We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect high point on an amazing honeymoon”
Review of Royal Huahine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Huahine
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Huahine
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was the most expensive stop on the honeymoon we were taking. I had talked through with my wife where we were going on our four four week honeymoon and we decided to do French Polynesia so Tahiti for a few days, Bora Bora as it is iconic and I had really liked Huahine when I read up and this hotel also seemed lovely so it was my choice and gosh even I do say so myself a very good one!
We flew into Huahine and a taxi was waiting to take us to the boat dock where we waited about 15 minutes for the shuttle boat to the hotel. There is no road there to the hotel. The boat trip was lovely the island is scenic and as you arrive the hotel looks simply stunning. As the boat arrives one of the Tahitian men blew his shell to welcome us as new guests - corny maybe but nice nonetheless.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, a welcome drink was served and bags taken to our bungalow. After a short time we were shown our bungalow and it was lovely. We had a deep overwater bungalow (worth every penny) and this island was far less expensive than the fancy hotels on Bora Bora so no complants from my perspective.
So we had a look around, a small walk in wardrobe area with loads of storage, a huge bathroom with a big walk in shower. The main room had a lovely big and comfortable bed, tv and all the right stuff. Then there is the outside - a big deck with two sunbeds and a covered area with a table and chairs. There were also steps down to the platform near the sea with steps into the sea itself. The sea is crystal clear and bluer than you can imagine. Under our bungalow there were electric blue fish living there so we could see them every day.
Next up a swim in the water - it was fabulous. Next up was the snorkelling - neither of us had done it before - well as you get in the water up pop a couple of brightly coloured yellow fish clearly interested in you. Swimming up to within about a foot of you it was so beautiful to see. As you swim around the coral is fabulous and there are different types of fish of all colours and hues in the water.
The food was good and not badly priced, so we spent our days relaxing on our sundeck then snorkelling, lunch at the beach restaurant and dinner in the main restuarant. I have no complaints about the service or speed of it and to be honest we were in paradise and were happy to take things at a leisurely pace.
The sunsets were lovely and the stars at night are so clear - something that we do not see so well in the city so nice and romantic to stare at in the evening.
Would I recommend this place - without a doubt. Would I go back - I truly hope so.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 481 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Accessible only by boat, the Te Tiare Hotel is the perfect place to stay away fro the troubles of the world.
The bungalows are really big and if you choose the overwater ones, the view every morning will take your breath away, especially during sunsets.
The restaurant is big enough but you can still feel like the only ones in the place if you choose the best seats.
The personnal was sweet and always willing to make you feel like a king in paradise. Definitely an adress to keep in mind.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vogue02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We arrived on Huahine on a late Sunday afternoon. The transfer cab was waiting on us at the arrival gate at the small airport in Huahine. He gathered our luggage and took us to the dock where Te Tiare has the boat shuttle pick guest up for the short (15-20 min.) ride to the resort. It's the only way in, thank God! The shuttle boat ride both to and from the resort were amazing. On the way we were greeted by a school of dolphins playing in the water and the "Capitain" did not hesitate to spend quite a bit of time following them so we all could get a better look. We also saw flying fish suspended in the air it seemed as the boat past them. They seem to hang in the air for minutes! Upon arrival at Te Tiare, you are greeted by a Tahitian blowing the sea shell like a horn to greet you. The rception also includeds a personal greeting on the dock by name with a wet cloth to wipe the sea off with. You are escorted to the "living room where you are offered fruit drinks and then have all documents processed for your arrival and departure. The recption includes a tour of the main building where the restaurant and bar are. You are then taken to your bungalow. In our case it was a deep water overwater bungalow, # 32. A great bungalow with beautiful water below you and a spacious room and deck to enjoy and spend your time in and on. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom very large, a nice sitting area, and an awesome deck for laying on the lounge chairs on, a nice table under the thatched roof to eat or take a break from the sun on, and that wonderful step way down to the shower and then into the water. The coral was everywhere and fish also. At night with the outdoor under the bungalow lights on the fish were everywhere and beautiful. The bungalow was exactly as presented and more.

The restaurant at dinner was very, very good. Enjoy a liesurely dinner with ope air tables looking out over the water. We tried a number of dishes and all were great. The wine was reasonable for French Polynesia. Very good service! The staff serves double duty beause of the size and you get to know them very quickly. Breakfast was a nice buffet and you must order the fried eggs! The best eggs ever!. I can't say that enough, the absolute best! The food and service was exceptional!

We ordered room service for both wine and lunch and were also taken care of more than adequate. Just remember you are on a small slice of this island and things in French Polynesia do not move fast. Sit back and enjoy and don't sweat the small stuff!

Snorkeling was great and they have kayaks and canoes to use. The sun is amazing, the water more amazing and the calmness of Te Tiare out of this world.Just relax and take it all in and chill under the French Polynesian sun!

We took the boat into Fare one day and enjoyed the village and shopping and more sun and beach. The people are extremely friendly and you wil probably get to know some of the guest because it is a small resort and you see the same people at meals and on the shuttle boat. It doesn't mean you are over run or obligated to interact, but you are in a special place and yoiu do acknowledge that with the other guest.Take the boat and go explore if you have the time.

The gift shop is usually closed, but will be open on request although it was open when we were leaving. It is a nice little shop and we did buy some pearl ear rings and bracelets. The village of Fare has some good deals on black pearls also, probaly better than here.

Upon checkout you are told to leave your bags packed by the door and what time to be at the boat for the ride back to Fare and the airport. At leaving you are given a traitional Tahitian farewell which you will have to discover on your own! It is a bittersweet goodby because this is really a very special place and very remote and private. We could have stayed so much longer, it is such an amazing little resort.

The clearest water, wonderful sun, beautiful sailboats passing by, exceptional food, and the feeling you are tucked away on your own little island in paradise. Go and enjoy!

mauruuru Te Tiare Resort!

Room Tip: The deep water overwater bungalows are the only way to go. You are out over the best part with the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mccrazyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

No amount of words will do this place justice. This resort is the perfect place to relax and get away from the world. Only accessible via shuttle boat, it's like a hidden little paradise. While the property is a little dated, the overwater bungalows are huge. The bathrooms feature double sinks, bathtub and separate shower. They also have a small fridge and sink and the decks are really spacious with a dining area and even a shower. There is really good snorkeling around the bungalows so you don't need to go too far to see tons of tropical fish. The grounds are beautiful with lots of tropical trees and flowers, perfectly manicured. Internet is only available in the lobby and it wasn't really fast but other than that everything was top-notch. The restaurant serves the finest food in Huahine and if you are lucky you will see manta rays swimming by at night. We also tried the spa and got one of the best massages ever with Tahitian oils. The staff was amazing. They went above and beyond the call of duty to make our Polynesian wedding truly memorable. Special kudos to Vatea, who became just like family during our stay. This is a very, very special place and it was really hard to leave. Paradise doesn't even begin to describe it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed in an over the (deep) water bungalow for 5 nites / 6 days. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. It is very quiet and relaxing. That being said, there is not much to do. There is a free boat shuttle to the town of Fare, but we found nothing to see there. We did take the motu picnic excursion which included a visit to a pearl farm, snorkeling, a picnic & "swimming" with the sharks (actually holding onto a rope while the sharks were fed in front of you). The excursion was well worth the approximate price of $90 usd per person. We ate all of our meals at the hotel as we did not find anything in Fare that appealed to us. The hotel restaurants serve very good food and the prices were reasonable. We had American breakfasts included which meant a continental breakfast with eggs, bacon, sausage, etc personally ordered. Masks, fins, & snorkels are free as are kayaks. The clients were mainly from France.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have good locations...however, jumping directly into the ocean from my personal dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanawuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We love the Te Tiare! The staff was fantastic, the food was great the lagoon really good. We had a Garden Bungalow. It wasn't new, but it was huge, clean and quiet. We esp. enjoyed the gigantic deck that was partially covered so even though the weather wasn't perfect for a couple of days we could still be outside sheltered from the wind and the rain.

We loved Te Tiare because it was so quiet, comfortable and relaxing. If you want night life this is definitely not the place, but if you want to get away from it all I don't think you can do much better.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel Staff and ambience was overall good. There was decent snorkeling at the hotel and huahine unlike Moorea and bora bora is not filled with tourist. However the hotel though supposedly built in 2000 felt like we were in the 1960s it could definitely be upgraded a bit. We had a deep water bungalow and the room smelled extremely humid smelling. Also to note huahine in July is very windy and the weather does not tend to be on the sunny side. Additionally, the bungalows are extremely loud during the windy weather.

Lastly, the food is average. If you have a hot breakfast note that it takes at least 30 minutes to get anything you order and that if that is included in your rate you need to ask for the hot items they will no voluntarily be offered. The first day we were not offered and simply assumed the buffet was all they had and the third day we ordered something and needed to meet or tour in 30 minutes and put hot orders did not make it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huahine
3.8 mi away
Maitai Lapita Village Huahine
5 mi away
Relais Mahana
Relais Mahana
#1 of 3 in Huahine
773 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Atiapiti
Hotel Atiapiti
#1 of 1 in Opoa
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Opoa Beach Hotel
Opoa Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Uturoa
626 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villas Bougainville
Villas Bougainville
#4 of 7 in Huahine
48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pension Tupuna
Pension Tupuna
#2 of 7 in Huahine
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Huahine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Huahine

Address: BP 36 Fare, 98731, French Polynesia (Formerly Te Tiare Beach Resort)
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Huahine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Huahine
Price Range: $144 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Huahine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Royal Huahine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Tiare Beach Hotel Huahine
Te Tiare Beach Huahine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing