We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahaa
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We came to Le Taha'a for our belated Honeymoon. We stayed here first and then went on to stay in Bora Bora at the St. Regis. I would def come before Bora Bora. We loved both places but Le Taha'a was more our speed. It is more rustic but so private and beautiful! I loved kayaking and snorkeling right outside our room. You can explore the small islands close by the resort... Magically private! It is much less touristy than Bora Bora. The food was good... Not great. Food is better at the large resorts in Bora Bora but you sacrifice privacy. Also, our room also overlooked Bora Bora off in the distance.. Just fabulous!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,013
    195
    67
    35
    23
See reviews for
136
1,007
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maui Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We were met at the airport by our speedboat - imagine walking off a plane and right over to your waiting yacht! This was the first clue we were experiencing top of the line luxury! Our 20 minute ride was a photographers dream - pictures of pearl farms on stilts in the water, the oceanfront community church of Taha'a as well as the assorted little glimpse into island life makes for some great memories.

Arriving at Le Taha'a we were escorted to our huge overwater, island inspired bungalows complete with private deck, snorkle gear, seperate bath w/shower and amazing soaking tub, and king size bed - absolutely one of the most luxurious bungalows I've ever seen.

We dined in the Ohiri Restaurant which is the resorts goumet option. The Chef delighted us with french/polynesian fusion cuisine. The Sommelier selected wine to compliment the cuisine from their excellent wine cellar.

TravelGal opinion: The food! Oh my stars! We enjoyed a 4 course dinner with wine pairing that will rival any top restaurant - for the foodies out there - this is where you want to be!

Atmosphere is cozy, warm and romantic…palm trees are swaying, birds are singing, life is good on Le Taha'a.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing but I would pay up to experience the overwater bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Le Taha'a was the first resort we stayed at in Tahiti. Our first impressions were positive. The over water bungalow we stayed in was beautiful. Nice beach. Nice pool. Good food. Good service. On leaving we were happy with everything. In comparison to other resorts, Le Taha'a is a beautiful, small, quiet resort. Good start but as all say, do these small islands and small resorts before you go to Bora Bora.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KA184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Le Taha'a was our first stop on our Tahiti honeymoon, and it took our breath away. You arrive at Raiatea airport (where the luggage claim are angled stainless steel racks, and a rope demarcates the 'secured area') and they fetch you to your personal slice of paradise. The first thing we did is jump into the lagoon from our overwater bungalow- the blues are almost unreal. The lagoon is incredibly calm - something we only realized later after seeing how the currents can make swimming from your bungalow less than appetizing. Because you're on an island, you do have to plan ahead for any excursions to Taha'a, and this means you have limited culinary options, but the solitude is worth it. Having a beach (or a motu) to yourself, watching the sun set behind Mount Otemanu of Bora Bora, you'll feel worlds away from the crowded beaches of Hawaii or the Riviera. Take a tour of the vanilla plantations on Taha'a, the scent will haunt your dreams. We stopped at a roadside restaurant for Steak Frites, and were treated with Steak Frites a la Vanille - steak, fries, and vanilla sauce. Bliss. The only way I left Le Taha'a was with a promise of a return trip.

Room Tip: Bungalows further out in the lagoon are more private, and the lagoon maintains a perfect 4-5 foot de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailthegoldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed in an OWB at Taha'a for 6 nights for the last leg of our Honeymoon. I cannot say enough good things about Taha'a. The grounds are manicured every day, the maid service came at least two times a day and restocked our room with more towels than we could use, the views are amazing, and the OWBs at Taha'a are huge, well built, and classy. I honestly cannot see how the OWBs could be improved. The OWBs even have electricity converters in the rooms.

We just got home, so we were there in mid January, which was perfect because the resort was empty. There were literally 5 or 6 other couples there and everyone kept to themselves.

The resort has free snorkel gear, kayaks, ping pong, etc You can pay for jeep tours, jet skis, water skiiing, etc. My wife and I mostly hung out on our balcony or in the water all day. This is a beautiful place to unwind and relax.

Here are some tips that I would recommend for anyone staying at Taha'a:
1) On your first day, take the hourly shuttle from the resort to the town on the main island and go to the grocery store and buy as much bottled water as you think you will need during your stay. There is NOTHING to do on the main island (literally there is a gas station and a small grocery store- which is closed on Sunday's and also from 12:00 to 2:00 PM each day). Tell the captain of the shuttle that you are going to the grocery store and for him to wait 5 minutes. Trust me, you will be done in 5 minutes and be grateful that the shuttle is there to take you back- instead of having to wait an hour until it returns. Buying water at this store is 3 times cheaper than at the resort. We brought our water to lunch each day and saved a bundle by doing so.

2) The breakfast in the morning is awesome- coffee, freshly squeezed juices, pastries, bread, eggs, omelets, pancakes, fruit, spreads, french toast, etc. We left stuffed each morning. We soon learned that the portion sizes for lunch and dinner are huge!! I am 33 years old and love to eat- so trust me on this one. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND splitting a sandwich at lunch (the chicken club sandwich was aweome) and then split an appetizer and entree at dinner. By doing this, you will save tons of money AND not feel uncomfortably bloated the whole time. The wine can get expensive and we sometimes just opted for a couple of beers at dinner. By doing this, our meals were between $50 and $100 each time.

3) Bring as much sunscreen and bug spray as you think you will need. The sun is intense (so you will use a lot of sunscreen) and it is expensive (at least $20 to $30). We never had a problem with bugs, but we did spray our legs, arms, neck with Off bugspray (25% deet) before going to breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our thought was that it is better to be safe than sorry and, as I said earlier, we did not have a problem.

4) We loved completely relaxing and not having to do anything, but if you are easily bored, I recommend bringing some books, games, etc. You can always pay to jet ski, do a jeep tour etc. This is not Bora Bora (which a decent town and many restaurants), it is a separated and completely private resort. That is what I wanted for my honeymoon and is exactly what I got!!
5) We got a massage one day which I was not impressed with because it felt like more of a rub down than an deep massage. There are 4 or 5 different types of massages offered, and perhaps we chose the mild one. I would clarify with the spa in advance if you want a deep tissue massage- otherwise, save your money.

All in all, this is a first class resort. You can make your stay expensive if you want, but if you follow my tips above, you can save some cash. Our final bill at the end (6 nights) was around $1,200. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a classy and romantic escape. If you want a spring break atmosphere, find another place!!!

Room Tip: Our OWB faced Bora Bora, which was a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank asmall788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Paradise Found!
One of the most beautiful places in the World!
This was our second visit to French Polynesia and it won’t be the last!
Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa was everything we had hoped for and more!
From the moment of our arrival at the airport, to the arrival at the resort to our departure, we received first class service! The general manager of the hotel greeted us as we arrived and said goodbye on departure day!
Contrary to most island food, the food was Spectacular! The Spa was heavenly! And the resort was peaceful and quiet.
We travel all over the world and will definitely recommend this location to friends and family and can’t wait to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The most beautiful place I ve ever been. Lush gardens and rainforest, all the possible shades of blue. and the finest architecture. There is comfort , a lot.. , our beach villa was lovely, but you see there is also respect for the environment and nature of the island.. We were lucky to get there but were not lucky with the weather, we were in the middle of a big tropical storm… but.. the colours, the flowers, I can still say the whole place is paradise. Food and wines are also fantastic. Hope to see it sunny next time!!!!!!! I would go back there forever!! Le Tahaa has made the right choices to make you feel in a natural environment, an untouched paradise island with everything you need to relax and forget about the whole world.
There is something missing which would be really Important in such an isolated place : A medical first aid kit. (They have a very basic first aid kit with just a few things, and they don t have a doctor in the motu (small island) where the hotel is. The hotel is not in Tahaa but in a small island 20 minutes away. If you have an emergency, the doctor would come from Tahaa , which is across the lagoon and ocean, by motorboat. In the middle of the storm we were told he was not sure to be able to come in case of an emergency because of the bad weather, but that the captain would try to bring him. Fortunately everything was under control, but , with allergies or rashes.. you never know how they could develop.. and a more complete medical kit would have come in handy to be used for any doctor that could happen to be staying as a guest in Le Tahaa (there was one! ) So, a medical kit properly sealed -to be used by a doctor, is a must when you are so far away - Like in every commercial air plane, there is a first aid kit, and , there is also a sealed medical kit to be used only by doctors in case you are lucky enough to find one on board, and someone needs special care in the middle of the flight.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cucuruchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahaa
12.4 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
11.9 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
12.3 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
13.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
16.6 mi away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa

Property: Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa
Address: Motu Tautau | BP 67 Patio, 98733, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tahaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome ! Ia Orana e Maeva !Part of the prestigious Relais & Châteaux collection,” Le Taha’a Island Resort and Spa “ welcomes you to a world of immaculate beauty, a timeless universe of refined authenticity. Located on the secluded Motu Tautau, facing the island of Taha’a on one side and the most perfect view of Bora Bora on the other side, the resort, inspired by traditional Polynesian architecture and style, hosts 60 remarkable suites and villas.Defined by the Relais & Chateaux philosophy, Le Taha’a is the promise of a total change of scenery, a way of life of its own, in harmony with its preserved environment, people and local culture.Welcome to Le Taha’a world… The ultimate Tahitian hideaway… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Taha'a Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Taha`a Island Resort And Spa
Le Taha`a Island Hotel Tahaa
Le Tahaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing