knowledgeable.(see separate review). I highly recommend this tour. The vanilla plantation was so very interesting and the views were gorgeous. We got great deals on pearls at the Love Pearl farm.

This was an awesome resort, beautiful and with unbelievable service. The island of Tahaa is absolutely stunning. If you asked me to choose between Tahaa and Bora Bora-I just couldn't.

Room Tip: Ask for bungalow over deep water if you want to see lots of fish under your bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LATaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We loved our 10-day stay at Le Taha'a, and are ready to come back as soon as we can!
The location and service are spectacular, you feel like you're in heaven, and taken care of for all you may want in a relaxed and luxurious way. Hats off to the superb General Manger Julien Bressolles-- who (on several occasions) went the extra mile to take care of us!! He has somehow managed to have an ambiance that feels REAL and "of Tahiti" (entirely non-corporate), populated with the sweetness of the Tahitian people and French people on the staff (we grew to know and enjoy MANY of the wonderful staff!!) , yet every efficiency is spot-on. No small task for a very remote paradise!! We stayed in an end of pontoon OWB (thank you to Claudia at "Pacific For Less" for your guidance, and for the many other great perks and discounts PFL provided!)...the OWB was completely private! While being worried at first-- that 10 days could be too long and somehow boring....au contraire... we adventured on some days and stayed on site for others and could have happily stayed another 10 days!!! We liked the food options (consider that you're in the middle of nowhere, + I'm a vegetarian), the activities offered (Maire was great! Samuel for snorkeling+!), and the Polynesian dancing nights on Tuesdays! We did stay at St. Regis Bora Bora on this trip, and while it was wonderful (particularly in the generous and comfy rooms & excellent breakfast buffet!)--it was very tamed/Disney. We've traveled to many tropical islands before, I would come back to Le Taha'a first and always if I could! Very small downsides (in the interest of balance): Everything in Tahiti is expensive (of course!), the WIFI should be free of charge at Le Taha'a, the coffee at breakfast REALLY needs to be better (!!) --so glad we had an espresso maker in the room--and you may want to bring your own trusted shampoo + conditioner because the combo product in the room was horrible for my hair. Small things...small things indeed in the face of paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9-- OWB end of pontoon for ultimate privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gtrdiva58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Le Taha’a is a quiet, cozy resort. Not much goes on, which is exactly what we like. Our room was perfect - we had an end unit OWB and the view was spectacular. While I rate the breakfast low, the rest of our meals were delicious!! We ate at The Ohiri one night - and it was fantastic! I had veal and it was melt-in-your mouth yummy. We also did a cooking lesson with the chef one day at noon, then ate the lunch we fixed. Well worth it. We did an island tour which included lunch - ending the day at Le Taha’a’s Coral Garden - and it was one of the highlights of our trip. This was a fast current coral garden, so you walk a ways up to the opening, and let the water take you. We saw 2 moray eels among all the beautiful coral and fish. It was PHENOMENAL. They have a nice pool (we never used). Important to me is: they have a hairdryer, safe, white bedding and a great-working air conditioner. Of the three islands we visited during our stay, this was my favorite…something about it. Oh and Ashton & Mila were there too! HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyGrambau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We wanted to enjoy 2 different islands during our trip to Tahiti, so stayed at the St Regis Bora Bora and Le Taha'a. They are completely different - but there is a warmth and true Tahitian flair at Le Taha'a - and was a great addition to our holiday. I would have been happy to bring the kids to this resort (not the first) ... we were there in May, so perhaps 50% occupancy - the place would feel really full at 100% occupancy.

We had a lovely sunset overwater villa - the picture window and the fish feeding boxes from the bedroom were great additions to the room. In fact, throughout the resort, there are so many 'little' touches that make it a really charming hotel.

The drift snorkeling in the coral garden is exceptional and so accessible - basically you walk up the side of the motu (small island) and then walk into the channel between 2 motu and the current takes you back towards the hotel and you get to 100s and 100s of different corals and fish en route. BRILLIANT.

The overland tour of Taha'a island with a local guide is a MUST. The activities desk can organise it for you. This trip was a bit of a highlight for us in the trip - and in seeing some more 'real' Tahiti vs the tourist hotels and locations.

The food at Le Taha'a is great ... the creme brulee was a favourite, along with the simple Mahi Mahi burger.

The spa service was brilliant - we had a 'vanilla' couples massage and foot scrub. I'd definitely recommend the spa, and it is set in a charming location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We decided to go to Le Taha'a on the advice of a friend / travel agent, Lisa Corso of Tahiti Legends. Last year we stayed at Le Meridian in Bora Bora, very nice, and we intended to go back, but Le Taha'a is another step up. From the moment we stepped off the boat we were greeted with heart felt hospitality. The resort manager, Julian, set the standard and his staff lived up to it. Most staff members seemed to know us by name and bungalow number. It was as if they had put an invisible name tag on us that only they could see. Every staff person we met went out of their way to make sure we had the most unbelievable stay possible. Island beauty was something you could only dream about before arriving here. Bungalows and villas are superbly decorated and furnished. Last year I paid a lot to go out one time swimming in the reef and saw a few fish, this year I walked to the end of the lagoon a few times each day and saw thousand of fish in their coral garden. Last year I also paid to go swimming with the sharks and rays, This year I saw them swimming under the bungalow. This is the place to loose all your stresses and worries. Can't say enough good things about it.
I read the review titled "Beautiful Island" and had a completely different experience. I don't mind kids at all, but in the 6 days we were there did not see any. We paid for our meals ahead of time, except for drinks, so I guess we received a better rate. I would say that this resort is better suited for adults, rather than children, but I know one couple we talked with said they would return next year with their children. There were no canoe races when we were there, although that would have just added to the experience, but I would say if that would bother you, when making reservations, check and ask the desk or travel agent if something special is going on.
So glad I went, definitely going again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanarnone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahaa
12.4 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
11.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,574 reviews
12.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
13.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
14.6 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Property: Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing