We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”
Review of Royal Huahine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Huahine
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Huahine
Reviewed October 21, 2013

we stayed in a beach bungalow for this part of our trip and was very happy with the accommodations. the room was very large for the three of us and they had even remembered to include a third cup, robe, etc! the staff was very friendly and helpful. especially loved our boat driver who went off track when dolphins were spotted so we could continue to look at them swim. they are under new ownership which i hopes will translate to better dining as our dinner was ok. not bad but not great either. for the price i'm paying i would prefer a great dinner. the person who works at the massage (who's name i can't remember but is originally from australia) is also worth a visit as she gave me the BEST massage i've ever had!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 481 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed just one night at the hotel after arriving from a small family pension. It's very nice kept, tidy, and the rooms are very spcious and nicely decorated. Food at the bar is good, as well as dinner is of good quality. The menu especially local stuff is small, for fish there is only 2 kinds of fish for main dish which is a bit disappointing.
The downside is the cost of transfer from the airport to the hotel, which is quite a rip-off with about 80 dollars, considering that the hotel transport service is the only option to get there. Another downside is the high internet cost, despite the internet being very very slow.
All in all a good choice, but expect a high bill at the end of your stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AxlFoley66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We found the resort beautiful and well maintained. Our well appointed garden bungalow was very comfortable. It was spacious, the bed was very comfortable, as was the large bathroom boasting two sinks and a large shower. There was also a small fridge, a nice terrace with sun beds and chairs, etc. The manager and all the staff were particularly pleasant and welcoming. The beach is pretty and affords some snokeling. Meals were very good, although the menu becomes repetitive when one spends a few days at the resort, especially since there is nothing else around. In fact, this is the main drawback of the resort: its distance from the main town and from other activities. And we became cruelly aware of this on the day it rained continually and we were confined to our cottage.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maher_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just back from our 5th visit to Te Tiare Beach resort. The property is still beautiful and the staff still friendly and efficient. It was like visiting old friends. Manager Jacques Constant tries to greet and talk with each guest daily at breakfast. A small housekeeping glitch was fixed within an hour of mentioning it to Jacques one morning.

This visit was bittersweet because on arrival we learned that Te Tiare owner Rudy Markmiller sold the property at the end of July. 23 of 43 staff were let go. If South Pacific Management continues to manage Te Tiare, the property may continue to be the wonderful place it has always been. If not, there may be a significant decline across the board. I don't see how a staff of 20 can maintain a 4 to 5 star property when occupancy levels rise.

Room Tip: Deep overwater bungalow #40 offers the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The property is at a very secluded spot in Huahine and it is a good 20mins by boat from town. We booked the shallow overwater bungalow and it was very old and shabby. The bed was hard and the sheets were old, the wood furniture creaky. There was no cable TV or wifi. It certainly felt more like a 3 star resort.

The resort provides free boat shuttles to town, a few times a day but at rather odd timings in the evening. The restaurants in town open for dinner at 6pm and the timing to catch if you were to stay for dinner was 6:30pm. There was barely enough time to eat unless you are willing to stay till 9pm for the next shuttle- and there was little to do in town.

The breakfast in the hotel was average. We had 2 breakfasts there. At one time I found some maggots in the cereal. At another, there were many black ants around the cold cuts. However, dinner was not too bad- suggest to try the shrimps with rice.

We went to 4 islands- Huahine, Moorea, Raiatea and Bora Bora. In terms of beauty and liveliness, Huahine fails terribly in comparison but it would appeal to those who appreciate the quietness it has to offer.

The saving grace to our trip here was none other than Poe's 4WD tour and La Petite Ferme horseriding tour.

Poe's 4WD tour was slightly more expensive than the 2 others run by Americans. However it was worth every cent. Poe showed us around the whole island, even her hometown and sang to us polynesian songs, and let us sample homecooked polynesian food. It was a truly authentic experience that made us appreciate more of Huahine's natural beauty.

The La Petite Ferme horseriding tour was another epic tour as we rode our horses through the lake and forests. Mine was a young Marquesan horse, very tame and great for first-timers.

Verdict for the resort: Too pricey for what it's worth.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pyjamaszzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 4 nights in a garden bungalow with nice view on the sea, incl. breakfast.

+ beautiful resort with garden scenery
+ huge bungalow with great private sundeck (we spent most of our time here...)
+ well equiped bungalow, incl fridge (supermarkt with free shuttle in 15')
+ beautiful beach with corals and a lot of fishes
+ food is great but not cheap
+ free shuttle boat service to town

what could be improved:
- driver from airport to boat quai was a bit strange...
- pick up from airport is very very expensive, in paticular considering the free shuttle boat service
- reception was a bit a hurry up action - could not even finish our welcome drink
- provide free wifi, incl in room

our conclusion: recommended - we would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the resort for 4 days and 3 nights. The resort overall was beautiful. Very secluded and quiet. Minimal activities on the actual resort, but my idea of a vacation is just to lay on the beach and catch some sun, so this wasn't an issue. The food was very tasty, and there were many great options for breakfast buffet. We stayed in an overwater bungalow, with a wonderful view. The cleanliness of the room left a few things to be desired, but I figure culturally ideas of cleanliness may vary. The bungalow was very spacious, and included a walk in closet, with drawers, a mini bar, desk, love seat, flat screen tv, large bathroom with separate toilet. There was a spa tub, and walk in shower. There was only a screen on the shower window, and no way to close it, which caused a bit of a breezy shower, but nothing to complain about. The deck outside of the room included 2 lounge chairs with a side table, a small dining table with 2 chairs, a ladder that lead to the water and an outdoor shower. There was bench seating along the deck as well. The views from the deck were spectacular, especially the sunset. The staff was all very helpful, despite the minimal language barrier. There was the option for the front desk to schedule activities that you may be interested in for an additional charge, but we did not partake. There is a boat that runs almost hourly that will transport you to and from the main village of Fare, where you can experience the local culture, including shops and restaurants. A hidden secret that my fiancé and I discovered, unfortunately on our last day, was that if you head passed the over water bungalows, there is a small beach that leads to a road, that you can take to other parts of the island! We walked almost to the bridge that leads from Huahine Nui, to Huahine Iti. I collected many shells along the beach, and there were a lot of exotic fish visible in the shallow water. I will return to Huahine again, and this will be where I stay when I do.

Room Tip: The overwater bungalows are nice if you want to spend the $, but not a must. All of the bungalows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huahine
3.8 mi away
Maitai Lapita Village Huahine
5 mi away
Relais Mahana
Relais Mahana
#1 of 3 in Huahine
773 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Atiapiti
Hotel Atiapiti
#1 of 1 in Opoa
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Opoa Beach Hotel
Opoa Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Uturoa
626 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villas Bougainville
Villas Bougainville
#4 of 7 in Huahine
48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pension Tupuna
Pension Tupuna
#2 of 7 in Huahine
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Huahine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Huahine

Address: BP 36 Fare, 98731, French Polynesia (Formerly Te Tiare Beach Resort)
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Huahine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Huahine
Price Range: $147 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Huahine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Huahine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Tiare Beach Hotel Huahine
Te Tiare Beach Huahine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing