We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great setting”
Review of Chez Tara

Chez Tara
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Huahine
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great food and great setting”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had lovely food at Tara. The poisson cry was the best we had in Polynesia! The restaurant as an outside terrace with lots of shade facing the best beach in Huahine. Beautiful! Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BerrieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    126
    35
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Heaven on Huahine”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend 4 nights at Chez Tara, 3 in the shorefront bungalow and 1 in the garden bungalow. The shorefront bungalow is amazing!!! It is a private retreat set among flowers and trees. We loved it! The little veranda sits over small waves lapping on the shore. We spent hours sitting here entranced with the view and the sunsets. When not sitting we were snorkelling offshore where there is an abundance of fish to be seen, or driving around this garden island.

The bungalow is simple but huge, with two rooms; one a bedroom, the other containing two day beds and a fridge. There are heaps of windows which open out to add brightness and coolness and the breeze helps keeps mosquitos at bay. The bed is equipped with a mosquito net ensuring a good night’s sleep.

At the base of the steps to the bungalow is the bathroom, with hot water and a coral floor. Both this area and the bungalow are decorated with fresh flowers.

The included continental style breakfast is adequate. Chez Tara is known for its restaurant and many of those from the yachts anchored in the bay attend for lunch and dinner. The view from the restaurant on a calm day is heavenly, it makes you want to pop a sparkling!

There is a large and small garden bungalow. While they do not offer the same view, there are loungers on the shorefront to avail of. Mosquitos are an issue as the breeze does not reach this area, however the bed in the smaller bungalow again had a mosquito net. The shower in this bungalow was cold water.

We cannot recommend Chez Tara high enough. The stay in the shorefront bungalow made our trip to Huahine and we hope to return someday. Tara’s family are extremely friendly and Tara and Mama were very kind to us, even bestowing small gifts when we left. Thumbs up for Chez Tara.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NollaigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a must visit. Food is really really good. The best poisson cru we've eaten in all polynesia. The view is breadth taking :) The only thing about this place are the WCs... DO NOT EVEN TRY to go anywhere near. Terrible terrible. For the rest, it s typical polynesian.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wizg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Enjoying the food”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Fish was superb and well cooked. Breads were as good as Paris. Pastries were to die for!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Definitely eat here when on Huahine.”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were recommended you have lunch at Chez Tara, on the south end of Huahine. The restaurant is on right on the beach and we had a table with a lovely view of the turqoise waters outside. We came there during lunch time and tried the curry prawns and the tuna i a vanilla sauce. Perhaps with vanilla from the plantation just up the road? Both dishes were really good and full of flavour. I'm not used to eating vanilla in other things than deserts, but this sauce was a really nice place for vanilla.

Chez Tara is a great place for eating and for enjoying the view. This must be the spot on the island where the water has the most beautiful colour.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sendmeatelex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Tara also viewed

 
Fare, Huahine
Huahine, Society Islands
 
Huahine, Society Islands
 

Been to Chez Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing