We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Le Taha'a for our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in overwater bungalow #39, which was close to the sunset side. It's much more beautiful than our water bungalow in Moorea. Not even a comparison. The staff who greeted us were very helpful and very friendly. The manager Jean Michelle had amazing hospitality talent... as he always greeted us at breakfast, saw us throughout the day asking how things were, and made sure we had a fun night!
We arrived here after spending 5 nights in Moorea... spent 6 nights at Le Taha'a and spent New Year's Eve there. It's a very quiet island, so not many people stayed out past 10pm, which was very odd since it was NYE. They had a beautiful firework display off their beach and it was more than we anticipated. Champagne was flowing from the staff and we had an amazing night!
The gym was always clean and decorated with fresh flowers every morning, which we definitely noticed. The water surrounding the island was breathtakingly blue! The grounds were kept absolutely perfect and the team were very nice when we passed by them.
There were a lot more children and families there in the pool than we were expecting though, which is nothing bad to say about the hotel, it's just not so "adult" friendly as we thought it was going to be. We figured there would be more couples there since it looked so romantic online... not the case. We took Dave's tour on the main island to take us to the vanilla fields... Dave is absolutely wonderful and we would recommend him to everyone. We also did the lagoon excursion and swam with reef sharks and sting rays... I recommend this trip to anyone who is planning on going to tahiti in general. Very exciting and bless our captain who I just loved, I can't remember his name... but he played the ukelele driving us around on the boat and he was just the happiest guy in the world.
I see that people are griping over the food... it's true, there isn't much to choose from. First night we did the beach buffet bar b q. Not a fan of buffet style like this anyway, so it was just ok as we were getting eating alive by mosquitos... flies do attack food often there too, so buffet is just not really our cup of tea. We did try the Vanilla restaurant and it was much better. Risotto and parrot fish were pretty good. Food is VERY expensive in tahiti, so plan on spending a lot of money. We also did the fine dining restaurant that only took 4 tables per night. Very overpriced... but delicious. I'm sure getting ingredients is much harder over there, so that's probably their argument. My husband and I live in LA, so we are use to gourmet meals, spending money on fine dining... so that field was a little disappointing to us because of all the prices. Breakfast was our highlight every morning. The staff who took care of us every morning were so nice to be around.
The priciest thing at the resort besides the food was the usage of wave runner/jet skies. It was actually embarrassingly overpriced. We had no idea how much it would be, we just kind of signed up for it as we saw them bobbing in the water by the pool. Turns out it was $250 + for the hour! We didn't even get our own, we did tandem and had an instructor take us to guided areas. I couldn't believe the bill when we checked out. Drinks were very pricey and didn't have a ton of alcohol... so we recommend getting alcohol at the market on the main island when you get there and then drinking in your bungalow throughout the day to avoid copious amounts of fancy pool drinking. The bartender at the pool seemed like it was a nuisance for her to be there.. we would be scared ordering drinks AND food for her. It all seemed so much for her to do both and would get frazzled at our requests. She needs to be reassigned pronto because she just looks miserable. Not just one day... but every day we were there. Other couples (3 of them) have all said the same thing as well. Maybe she had a bad week... someone else on these reviews said she was nice... I can't even imagine, so you never know.. everyone else was so pleasant it was kind of annoying to be around someone so sour...
Internet is nearly non-existent, unless you logged on in the lobby. It took us about 20 min to log on from our room, which took up so much vacation time... better to just not let that frustrate you... and just plan to do all emails in morning in lobby after breakfast or something. Our 5 hours were killed off in 2 days because logging off, you need reception as well and sometimes we just wouldn't be able to log off until we made that 6 min walk to the lobby. I do like that it forces yourself to be disconnected the the real world... I'm just forewarning.
But overall this place is magical and we would love to come back maybe on our way next time to Bora Bora. I would come back just to say hello to Jean Michelle and stay a couple nights in overwater bungalow. Definitely bring your water socks... the last day I was there I jumped off our deck without them and gashed my foot on some coral, which made for miserable trip home.
Thank you to Le Taha'a for making our honeymoon so very special and memorable. It will hold a special place in our hearts forever.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to pool and snorkeling... ask for a room in the lower digits... the higher y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CamellaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's freezing cold in NYC right now and I am drifting back to the recent honeymoon me and my wife took to French Polynesia. We had initially been resistant to the idea of traveling so far and spending so much, but realizing it would be a once in a lifetime opportunity we did some further research and found Pacific For Less which is a travel agency that specializes in trips to the South Pacific. Through our own input and the experience from Jennifer (this company visits and audits each resort). We were able to develop a great itinerary with her and get everything for a lot less money than booking through each hotel. We chose Le Taha'a as our first stop and had an amazing time.

The water in the Society Islands is ridiculous. It is so blue that each time we stepped out of our over water bungalow we said "wow". It is the only place I have been too where I can honestly say it is as beautiful as the pictures. With the French influence and Polynesian flair the food was awesome, and very meal we had was good. This is a seafood lover's dream.

The resort is not on a private island, but you are adequately removed from the natives who inhabit this motu. Even though the resort was full we always felt secluded. While it was not as luxurious as the St. Regis on Bora Bora (our 2nd stop), it was much more relaxed. We did an overland safari excursion visiting the pearl and vanilla farms. We also had an awesome couples massage (better than the St. Regis). The architecture of the resort was also very comforting, and everything was built out of natural materials.

The only negatives were the AC was not working well, and the fridge do not work at all. All the AC needed would be to be refilled with new coolant and it would have worked great. Their repair staff was not that knowledgeable regarding construction or maintenance and we chose not to make a big deal of it. We were in paradise in the middle of the Pacific in paradise.

Overall, an unforgettable experience so we are giving it the full rating of excellent!!

If you are thinking about a honeymoon contact Pacific for Less and head to the Society Islands. You won't regret it......ever.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 4 days as a part of our honeymoon trip and it was spectacular. This is the place to go if you want to relax and enjoy its beauty. We stayed in a beach bungalow that was incredibly beautiful and romantic. It was right on the beach and blessed with a beautiful view and lovely wind. The butler/concierge Randall was so friendly, helpful and pleasant along with the staff made us feel comfortable and welcome. We got married on this island and the entire staff went way out of their way to make it perfect. The resort is built around the trees and the environment so it feels very harmonious. Not only was the food great but Brenda the bartender was as well for pool time activity. The snorkeling right off the resort was among the best I have ever done and that is a lot. Lets not forget the amazing massages on the beach as well. The main lobby and restaurant is like eating in a luxurious treehouse. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Was it the location or was it the hotel - or was it both? I can only conclude it was both. The deck of our over the water bungalow had first class views of Boro Bora in the distance - which I never got tired of looking at - and probably consumed too many (very good) local beers as a result. There was plenty to do with the obligatory water sports, diving and pearl farm tours.

The food was excellent. A blend of their French roots with a firm Polynesian tone and the service staff (all local - with a smattering of ring in's) was impeccable. Friendly - without being over familiar or false, was a joy to be around. Needs were met without the need to ask, and done with a smile. The gym was first class and internet access was good (but expensive - but again, considering where you were was proportionate).

I would also encourage anyone to rip themselves away from the resort and visit the local island(s) - my wife and I toured a local island where were invited into the home of a local and was shown a truly privileged window into local life - which neither of us will ever forget.

I liked being on Taha'a - it wasn't Bora Bora and didn't try too be either. A real gem and a glorious location. We were there for 8 days and it felt that if we didn't leave when we did - we may never have gone back...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SJ_Ashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This was one of three stops we had on our honeymoon. Great hotel. Beautiful place. Overwater bungalows are beautiful. Liked the design and layout of them better than at the Hilton in Bora Bora and Hilton Moorea. Very bright inside and welcoming. Clean. The food is great! We tried the one restaurant where you need to make reservations. Although I don't remember the name of it, the food is amazing and great service. Worth the price!
We were there on the Tahitian Night and the show was very good. The food was also great! My husband and I enjoyed many things about this place. We felt the staff really put the effort there in making our stay great! One day hope to return.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Sunshinetravelgirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This place is amazing. Private island, amazing turquoise waters and great food.

I stayed in a beach bungalow for a few nights then moved to an over the water bungalow for 8 nights. The beach bungalow was great. Right on the beach, it had its own wading pool and the lay out was nice (little bedroom and living room). The over the water bungalow was amazing! Get one of the sunset ones at the end so you can watch the sunset from your patio. It's relaxing to wake up daily and step off your back patio into warm turquoise waters and swim. There is also a fish feeding door at the base of your bed where you can feed the fish (with food they provide). It's a great experience!

The restaurant and bar are Tahiti style. GREAT drinks, try the grapefruit (freshly squeezed) and vodka (top shelf) one. It's the best I have ever had, however, be ready to spend $25 per drink.

The activities on the island are simple, tennis courts, hiking around the island, and relaxing. There is a heli pad on the far end of the island where you can be picked up to go on tours of neighboring islands.

The staff is friendly. You will love this place! Its true Tahiti!

Room Tip: Sunset over the water bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisChris79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We just spent 8 wonderful days at Le Taha'a. We took advantage of a Air Tahiti sale that did not include Bora Bora and Moorea. A promotion for the smaller islands and motus. Inter island flights were included with one destination return . So after some consideration we looked at the options and choose Le Taha'a.
Everything we had researched on this sight said 8 days would be too long. We prefer the less populated resorts so decided on a beach villa. We stayed in # 52. It was in a lovely location.
We could not have been happier with the villa. Our own wee pool was excellent. The outdoor tub and shower and our enclosed garden were exactly what we were looking for.
Being so close to the Coral Gardens was fantastic. You didn't really need to put your mask and snorkel on you could just walk and the rays and fishes were friendly and some of the best untouched coral we have seen in a while.
We had dinner at Chez Louises, which we enjoyed but can see why it's not for everybody.
Took Dave's Tour a half day tour of Taha'a. Wonderful advise I had found on here. Pearl farm, vanilla plantation where Brian gave us the best tour, and a ride up the mountain to the most incredible view. Truly beats the Belvedere look out on Moorea in our opinion. Had a facial at the spa which was a little bit of heaven. If you stay here be sure and take the walk across to the heli-pad, a wonderful view of Bora Bora and sunsets. If you go for sunset pictures you will need a flash light to get back but fun. Scuba diving with the Taha'a Diving on sight was a good operation.
So to the high light of the trip. We were there when the big inter island canoe race was happening. Julien the manager worked some magic and got us on a boat to go to Raitea to watch the second leg from Raitea to Taha'a. What a fantastic day. Truly a once in life time event.

So to Julien and all the staff, thanks for 8 memorable days. We are in our 50's and have had 30 wonderful years of travel. We can see why the honeymooners like 3 nights and move on in a OWB, which is so kind of them to save the beach villas for our age bracket.

Room Tip: Well the beach villa with your own pool, outdoor tub and shower are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nearnorthOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahaa
12 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#8 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,730 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
12.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
13.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
14.6 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#3 of 17 in Bora Bora
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range: $642 - $1,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing