We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want local? Off the beaten track?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Louise

Chez Louise
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Tahaa
Cuisines: Seafood, Polynesian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Want local? Off the beaten track?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Call ahead for a great lobster, fish and shrimp dinner served with rice in a bamboo sleeve. Very basic, no frills but oh, so good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kirkrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good - set your expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you're looking for a fine dining fancy restaurant, this isn't for you. I agree with some of the reviews - yes, a bit dingy. Maybe very dingy but if you're looking for a different experience, this is pretty neat. I think the food was very good - my husband loved it! They only serve one dish an evening - whatever is caught that day and it is on the water which is nice. Locals will say this is the best restaurant in tahaa (keep in mind there are only two). When you go just pretend like you're having dinner at a locals home instead of a restaurant. Louise will come out to greet you, her daughter is the "waitress" and her brother is the main chef. If you're looking for a truly unique and local experience and are okay with a setting that is not like you're typical restaurant I recommend. If you're not very open and looking for a more traditional dining experience I'd go elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank alexandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic and Delicious Tahitian Islands' Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

During our 10-day honeymoon in French Polynesia, Chez Louise was undoubtedly the best and most authentic meal we had. It's a very local and casual atmosphere, and Louise serves the most fresh and tasty island food I've had. We stayed at the Le Taha'a Private Island and Spa and we elected to boat across the water not once, but twice because it was so good. Louise is a charismatic and enjoyable character, who makes the experience all that more special. It's a very unique experience, and for anyone staying in the area, it's a must try!! You will not be disappointed in the food, guaranteed!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjvhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dinner in French Polynesia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Chez Louise certainly offers a laid back admosphere, and if you enjoy fresh seafood it can't be beat. There is no menu, it is just "seafood" - providing four different seafood dishes to enjoy. They offer two kinds of wine - red and white, and don't take credit cards.

We have been there twice over the years and each time it was our favorite meal on the islands. Food is caught fresh each day and truly delicious! We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Chez Louise is a great option if you are looking for some adventure and a good meal. It's pretty rustic with plastic chairs and tables and lizards and cats running around. But the food itself is pretty tasty. The lobster was delicious and the fish was excellent and fresh. The other stuff that came with the meal was okay. I did feel a little annoyed when we had to pay, it was more then I expected because I had dollars and not polynesian francs even though we asked the resort how much it would be in dollars. Overall I would recommend it. If you really want lobster though, I would have the hotel call and ask if she has some because they really prepare what they catch:)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzimac2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Louise also viewed

Tahaa, Society Islands
Tahaa, Society Islands
 
Tahaa, Society Islands
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Chez Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing