We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahaa
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've been in this resort for our honeymoon. It was amazing! Everybody is so nice and kind, we felt like king and queen in heaven... but the most special one is manu teauroa from the front desk. We asked him so many questions about things to do around and more and he was so patient, nice and kind and all his recommendation was so helpful! He always smile and knows how to serve people so perfect! We had a great time there and cant wait to come back! (Only if manu will be there! :))

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank מורן ג
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    192
    67
    35
    22
See reviews for
135
994
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

After the Meridien in Papeete and the Intercontinental in Moorea, and before going to the St Regis in Bora Bora, we spent 3 nights at the Tahaa Resort with our daughter in July. The Tahaa resort is quite different from all the previously mentioned hotels. It is not a massive resort, on the contrary a very pleasant one. In our opinion a wonderful place to simply unwind or for a honeymoon. The overwater bungalows are large, clean and very comfortable and the main restaurant really charming. The staff was very welcoming, both at the reception and at the restaurants. We were lucky enough to be at the resort for the weekly Polynesian night (every tuesday) and it was a truly memorable show, a lot more genuine than the one we could experience later at the St Regis for example.
If you like to do many activities during your vacation, or have kids requesting them, 3 to 4 days here is probably enough. Indeed the choice of activities is fairly limited - a few canoes, 2 paddle surf boards (why on earth don't they add a few?), a coral area, a tennis court, a gym, a spa (not great) and a diving center. And a free shuttle every hour to the main island of Tahaa. No wind surf; jet ski and water skiing on request, normally with a 24 hours notice. In addition, the water sports attendant was nowhere to be seen during the first 3 days of our stay. Apart from this limited choice of activities, there is very little to criticise at the hotel. I had wished that the internet connection were not limited to the reception / restaurant area and that the room were not filled with the sun at 7 am. If you are as sensitive to the light in the morning as I am make sure you take an eye mask with you. Another point to watch may be the weather. It was extremely windy on the day we arrived (20+ mph) and we were were told that it was common in the Tahaa, Bora Bora, Raiatea area during the period July to September, but especially in July. In fact, this period which is fairly ok in Papeete and Moorea should be avoided in the Bora Bora area. The wind is a limitation for all water activities and the bungalows facing the island of Tahaa seem to be the most exposed to it. Those with the view of Bora Bora seem more protected and have a wonderful sunset view. If you go for a beach bungalow, double check the view. It seemed to me that the primary view for most of them was the lane of overwater bungalows. I would hate to spend $1.000 dollars and not have an open view!
Finally, apart from the really beautiful coral garden, there is very little coral to be seen at the resort. The same applies though for the Meridien Tahiti and to a slightly lesser extent to the InterCon Moorea and the St Regis Bora Bora which both also have their coral "garden". In all places the color of the water and its transparency are incredible but if you have been to the Maldives before, the chance is that you will be fairly disappointed with the snorkeling in Polynesia.
Despite its few minuses, of all the previously mentioned hotels which we experienced in Polynesia, the Tahaa Resort is the only one we would return to with great pleasure.

Room Tip: Mind the view if you go for a beach villa. For the overwater villas, those facing Bora Bora really h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alain2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place was just a secluded island that catered to your needs, we went on our honeymoon to Le Tahaa and loved it, seperated from the rest of the world for a week with a room over the clear blue water with breakfast on the patio was amazing, activities galore, this was a dream come true, loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliikai51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I just recently returned from our honeymoon in French Polynesia. It was absolutely worth every minute traveling to get there and every penny we spent. We had 9 nights and decided to split it between Moorea and Le Taha'a, instead of Bora Bora. We loved Moorea and all the island has to offer, but Le Taha'a Private Island and Spa was everything we dreamed our "honeymoon in paradise" could be. While I can't compare it to Bora Bora, the minute we got to La Taha'a, we knew we'd made the right choice.

We were extremely impressed with Le Taha'a' staff's friendliness and service. From the moment we arrived by plane at Raiatea's airport, we were treated like VIP guests. Reservations were made with ease and convenience, any requests were met with a smile and efficiency, and the 2 times per day housekeeping was excellent at keeping towels, water, and toiletry products refreshed. The grounds were beautifully maintained and the polynesian authenticity of the entire hotel, specifically the overwater bungalows, was magical.

The single most attractive aspect of this amazing resort is it's seclusion and intimacy. It lives up to it's name of a "private island" because often times, you feel as though you have the entire island and resort to yourself. The beach is natural and covered with palm trees, and while there's not a really long open strip to walk, there are various areas that you can isolate yourself and feel like you have your own private beach. The views from everywhere are absolutely stunning...the contrasting colors of the water, the views of tiny islands of palm trees, the silhouette of Bora Bora off in the distance...it's all just incredible. The coral gardens are unquestionably the most plentiful (amount and type of fish) and most exotic snorkeling I've ever experienced. Our overwater bungalow was everything we'd hoped it would be and more. We loved the morning breakfasts; they had a variety of choices from fresh french pastries, deliciously fresh fruits and juices, and made to order omelettes and crepes...everything was delicious. We also had a couples massage in the spa, which was fantastic. The therapists did a really great job.

If there was one point which I'd rate as "below Relais & Chateau standard", it would be the quality of the lunches and dinners. The meals are expensive, and they are not nearly as good as what the local restaurants have to offer. I would strongly suggest going to Chez Louise for dinner, because the food is much better and you get a lot more for your money.

In final, this was the most memorable vacation of our lives. We had the good fortune to have our wedding at another Relais & Chateau property, La Chateau de la Chevre d'Or in Eze, France, and Le Taha'a certainly meets this golden standard in terms of service, luxury, and uniqueness. I cannot say enough how friendly and accommodating the entire staff was. We were even allowed to stay in our bungalow on our departure day until our afternoon departure, free of charge!! Honestly, it's one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. My wife and I strongly recommend Le Taha'a Private Island Resort and Spa to anyone who is looking for a secluded and intimate vacation in paradise!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cjvhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a 10 night honeymoon at Le Taha'a (5 nights) and St Regis Bora Bora (5 nights).
Taha'a was exactly what we needed; it’s remote, gorgeous, relaxing, has amazing water and coral garden and staff is extremely friendly. We’ll definitely go there again. I can’t consider it 5 stars for the following reasons:
• Property is very Polynesian, beautiful, clean and well maintained. We loved it and will certainly stay there again but for it to be 5 stars, it’d need some more touches of lux.
• Food is certainly good but not great.
• At times, we had to call room service repeatedly to get things done (it didn’t bother us as we were there on our honeymoon and very relaxed)
• Our room’s AC wasn’t cold at all, it worked more like a fan. I had read on TripAdvisor about this issue and asked for an additional fan which they said they didn’t provide. Now thinking back, we should have asked them to check the AC to ensure that it’s working properly… maybe it was broken as it wasn’t cold at all.

Now the positives:
• Staff was extremely nice and friendly and tried to provide excellent service. It was nice to have the hotel GM introduce himself and ask about our experience.
• Property is clean, beautiful and well maintained. They cleaned the room again at bed turn down which we really liked.
• We had heard a lot about the mosquito issue and had taken tons of repellents. We didn’t have problems but we did use the repellents (we stayed in an OWB).
• Food and drinks at the pool bar were very good and weren’t as expensive as we had thought (then again, we live in OC and are used to food or drinks being expensive in general).
• Breakfast was delicious (try the French toast) and service was great.
• Room service was very fast which truly surprised us. They were extremely pleasant and food portions were bigger than we expected (we expected European portions but they were larger).
• Coral garden was amazing. We went there 4 times during our stay and enjoyed it every single time.
• All the water sports were wonderful and readily available.
• One night, we went to a local restaurant called Chez Luis. It was FANTASTIC. It’s a must try. Great food and it was extremely reasonably priced (for Bora Bora).
• We tried the Tuesday night Polynesian dance and buffet and very much enjoyed it.
• We did a tour of pearl garden and vanilla farms with Dave (hotel arranged it for us). He was extremely pleasant and we truly enjoyed our tour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mk_oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

What a great hotel!!!!
We were 4 adults and 2 children (5 & 7) and we had a Royal Beach villa.
The room was amazing: two bed rooms, two bathrooms, a little swimming pool (big enough for the kids), a lovely terrasse, a "private" beach,... The roof was also a traditionnal roof (not a plastic one), which means perfect isolation. You don't hear anything when you're in the room. Even the AC is quiet.
As we arrived with an early flight, the hotel offered us a great breakfast before going to the room. Everybody was very nice and sweet. We've stayed 4 nights in that little heaven, but we could have spend much more without any problem.
The food at the restaurant was great.

The lagoonarium of the hotel is simply magic. I've spend a nice time swimming with all the fishes.

Don't hesitate to book a tour of Tahaa with Poe Rani Tours, they're the best guide we had during our Polynesian trip. Way much better than Poe Island Tour in Huahine!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Familyglobtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had hard time to decide between 4* or 5* for Le Tahaa but at the end we left the island very relaxed and satisfied, even though there were some minor issues. First the positive things:
We got an over-water bungalow at the end of the pontoon, which was perfectly private, overlooking east, so we enjoyed every morning beautiful sunsets from huge, comfortable bed. The bungalow inside was big and very luxury, nicely organized with plenty of space for our stuff. We very enjoyed the big patio, with private, covered seating, where we could spend time, when the weather was windy. Nice surprise was a 110V socket in bathroom for low power devices (e.g. electric tooth brush) AND additionally the hotel provided (default, without asking) a step-down transformer for high power devices, as e.g. hair iron. The room service was great, cleaning and changing towels twice a day. The staff in general was very nice, always smiling and friendly...
The water even at the end of the pontoon was shallow (~1 m), nice warm, but slightly boring with white sand and no coral or other sea plants. But in the north of the island (~10 min walking) there was an absolutely stunning coral garden, providing one of the best snorkeling I have ever seen. The variety corals and especially fish was exceptional. The fish was not shy, on the other side, they were sometimes swimming with me and following me for minutes. :-) The coral garden resembled a labyrinth, where you may get stuck and search for other way out, so it was actually fun and adventure to swim there (make sure you bring flippers or water shoes!). We spent there many hours... There was only one day, when the water was murky (we did not figure out why) but on the next day it cleared up again. I would definitely visit Le Tahaa again, mostly because of the amazing coral garden.
The hotel offered a few free stuff, as a modern gym, kayaks and some other boats, snorkeling gear...

Now the minor flaws:
- While we really liked dinner, the breakfast buffet was the same every day. For a 5* resort I would expect more variety. If I compare it to Bora Bora 5* hotel, Le Tahaa was far behind. However, the quality and taste of the food was excellent and we still enjoyed it.
- The property is relatively small and a huge part of the island is private. We would like to walk around, see the other side (west side) of the island, but when we saw signs as "Private Property", "No trespassing" or "Staff Only" we just did not go there. You are quite restricted to one sidewalk and two pontoons...
- Room service kept forgetting to replace promised two bottles of water a day. We had to ask several times for it.
- The spa was super small and looked pathetic from outside, so we even did not bother to book a procedure (quite a big difference we were used to a huge spa in Bora Bora).

Those minor issues did not affect much our stay and we still think it's an amazing place to visit and spend honeymoon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahaa
12.4 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
11.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
12.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
13.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
16.6 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Property: Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing