We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Bliss in Taha'a”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahaa
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Bliss in Taha'a”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived at the airport in Raiatea, and the resort shuttled us by boat over to Taha'a, which took about half an hour. The resort isn't actually located ON Taha'a it is on it's own private island. Upon arriving, we were met at the dock and leid - this time I got a flower crown which I refused to take off! The reception area is really something special and the whole resort looks like a treehouse, up in the trees. It's stunning. We had an Overwater Suite and were blown away by how BIG the suite was! Not only is the room spacious but the deck was huge as well. The bed was extremely comfortable. The view from our suite looked towards Bora Bora and we got to watch some of the most incredible sunsets that I've ever seen. The whole resort is very beautiful and very private. We hardly saw any other guests around and we enjoyed that. There are two main restaurants, Le Vanille, which is a buffet in the morning for breakfast and an a la carte restaurant at night for dinner. The seating was especially beautiful because you literally got to sit amongst the trees. The Ohiri is a special restaurant that is done "trust the chef" style. You pick how many courses you would like, and the chef makes something especially for you. We enjoyed both restaurants. One night we decided to stay in and order room service and ordered the cheese plate. After a long wait, we were delivered a whole block of cheese still in it's packaging. We were pretty sure that this was a mistake, and it took several phone calls trying to explain what we had received (they didn't seem to understand). We finally convinced them to bring us a new cheese plate which finally arrived correctly after about an hour and handed them back their package of cheese. Another night we were eating at Le Vanille and it took them an hour to bring us our desserts and then another hour for them to bring us our bill. While the resort is gorgeous, we noticed some lapses in the service such as these. You would think that for the price you pay, these sorts of things wouldn't happen. The WiFi isn't free, but at least it works. We liked strolling the grounds, playing on the beaches, and going out to the tiny little island just off the beach. We did a Cooking Lesson with the head chef, and he was awesome and informative. Among other things, he taught us how to make poisson cru, which we definitely want to be able to make again at home! We also went on a tour of the main island of Taha'a and visited a pearl farm and a vanilla plantation - both were things that I really wanted to see. The excursion also included snorkeling, where we swam with sharks and stingrays. We saw a whole lot of incredible things! However, one of the girls on our tour jumped off the boat into some coral and ended up having to go to the hospital for stitches. While the entire place feels very secret and special, it doesn't feel like they are running AS tight a ship as say, Bora Bora.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoldyLox8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    201
    72
    36
    24
See reviews for
138
1,040
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I don't think there is a review I could possibly write that could adequately capture how amazing this place is. It is, for lack of a more creative phrase, heaven on earth. Everything you have ever seen in an advertisement about French Polynesia is true at Le Taha'a, but even better than you could imagine. I will forever have the image of our arrival at the resort etched in my mind... The incredible turquoise waters, the unimaginable views, the beyond 5 star overwater bungalow... Did I mention, without even asking, they upgraded us to a bungalow with a direct view of Bora Bora (as well as provided a free bottle of champagne?!). Everything about this place is jaw dropping. We took out the free kayaks and paddle boards, snorkeled in the adjacent coral garden (you will not believe the fish you see!!!) and spent hours simply sitting on our deck, sipping wine, and repeatedly commenting that it all couldn't possibly be real. Everything you ask for (including room service dinner and drinks) arrives within minutes. If you get bored (really...how could you?!), there are numerous activities available including snorkel excursions, trips to Ta'haa and numerous other things we mainly didn't do (why go anywhere when you're already in heaven?!). It did rain one day so we went to the island of Ta'haa and rented a car and drove around to see the local culture and pearl farms. It was a worthwhile adventure for a rainy day and very interesting to see how the locals live. We also ate dinner at Chez Louise which was, well, just a completely unique experience. Madame Louise is quite a character! It is not a fancy dinner but it is quite tasty and definitely an experience to remember. If you want a break from the resort dinners, go ahead and experience it!

The resort food is not incredible, but good. It could use a bit more variety, the restaurant itself could use a bit more charm, and the air conditioning in the fitness center didn't work but, really, I am nitpicking about things that do not matter in the slightest. I also forgot to mention how unbelievably warm and awesome the staff are, they make you feel like you're an honored guest every day. The only true gripe I have is that one of the concierges had absolutely no idea what she was doing and it caused us a bit of a headache with our arrangements to go to Bora Bora (they were cancelled at the last minute). The resort was very gracious about the mistake and, at the end of the day, it didn't cause a problem but just be a bit cautious booking travel with the resort concierge and do not try and get to Bora Bora from Ta'haa by boat (take the plane).

Speaking of Bora Bora, we stayed at the Intercontinental Thalasso there which is beautiful but could not match the intimacy and charm of Le Tah'aa (not to mention Ta'Haa is a much better value). Make every effort to get to this place... As I said in the beginning, life simply doesn't get any better and we dream of returning some day.


As I entitled this review,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent a week at Le Taha'a as the middle part of a 2 week Tahitian vacation. We had an overwater bungalow that was to die for. The bungalows themselves are offset so you dont even really notice anyone else around if your relaxing. The room itself was beautiful but the bathroom tub was an experience in itself. Be prepared to never want to leave your room. Swimming right off our bungalow was great and we saw lots of rays and different types of smaller fish.

The restaurants are what you would expect from a 5 star resort and their polynesian feel right down to the bamboo menu's is awesome. The best part about the restaurants is meeting all the different people from around the world who until this point you really havent seen at all. The food is surprising refined and diverse for being such a secluded island.

Will absolutely be returning and recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Tahiti and wants a break from the hustle.

Room Tip: Get an over-water bungalow, its the only way to experience Tahiti.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Le Tahaa was far beyond what I was expecting. I never wanted to leave our Beach Villa. The island itself is so remote. Yet this resort was 7 stars!!!!

The staff was very friendly. We stayed 2 nights. I think we would be bored if we were to stay much longer. However, I truly enjoyed the Shark & Ray feeding excursion. Only one other couple joined us. It was fabulous. As was our guide. He gave us so much information about TaHaa and their culture. We even made our own lunch and sat in the water (on table and chairs of course) and relished the local foods. It was heaven.

Room Tip: Try a Beach/Pool Villa.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citygirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I visited in June and this was the best place ever. Everyone was kind and went out of their way to make our visit the best. We stayed in an OWB and it was gorgeous, looking out to see Bora Bora every morning and evening. The snorkeling was out of this world, so many beautiful fish and cayaks available for us to go over to the small islands around the resort. We stayed at a place in Bora Bora after this and wish we would have spent our entire trip here. La Taha's resort is much more personable and smaller, so not all the tourists that are at the other resorts. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 62tres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is our third trip to Le Taha'a and will certainly not be out last!

It all starts with the short Air Tahiti flight from Papeete and landing at the small waterfront airport in Raiatea, where your immediately greeted by a friendly staff member of Le Taha'a and your luggage is transported the short distance to the launch, yes boat or helicopter only access to the resort.

Boat trip is always fun and then upon you are graciously greeted with cool towels and fresh pinapple juice, yum. Check in is painless and wait till you see your room over water bunglows are not to be beat, wonder views, clothing optional swimming options 24/7 right from your desk and the views views views are never ending,

Wireless internet is even available resort wide in this remote location, if you need to stay in touch with the real world otherwise just relax and enjoy.

And if you ever have a need or request the entire staff is very receptive and helpful. We also would strongly recommend using Pacific for Less based in Hawaii to help coordinate your travel plans they are truly the best!

Truly amazing!!

Room Tip: Request the OWB with Bora Bora views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was the first stop on our honeymoon. it was an excellent start to our Tahitian honeymoon. The overwater bungalows were perfect, we got an upgrade to a suite overlooking Bora Bora through our travel agent Pacific For Less. The resort was beautiful - the beach was excellent and the service was perfect. It's a small intimate resort stayed for two nights, a third night would have been good but there isn't a lot to do there besides relax on the beach. The coral garden was a nice plus but the water is to shallow to really snorkel in but still well worth the visit. Make sure you head over to Taha'a and check out the vanilla and pearl farms - both were worth the visit. Overall a great place to visit - we would recommend stopping there before going to Bora Bora, its an excellent introduction to the islands.

Room Tip: Our travel agent Pacific For Less was able to get us an upgrade to a room with a view of Bora Bora a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bender_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahaa
12.4 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
12.0 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,570 reviews
12.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
13.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
14.6 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#8 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Property: Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing