We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for romance, not family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Beautiful location accessible by 40 min boat ride from airport. Staff friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Good honeymoon place but not a good family vacation spot. There is no seperate kids pool or activity area . Rooms nice but we had windy weather during our stay and the wind would howl in our bungalow makIng sleep difficult. This needs to be addressed . Best food we had while in FP. Smaller and more intimate resort and good place for relaxing. Not as many activities as some other resorts. Overall great stay

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gatordiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

I'm visiting French Polynesia for 2 weeks - IC Moorea, Le Tahaa at Tahaa, and IC Thalasso at Bora Bora. Le Tahaa is just an amazing boutique 5 star hotel where you're treated just like you were the owner of the little motu. It amazing location, the privacy and exclusivity of the resort just makes you feel overwhelmed. I've also visited the Vahine Island resort and Le Tahaa is so out of it own league. Yes, Le Tahaa resort could benefit somehow from some refurbishments but it's a 10 years property (!) so that should come soon or progressively.. hope the Four Seasons don't spoil the current unique character of the island, resort and it people and professionals.

A big thanks to M. Bressolles and his team (a special mention to Miguel - our fellow portuguese - and Tomita, as they were truly warm and professional throughout our stay).

Mr Nuno Martins Macedo

Room Tip: - Don't miss the coral garden which is just around the corner (drift snorkel, for mid to advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nrmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Visited in December. Perfect weather everyday. This place was phenomenal. I visited 5 islands during my trip- as I am a travel agent & was on a site inspection. They provided little extras other hotels did not.. Snorkel equipment in the room.. Mini fridge...
This is the hotel from the ally & Roberto season of the bachelorette! I watched the show &
Didn't know. The rooms were bigger than most overwater bungalows and the decks had lounge chairs & a separate table & chair set which had a shaded area. The breakfast buffet was incredible. Dinner amazing. Very secluded island. Private boat takes you from airport.
This hotel is offering amazing prices compared to bora bora. This is a 5* resort hands down.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any- you can message me if you want specifics On room # and I will go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mauidawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had just been on Bora Bora when we came to Le Taha'a and so had a point of comparison. The islet is beautiful and lush with nature vegetation which gives it a more natural feel. The buildings are built with what looks like bamboo and other natural looking woods, so it almost looks like a Polynesian lodge. The accomodations, pool and amenities are very nice, but appear older and a bit more tired than I would have expected. It didn't really feel like a 5 star resort to me. The food at the main restaurant was excellent, but we decided to splurge one night and go to the Gourmet Restaurant, Ohiri. It is very small and intimate and, given that the property is a Relais & Chateau, I expected amazing food. NOT SO. I had scallops with truffle. The scallops were essentially raw and the truffle had absolutely NO TASTE. In fact it was a really odd experience, because the food had substance but absolutely no taste at all. Zero. I told the server and she just smiled and nodded :) Our meal came to about $350 US!

The best thing about this property is that the lagoon is very shallow and there is a coral garden that you can walk to in water about 3 feet deep. They have reef shoes you can use so you don't step on anything. The coral, tropical fish, colored clams and other creatures are amazing, and you don't even have to put on a mask.

We overheard a manager telling a guest that the hotel is going to become a Four Seasons. My husband and I looked at each other and said we don't know how they are going to bring it up to Four Seasons standards, but it will cost money and take time to do it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BUsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa and had a wonderful time! The staff at Custom Tahiti Travel helped us coordinate this wonderful trip and we sincerely thank them for recommending this hotel to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The hotel's location is outstanding and the staff was really friendly and accomodating. The restaurant's food is good but I recommend expanding the dinner menu to include additional Tahitian and French classic entrees. The end of the pontoon overwater bungalows are highly recommended (we stayed at #29). Special Thanks to Jackie at Custom Tahiti Travel for her assistance and attention to detail in coordinating this wonderful trip.

Room Tip: End of the pontoon overwater bungalows are highly recommended for relaxing and admiring nature's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Taha'a on our honeymoon last year, spending around 3 nights there. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but yet the experience failed to live up to our expectations, and we believe its potential and standard of other similarly classed resorts in French Polynesia.

To get it out of the way, the location was beautiful and unique - the only motu based resort off of the island Taha'a (perhaps the only resort in Taha'a, I suppose the other resorts are around its larger sister island Raiatea). This makes it special and secluded.

The biggest issue we had was that the service was mixed and overall disappointing. We were welcomed very warmly with a ukelele playing host, but it seemed to go gently downhill from there, with many of the staff being either indifferent or even annoyed. For example, we went sea kayaking one day, but initially had trouble finding anyone staffing the sport center that lent out the kayaks. After returning from our session, we expected the same staff person to come greet us and help us carry the kayak back onto the beach, as we are accustomed to in other beach resorts in Asia, which we usually frequent. Instead, he watched us with indifference as we dragged the boat ourselves all the way up the beach.

The food was good - better than our meals in Bora Bora. We also took a cooking course which we really enjoyed.

The overwater bungalows where we stayed was magical to the extent it was an overwater bungalow, but the hardware itself was also disappointing, and failed to be as luxurious as we were expecting. The interior was "traditional" in a rustic way, rather than being "traditional" in a luxurious way as we got in our stay afterwards in Bora Bora (at a similar price point).

The only caveat in this review is that there had been a storm that had passed nearby during our stay there, which caused the regional authorities to restrict many of the sea activities (boating, scuba, kayaking) that we originally wanted to do. This probably clouded our overall experience through obviously no shortcoming of the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed 5 nights (July 2012), transferring here from Sofitel Mara Mara.

This hotel was MUCH better: more luxurious, less in-your-face, than Sofitel. We had booked and paid a premium for a beach bungalow with private pool, but on checking in we found the rooms luxurious but a magnet for mosquitoes, so we asked to be switched to the less expensive overwater bungalow. This was a perfect move, because it was super-comfortable, with a great view, great deck, perfect bathroom, excellent air-conditioning, and not a bug in sight.

The bar was a great place for day-time drinks, but the restaurant didn't feel like somewhere we wanted to hang out all evening.

And that leaves us with the food, which was very disappointing. Breakfast was fine, and we had lunch at the pool or in our room, but dinner underwhelmed by a long way. The kitchen managed to inject mediocrity into each meal, which let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Overwater bungalow, room 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank its-a-wild-world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahaa
12.0 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,701 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
12.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
14.6 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#4 of 17 in Bora Bora
196 reviews
16.6 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range: $635 - $1,679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing