We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahaa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed in Taha'a for the last few nights of our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The resort is in a stunning location and we had a view from our beautifully decorated over water bungalow of Taha'a mainland which was very pretty (though I think the Bora Bora or sunset views may have the slight edge!) The hotel staff were very friendly and the resort is noticeably very well managed (compared to the Hilton where we stayed in both Moorea and Bora Bora) as there are managers on site to welcome you and ensure the resort runs efficiently.

When we arrived the staff had proactively booked our complimentary couples massage session for later that afternoon which was AMAZING and one of the best massages I have ever received. The spa itself is gorgeous and the massage took place in a beautiful room overlooking a small lake. The food was also the best we had in French Polynesia, the breakfast buffet is excellent (although it was strange we couldn't have fried eggs for breakfast but only omelettes!) and we also had a lovely bbq one evening. Thank you for making our stay really lovely and memorable.

Room Tip: Over water facing Bora Bora / sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    199
    71
    36
    23
See reviews for
137
1,026
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in a bungalow facing the sunset however at this time of year the sunset wasnt visible from our bungalow and we walked along the island and saw the most beautiful sunset we had ever seen! The water was so clear and we did plenty of snorkeling along the island. Breakfast was delicious! Dinner was so so the duck was the worst very gamey.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Taha'a for 10 days for our honeymoon in May. We decided to stay put in one place and not island hop like most other couples we met at the resort. Taha'a took care of everything for us. Our luggage was lost on our way there and they helped us get new clothes, then one day our bag showed up in our room without us having to do anything. Even with 3 days of rain, we had a wonderful time. Our bungalow had the best view (#5) of the sunset and Bora Bora and was closer to the pool/activities area, but we still had our privacy. We loved all the water adventures they offered and did about most of them. The Lagoon Safari was by far the best with the feeding of wild sting rays and sharks. We travel a lot but Taha'a will always be the epotimoy of trips. The entire trip was romantic, eventful and the best we have had thus far.

Room Tip: The sunset view bungalows had amazing views and were closer to the pool/activities area but were sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeymoontrip_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeTahaaGM, General Manager at Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We are very much grateful to you and want to say THANK YOU for your beautiful review on our resort,it's services and facilities.We feel so happy that you left our resort after having spent a wonderful time with us, indeed your comments are very important to us, it help us to always strive for a top level quality service.
I am sure you have already made up your mind to visit us soon again, and needless to tell you that we shall all be more than delighted to welcome you again.

All the best and see you soon!!

Bruce Bowan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We went to Le Taha'a for our honeymoon in the end of May/beginning of June. Everything was absolutely perfect! They greeted us at the airport in Raiatea and took us to the resort by speedboat and adorned us with a flower headdress for me and a lei for my husband. Our bungalow had to be the best on the resort, they informed us we had a free upgrade to a sunset bungalow, and the sunset over the palm trees/water with Bora/Bora in the distance was the highlight of our trip. See attached pictures. The spa was absolutely incredible, there are only 2 masseuse on the island so every couple is guaranteed to have the spa completely to yourself. We got the tahitian rain shower massage, which includes a naked jacuzzi afterwards while being served fruit and their awesome vanilla lemonade.

The jetski tour was great, went out to a few motu's and almost around the entire main island of Taha. It was my first time on a jetski, and this was my personal favorite part of the trip, highly recommended.

The snorkeling was phenomenal, the water is very shallow, so you can always stand up if necessary, and the fish followed us around the entire time, they must feed them, which was awesome!

Also had a small reef under our room, so every time we opened the floor, there was a different type of fish, we also saw an octopus and a sting ray, crazy!

A/C worked great, so don't know what all the problems are, our room was on the colder side the whole trip.

One downside is the place is much more expensive than our usual trip, but given all that you get for it, I still gave it five stars, (we also got the groupon, which was at least 50% off).

Overall, best trip of our lives, and highly recommend if you want a secluded, romantic, deserted island feel, if you want adventure, go to bora bora instead.

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalow 42, at the end of the pier with sunset view. HIGHLY recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldtravelersteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeTahaaGM, General Manager at Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We are really honoured while reading your glowing comments and we are very happy indeed to learn that all efforts we put in making you happy pay at the end of the day!
Daily, we take up the challenge of meeting and even exceeding our guests' expectations, sometimes we do crazy things to please our guests ,as an example providing guests a BBQ in the middle of our turquoise lagoon!!
Our facilities and services are consistently looked into and all weaknesses are immediately addressed.We are again glad to have succeeded in making your Taha'a Stay a memorable one and we shall always endeavour to keep it up!

The team and me would me simply delighted to greet you again in a very near future, we hope!!

Sunny regards,

Bruce Bowan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We celebrated our 2nd year anniversary in Tahiti and really appreciated the personalized nature of this beautiful paradise.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaninder c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeTahaaGM, General Manager at Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

THANK YOU very much for your beautiful praises on the service you received while you visited us.Indeed we pride ourselves in what we do and we make sure that each and every guests who visit us leave our resort with life lasting memories of the time spent here!
Your vaulable comments are very important to us, it help us to always perform up to the highest expectations of our valued guests.

Thank you again,we shall be delighted to welcome you anytime in the near future,please keep well and come to us again!!

Sunny Regards,
Bruce Bowan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I just got back from Taha'a. It was a once in a lifetime trip that we'll remember forever. We stayed for 4 nights in an over-the-water bungalow #10 from which we had a beautiful view of the main island of Taha'a. Saw some amazing moon rises, and a short walk from the tip of the island where you can view the breathtaking sunsets. We were near the end of the dock which perhaps gave us even more privacy than other bungalows with the same view.
Firstly, the service was impeccable. Far better than any other 5 star resorts we have visited. The staff is genuinely happy and friendly, yet not imposing at all.
The grounds are meticulously maintained and beautifully landscaped.
The food was delicious, a sashimi lover's dream. If that doesn't suit your palate, there are many other dishes to choose from and special dinners are also frequently provided. The breakfast buffet, included in our trip, was magnificent. You could not ask for fresher, more delicious chocolate croissants!
Finally, the managers of the resort make a point of greeting all the guests personally, and ensure that all your needs are being met.
Don't forget your underwater camera and your water shoes. This resort has one of the most beautiful underwater coral gardens in the Society Island archipelago. This was confirmed by talking to some Tahitians.
Leave the kids at home! The trip is perfect for a forty something couple that need to get away, relax and rejuvinate and have no intention of partying till the wee hours of the morning. There is no nightlife to entice you to do so at this resort.
For the first time in French Polynesia, I don't think we could have picked a better resort. We were advised by a local frequent traveller that Taha'a Resort is the most authentic and true to Polynesian culture than any other resort.
Budget well and keep in mind that prices may quadruple your expectations. It's definitely not like a trip to Cuba! The cost of the trip from Toronto, Ontario, CANADA will probably preclude us from going back, but wouldn't have given up a minute in this paradise!

Room Tip: Over the water bungalows with Taha'a Island view are less expensive than those at the very end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeTahaaGM, General Manager at Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We are very much blessed by your beautiful words on our resort and it's people.Our staff is the most valuable asset we have here, and your praises have been duly conveyed to them, they want to thank you for the recognition you expressed towards them!!
Your time spent here, I hope, will forever stay as a lifetime souvenir for you , I am sure that you will plan to visit us in a very near future again,when all the team and me would be simply delighted to welcome you for a second visit!!

Sunny Tahitian regards,

Bruce Bowan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We recently honeymooned in the French Polynesian Islands and Taha'a was our favorite of the 3 islands that we were able to visit (Moorea and Bora Bora). The grounds of the hotel are immaculate and the service was unparralled by any of the other hotels we stayed at during our trip. We were in an overwater bungalow which was absolutely stunning, the room was like our own small cabin in paradise. We really liked that this hotel made everything feel more traditional than the other places we stayed. We ordered room service one night, and ate at the restaraunt the other two nights and the food was always tasty (although small portions). The corals gardens is very nice and great for snorkelling - we also felt that this was the nicest water/beach as the sand went a long way out so you can wade in without stepping on coral/rocks. The service was amazing and we felt like there was genuine sincerity in the greetings of the employees. No complaints about this place - as with all of French Polynesia, the food is expensive and not portioned like North Americans are used to, but you should expect that going in. Would stay at this island again over Bora Bora or Moorea.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeTahaaGM, General Manager at Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

We were very happy to have you with us on the occasion of your honeymoon,I am happy to read that we met all your expectations!!
Yes, we always strive to deliver a good service and when we receive such recognition for the hard work , it encourages us to be better and better in what we do.
I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome and serve you during a next visit in a near future.

Sunny regards,

Bruce Bowan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahaa
12.4 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
12.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
11.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
13.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
14.6 mi away
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
Conrad Bora Bora Nui
#8 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Property: Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing