We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good enough word to describe the experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Truly a fabulous experience in the most wonderful island. Tahaa is paradise and given this is the only luxury resort on the island you feel like you have it all to yourself. The service and experience at the resort is top notch and they go out of their way to make your stay perfectin every way. Highlights include the coral gardens with the view of Bora Bora, and the bar in the pool (literally barstools built into the pool). This is our favorite resort and favorite island in French Polynesia!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

I'm a lover (not so difficult to believe) of French Polinesia... go there since 5 years at least once a year... few days ago I discovered Taha and had the chance to stay @ Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa... what to say.. is a Paradise inside the paradise of French Polinesia.

The resort is architecturally speaking nice (I'm an architect and civil engineer..so I have some reference) and the surrounding nature intact, with the jewel in the coral garden situated at walking distance from the resort.

GM mr.Julien and his staff are professional and ready to help in all needs... only one recommendation, book your package as much as possible with meals included because will be difficult to move out from the paradise once you are in it...

Matteo

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Teo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in October 2012 at the resort. We heard that it was less commercial and the scenery was more authentic then Bora Bora. Even though it rained on day one and two, we really had a lovely time there. We had an overwater bungalow which was beautiful. We spent a lot of time on our deck looking at the stars and the water. One day, we saw a ray swim by and I tried to jump in the water and follow it! The water around the bungalows were pretty shallow. We had a guided tour of Cora Gardens which was nice or I don't think we would have figured out you have to cross to the other side and walk probably a third of a mile to start. It was pretty awesome to just float down with the current taking you through the coral. It goes by fast and in parts you feel like you are going to scrape your knee on the shallow coral. Lots of fish and beautiful coral. There was lots of debris like coconuts in the water from the rain but we felt like that could not be helped. The people at the resort were very friendly and really cared about our stay. Maitre (not sure about spelling) was so helpful. She had someone pick up a skin guard shirt for my husband, because I forgot to pack it, in town. It didn't cost me an arm and a leg! I think the shirt was around $30 dollars and a very little fee for the messenger. The food was good but not excellent on the resort. The choices are a bit limited and if you were staying longer then 3-4 days, you might get a little bored with the meals. Saying that, the coconut shrimp was delicious and the breakfast buffet was great! The prices for a meal seemed a lot less then what I expected from reading on Trip Advisor but those prices came later in Bora Bora. Remember that service is slow compared to the USA but you are on vacation in paradise! Our awesome travel agent, Jackie from Custom Tahiti, took care of everything before we arrived and included in our package free breakfast, the coral garden tour, a couples massage, and some more goodies:) We thought the massage was very good even though the lagoon you are facing during the massage is a dark olive color vs. the beautiful blue of the ocean. There is not a whirpool or a sauna in the spa. There is a changing facility that is very nice with an outdoor shower. We really wanted to do another massage but they were all booked. I was a bit sad to leave for the St. Regis in Bora Bora after 3 nights. If you want a giant bungalow, glamourous faux surroundings, and lots of stuff to do then Le Taha'a Resort is not for you! Just start off at the St. Regis:) But if you want a beautiful more authentic place to unwind with friendly staff then Le Taha'a is for you! If you want to splurge, I definitely recommend taking a helicopter from Tahaa to Bora Bora. The hotel has a helipad behind the property, it was a short ride but well worth the views of Bora Bora.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suzimac2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The nicest view around, perstine waters, wonderful and friendly service.
Nice over the water villa (we stayed at #41), beautiful sunset.
Excellent cuisine and wine list.
Beatiful pool.
Summary: perfect. We will go back any time.

Room Tip: 41, beatiful sunset and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Osvaldo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed one entire week with friends in overwater villas face to Bora Bora. Arrival was perfect, nice welcome made by the Receptionnist and well done explanations about the resort.
Villas were amazing, blue lagoon everywhere, high quality concerning amenities : bottle of champagne with some mignardises :D
Resost is wall located between Taha'a Island and Bora Bora and close to the well know Coral Garden to snorkling ! Just a paradise lost in the ocean
Restaurant Vanille and Beach Restaurant purpose high standard of quality concerning the food, the service and the amazing set up especially for the beach ! F&B staff are really focused on our needs and are in to talk about their culture and their life !
I recommand this hotel for friends or for families and for sure for couples !!! What a wonderful place to have fun, to enjoy watersports and to be relax hassle free !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alan-kost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

After much deliberation, my husband and I finally decided that the island of Taha'a would be our "once in a lifetime" trip to French Polynesia. We wanted to avoid the hustle and bustle and commercialism of some of the more well known islands and it proved to be a great choice for us. After that, it was easy to decide on Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa.

We chose an over the water bungalow (on my husband's bucket list) and were not disappointed. The bungalow was spacious, luxurious, mosquito free, and, as requested, very private (bungalow #41) at the end of the pier. There were two glass "aquariums" in the bungalow where, after lifting the glass lid, one could feed the fish swimming directly below our bungalow. The "aquariums" were located at the foot of our bed, and adjacent to the bathtub...very cool, indeed. Everyday we would bring back a basket of bread from the restaurant and feed the fish. They loved it. We were able to view so many different species without even getting in the water!

The room had every amenity you could want...robes, slippers, espresso machine, ipod/stereo system, plenty of towels and linens, his and her sinks, soaking tub, oversized shower, hair dryer, toiletries and umbrellas (very handy, since we traveled during rainy season). There was the option of keeping the doors shut and using the A/C, or opening the bungalow wide open to enjoy the natural breezes. Very nicely decorated, as well, in the Polynesian style.

Prior to travelling, I was a little apprehensive because I read some reviews on Trip Advisor saying Le Taha'a had lost some of its luster. So, I was pleased to see the maintenance crew working all over the resort making repairs and replacing entire walls, roofs, etc. I thought the place was gorgeous, built around the foliage of the motu and not replacing it. It was so quiet and tranquil, just what we were after.

The food was great...breakfast was buffet style with enough choices to keep it interesting. The chef made great crepes, and scrambled eggs so tender that I couldn't get enough. Our favorite lunch was poolside, where one could eat at a restaurant with your toes in the sand, another nice touch. The Mahi Mahi sandwich was excellent, with lots of crunchy veggies and a dressing that had coconut milk. Dinner was very elegant and the service was outstanding. We were worried about eating at the same place all week, but it was great. No complaints. They even brought us complimentary breakfast room service since the resort was next to empty on the last day of our stay.

Transportation to and from the airport on Raiatea was seamless and consistent. The concierge was on top of all of our plans and made the appropriate suggestions and/or reservations. We took a half day island tour including a visit to a vanilla plantation and pearl farm. Our guide, David, was wonderful, very engaging and informative and had amazing skill with the machete! We drove (fought) our way to the top of the island and enjoyed expansive views. There was only one other couple on the tour and we really enjoyed our time with them (shout out to MamaBear and Cal!). Really recommend this tour. Also enjoyed the fitness room, spa, and pool.We tried snorkeling, but the current beat us up! We did see lots of fish, though, and enjoyed it in spite of the struggle.

I would recommend this resort without reservation, we loved it. We were there for our anniversary and it was romantic and a great place to reconnect. We feel so fortunate to have been able to make this trip. Maururu!

Room Tip: For the most privacy, choose Bungalow #41. Also, over the water suites have no mosquitoes due to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MariocheRavenna_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I appreciate the fact that most reviews for this hotel carry a very high score, and it honestly pleases me to see that so many people were actually very happy to stay here. Lack of worldliness, in this case, is bliss.

However, if you happen to be a fully-fledged traveler searching for advice, you might want to consider what I have to say…

This hotel has a truly privileged location, adjacent to the beautiful Coral Garden. Its staff, mostly, were also some of the nicest hotel employees we have ever met. I must say that they are a very hardworking team who clearly tries their best to please the guests.

You should be aware, however, that Le Taha’a IS NOT a “private island” as advertised on their promotional material and around the property itself (their website now started using the correct phrase “Island Resort & Spa” instead of “Private Island & Spa”). As a matter of fact we had the pleasure of meeting a few of the hotel´s wonderful neighbors as we walked down the beach toward the sunset… they forced us to step away from the sand – and into the hip-deep water! – making sure we understood that hotel guests are unwelcome to walk on “THEIR” beach! The closest local neighbors to our beach villa (who apparently lived just a few steps away from our front door) spent most of the time drunk in a crude shed by the sand… needless to say that it can get a little bit scary at night when you stay in the bungalows closer to the end of the beach.

The overall feeling I had from this property is of awful thriftiness. This aura of frugality can be noticed everywhere; you see it in the quality of the ingredients in the kitchen, the dreadful condition of the snorkel equipment, the room´s shameful maintenance (please check out the pictures I took from the toilet seat), and even in the little things like unreplenished toiletries. The worst of all, however, is the absolute fact that they are scandalously understaffed!

Being understaffed really takes quite a toll on the experience as a whole. The employees were visibly overworked and tired. Besides this, with the exception of the reception and activities coordination personnel, most of them lacked proper training. We left the property feeling that the proprietors must be going through financial problems while still trying to hang on to the Relais & Châteaux status.

I sincerely doubt that Le Taha’a will survive its next regular quality audit for Relais & Châteaux membership maintenance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank TRUTHFUL_DH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahaa
12.0 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,704 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
12.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
16.6 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#4 of 17 in Bora Bora
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range: $635 - $1,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing