We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New management has problems” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Huahine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Huahine
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Huahine
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New management has problems”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Royal Huahine Hotel 3/12 thru 3/15 2014. It is the off season. The only way to get there really is by boat. Their boat was small and kept breaking down. On one occasion we went to town on a trip to see the island and they failed to pick us up . We almost missed our flight and we're stranded. It was raining and we finally got back to the hotel by a long 4x4 drive and a walk up the beach. We arrived to find our hut leaked water onto floor soaking my clothes. The staff told us that new management cut staff from 44 to 20. The management wasn't interested in trying to compensate for a bad experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    134
    47
    24
    19
See reviews for
49
313
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in early March. What an amazing location! The resort grounds were beautifully landscaped, with wildlife abound. The food was delicious. The omelettes at breakfast were really good, as were the baked goods. We also stayed at Intercontinental Tahiti and Sofitel Bora Bora, and I thought the food here was the best we had on our entire trip. Others commented about problems Internet and access to town, but we did not experience those issues. The boat was out of order for 2 days, but as others mentioned, there was a 4x4 transfer available to take guests to town whenever they wanted. It was a little bumpy for my wife, who gets motion sickness on anything that moves, but I found it to be completely acceptable. While their boat was being fixed, they still hired a boat for all the airport transfers.

They are in the process of renovating the rooms. Ours had not yet been updated, but we found the "dated" decor to add to the charm. The only reason I give a 4/5 rating is because the room wasn't entirely spotless. We had one dirty teaspoon and the bathroom corners could have been cleaned a little more thoroughly. If this type of thing is going to ruin your vacation, do yourself a favor and stay at the Hilton on Bora Bora. This place was perfect for us and we would go back in a heartbeat. We stayed in an overwater bungalow closer to shore. A deepwater bungalow obviously would have been preferable, but we were on a limited budget. Someone complained in their review about cutting their feet on barnacles on the ladder leading into the water. They obviously had not read the reviews written by EVERYONE traveling to French Polynesia and the suggestions by the resort itself (in the informational booklet located in the hotel room) to wear protective footwear in the water. Fact: There are sharp things in the ocean. You can sometimes get away with going barefoot on sandy beaches, but there can be broken coral and other sharp underwater unknowns everywhere. Its best just to play it safe and wear some type of water shoes. If the ocean isn't for you, their pool and the area around it was very clean.

We took the Poe Island 4x4 tour. Our guide, whose name I don't recall, but was Tahitian for "Pearl", was amazing. She clearly had a passion for the island and it's culture. The tour circled the island and stopped at several local artisans homes, where we were given fresh fruit and Tahitian coffee. We also got to pet the sacred eels. If you want to buy vanilla or pareos, this would be an excellent opportunity. The views on this tour were beautiful. It was a great way to experience a bit of what island life is really like in French Polynesia. I can't recommend this tour enough.

The staff here was also incredibly helpful and polite. We were lucky enough to have the resort almost to ourselves (maybe 6 other couples), so it was a very intimate experience for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EclecticApricot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay at the Royal Huahine for 10 days, we got a great deal on Agoda and booked a deep water bungalow. We are very well travelled, we have been all over Europe, Mexico, South America, North America, this was our first visit to French Polynesia. We have stayed at many 5 star resorts, our standards are quite high. Was the Royal Huahine up to 4 Season standards, no, and it cost a tiny percentage of a 4 Seasons resort, too.

We were greeted by the water taxi, and dolphins followed us to the resort, SO cool!! We requested a private facing room through Agoda, we were skeptical as to whether the resort received or would honor our request. WOW, did they ever!! Adorable Felicia at the front desk made us welcome, check in was a breeze. We were then escorted to bungalow 41, THANK YOU, Royal Huahine, AWESOME!! A bottle of wine and a lovely note from the manager were in our room. The bungalow is huge, wrap around deck, pure paradise!! The decor appears to be face-lifted, from the photos, lovely Polynesian linens, comfortable furniture. It was also impeccably clean, and our standards are high. We went to the beach bar to relax, the lovely bartender gave us drinks and snacks. I am such a clutz, I broke a glass when toasting our arrival, the bartender laughed and quickly served us more, LOL. We also had a yummy lunch, my husband had spaghetti and I had a salad with grilled fish, delicious. Certainly nothing frozen and microwaved! NICE staff, each and every one of them, absolutely wonderful and welcoming. The pool area is pretty, not an infinity pool, who cares? Perfect temperature, gorgeous beach views, impeccably clean. The beach area is also stunningly beautiful, spotless, always loungers available.

Breakfast was included, delicious breakfasts!! Lovely meats, cheeses, fruits and the fresh croissants, be still my beating heart. The omelettes were impeccable, light as a feather, bursting with yummy ham and cheesy-ness. Delicious coffee, too!!

The water taxi is available for ALL excursions, not just airport transfers. It leaves on the hour, and picks up on the half hour, how hard is that to figure out? If you want to use it after 4, there is a small fee, no big deal. The water taxi was broken for 2 days and we rode in the truck, they scheduled it at our total convenience, we used it for our horsebackriding at La Petite Ferme. The driver was then kind enough to take us to the grocery store and wait for us. Several days later we needed to top up some of our supplies, we needed another quick run into town. The driver drove us, waited for us to shop telling us to take our time, then ran us back, totally cool! It was not a bumpy ride, a few yards down a dirt road at the end of the trip. We NEVER felt tied to the resort, they bent over backwards to make sure we got everywhere we needed to go, promptly and cheerfully.

The grounds of the resort are just gorgeous. Impeccable, awesome landscaping, and chickens, we love chickens!! The deep overwater huts are the way to go, we loved our hut! We did the following activities, horsebackriding at La Petite Ferme, we rode horses in the water, yowza!! Sailing with Claude and Martinique, pure joy, and Eco Island tours, a great way to see the island. We could have easily stayed another ten days on Huahine, we fell in love with Huahine and it's real Polynesian vibe. Lush, gorgeous, and the nicest, coolest people.

I am so bad at names, but the lovely lady manager at Royal Huahine treated us like, well, royalty. She introduced herself, and was gracious, warm, true hospitality!! Royal Huahine is lucky to have her!! Our last night, a knock at our door. Wonder why. WOW, she sent us a fruit basket and a bottle of wine, SO COOL!! Did we mention we love the Royal Huahine?

The last 2 bad reviews are baffling, were they at the same resort? Awesome food, awesome service, wonderful staff, impeccably clean, outstanding service. Easy-peasy transfers. When a place is THIS perfect, we can be picky, free internet would be good. Also, please sell Royal Huahine t-shirts, I want everyone to know the MOST amazing place we were privileged to stay!! Other than that, NO other issues. The opposite. When we get home we are going to lift the couch cushions for change to come back here, ASAP! We LOVE the Royal Huahine. We are now at the Intercontinental in Tahiti to go home, and we miss our friends at the Royal Huahine, our deep water bungalow, Royal Huahine is now tied with some other vacations as one of the best in our lives. Paradise FOUND!!!! THANK YOU Royal Huahine, for making our dream vacation a dream come true!!! =)

Room Tip: Deep water bungalow, SO worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weloveiguanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I guess we set our expectations much too high for our stay at this "resort", now called Royal Huahine. There were what we would call annoyances like the do-not-disturb sign not being observed or the barnacles (which we cut our feet on) allowed to grow on the metal stairs leading in the water from our bungalow or the morning to night heavy-bass-music coming from the village near the resort. Then there were the reasons for the POOR rating; like the food being well below the quality and selection one would expect at a "resort" or the feeling of being trapped because the only option to go into the main town is a 30 minute ride in the back of a 4x4 pick up, 15 minutes of which is a jolting jaunt on a narrow, unpaved trail. There is a nice 15 minute boat ride to/from town but that's only available for airport transfers, so if there is room and you don't mind working within their schedule or maybe getting stranded then that's for you. We quickly discovered why in pre-trip correspondence the question of internet access was never answered. It is a remote location but unfortunately one of us needed internet access for what could have been 30 minutes had it been available at the resort, but it turned out to be several hours traveling to and from the internet cafe in town and at additional expense. Finally a pre booking, agreed upon, fee waiver was not honored at check out.
With one exception the staff is curteous & friendly, the location is magnificent and has so much potential that we would like to return but we'll wait until the new management gets their act together and/or we start seeing better reviews.
The island is spectacular and we do recommend excursions with Annie of Mahana Dive and Martin and Claude of Sailing Huahine Voile - many thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bonviator57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This place is disgusting. There was dirt & trash in our $650 a night room. They informed us after arrival that there was no longer Internet. They apparently have new owners & lost their chef....so now someone is in the back microwaving a handful of horrid creations from frozen. Only about two items were edible. Not good when you have no other options. Sometimes we couldn't even find people to wait on us.

The boat to town no longer exists so you're real lucky if you can get there.

The manager told us "all we did was drink" when we complained about everything. Uh, customer service?!?!?!? Just FYI, when you're food is inedible some folks will just have wine. It was UNREAL. Save your money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tx_always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had a chance to visit this island on an archeological dig in the early 70's in college but my Dad wouldn't let me miss harvest so this was my chance to see what was found and to complete one of my bucket list check marks in the bargain. It was all I had hoped for and more because it also celebrated forty years of Marriage to my bride from the same college. We love Huahine the most because the decor of our room, the food and the excursions were all about the people and the culture of the area. Tahiti travel knew this was where we would see what we wanted and everything exceeded our expectations. Our bungalow had an outdoor shower and everything was so clean and beautiful. We had a private deck and spa tub and lounge chairs. We heard about the history from great people on our tours and we learned that the people of this Island struggle at times but you would never know it the service is topnotch. We had a great time and the dining was only out done by the entertainment and local scenery. Loved every minute of our time here.

Room Tip: Our room was right around the corner from the bar and pool area and it was perfect, outdoor shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmerkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I had read about Huahine and thought it sounded a bit different than the basic toursist-packed other islands most people read or hear about when looking into traveling to the French Polynesian islands. I read that more original history of the islands had been preserved here than other islands. That sounded worth a visit.
The island is actually almost two separate islands connected by a narrow "bridge" of land. This is the only island where I rented car for a day so I could drive around to see places on my own. This was fun. I found a small vanilla farm where the family had me sit at their family table as she brought out a locked metal briefcase where she kept her stash of her harvested vanilla beans for sale. Felt like some big drug deal going down! But, with how valuable and pricey good vanilla is, I understand that is her whole years income in that box! I love to cook and it was awesome vanilla.
Okay...about the hotel:
The setting is fabulous. I thought that the location, being isolated, was so nice to be away from "civilization" and that needing the boat to get in and out was fun. How many times can one really "get away from it all"?
That being said...some things here at this hotel were really just "okay". Not a top level attention of service one would hope for, but the restaurant was the weakest link overall. But, this place really is a wonderful location to realx and enjoy what these islands has to offer. I stayed at the furthest over water bungalow. It was a cool location to be way out on the end, and the water was great.
Overall, a very nice place to stay, but not quite the level as other places I stayed in the Islands. ( I also stayed on Moorea and Bora Bora). But, I would stay here again. Lovely island, nice resort.

Room Tip: I chose the last over water bungalow on the far end, which was kinda cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAK807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huahine
4.9 mi away
Relais Mahana
Relais Mahana
#2 of 3 in Huahine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
3.8 mi away
Maitai Lapita Village Huahine
21.3 mi away
Hotel Atiapiti
Hotel Atiapiti
#1 of 1 in Opoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Opoa Beach Hotel
Opoa Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uturoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pension Fare Maeva
Pension Fare Maeva
#3 of 10 in Huahine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Huahine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Huahine

Property: Royal Huahine
Address: BP 36 Fare, 98731, French Polynesia (Formerly Te Tiare Beach Resort)
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Huahine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Huahine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Huahine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Royal Huahine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Tiare Beach Hotel Huahine
Te Tiare Beach Huahine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing