We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Friendly”
Review of Chez Guynette

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huahine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez Guynette
Ranked #7 of 15 Huahine B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent a week at Chez Guynette and I could have easily stayed longer. If you want a slow pace in a small village close to shops and beach this is it. If you want glitz and nightlife then maybe somewhere else would suit you better.
Fellow guests and our Hostess ,Laurence, helped make the week even more enjoyable. Roulettes abound with good choices and the large grocery close by has almost everything one could want.
The kitchen is well stocked with cooking and eating ware.
The restaurant out front serves great food, the tuna special was excellent.
Renting a car for a day or so is highly recommended to tour the island big and small.
We would visit again if in FP.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Friendly, helpful French lady owner – Laurence. Youth hostel feel, cheap and cheerful rooms. Family room en suite with curtain to bathroom overlooking adjacent building Best aspect is terrace at front for breakfast overlooking street activity and bay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandhopperEAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent one night at Chez Guynette after arriving on the Hawaiki Nui approx midnight. The double ensuite with double bunk was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom (hot shower) is separated by a brick wall and curtain over the entrance. There are cooking facilities out back and a small restaurant out front, however we did not use either.The dorm has a walkway through the middle to access the cooking area which would be intruding, plus I would have an issue with security of valubles. I was extremely disappointed to note we incurred a $10 charge for arriving late at night - we have never before been charged by a proprietor for opening the door! The cargo ship was due to arrive earlier and when we realised we would not be on time, we called twice to notify of the delay. Overall, it is a good place to stay for a night if arriving in the evening and waiting for car hireoffices to open the next day. Otherwise, jump in a car and stay on the beautiful beaches on Huahine iti.

Room Tip: Choose a private room ensuite for better security and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NollaigT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The room is very basic but the bed cover and pillow is very clean that's what we need and like.
Room has hot water also even we don't really need it in South Pacific. Good location, right at the market. Do not forget to get the bread quick in the morning when the cruise ship come otherwise you are hungry. You can rent a scooter near there for good price and explore the whole island yourself. There is very nice beach near Chez Guynette just walk about 3 minutes on your right hand site from the small one in front of Chez Guynette coffee. Enjoy the vibe of simple but great life in Huahine. Do not expect all the bells and whistles since you get what you pay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blue_turquoise_pixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Another incredible stroke of luck to stay with Olivier and Laurence. The vibe is great, the rooms are simple, clean and secure and the communal kitchen is well equipped. Coffee on the terrace in the morning is a traditional you quickly fall into and it's the place to be in Fare! For the family, this was a great deal and it left us with some spare change to do some excursions and to rent cars and scooters several days. One awesome example of the way these guys treat their guests: there was a mixup in our booking and when we arrived, it turns out that they were full, so Olivier arranged for us to stay on his friend Remi's catamaran anchored in the lagoon. What a wonderful experience. Chez Guynette charges a very reasonable 500 CFP for 24 hrs of good internet access, but you have to be on the terrace to use it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bearstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Okay, you don't pay much for the dorm, but please...a little more service would have been nice. This place is ran by a French couple, he seems to be very nice and relaxed, she is not...There is wifi for 500fcp per day, but only available on the terrace. We were using it, payed for it, and told we had to leave because people wanted to have lunch there. Sure, nice, but we payed for it too! There were some more weird rules: At 10 pm they switched of the lights in the dorm, even when we were the only guest there!! This couldnt be changed. Besides, the kitchen is terrible; sooo old. Bad! Also the other guest have to walk trough the dorm to get to the toilets or kitchen, so not really nice if you would like to sleep till after 7 am...One morning loads of guests from the restaurant were walking trough our room to go to the toilet. Doesnt give a very save feeling, so watch your stuff! Also we couldnt sit outside at the evening; they didnt want to switch on the lights for us, so every night we sat outside in the dark!

Again, it's cheap, but it's one of the worst hostels ever....Huahine is beautiful though!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank leonierw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

When we saw this pension from the outside we were thinking does not look nice... We finally decided to stay there and we were right!

The pension belongs to a French couple very helpful,there is a snack/cafe attached to it so there is always some people in the front. We had a huge room with an ensuite bathroom with hot water (luxury for backpackers like us !). It is located in the centre, there is a supermarket next to it and the beach is 200m from the pension and is great. There is also a bar close to it and couple of restaurants.

The room, bathroom and kitchen were cleaned.

I would highly recommend this place which is a good deal.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IngridandLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huahine hotels
0.2 mi away
Maitai Lapita Village Huahine
7.7 mi away
Relais Mahana
Relais Mahana
#1 of 3 in Huahine
760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pension Fare Maeva
Pension Fare Maeva
#3 of 7 in Huahine
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chalet Tipanier
Chalet Tipanier
#14 of 15 in Huahine
27 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tifaifai et Cafe
Tifaifai et Cafe
#2 of 15 in Huahine
87 reviews
3.7 mi away
Royal Huahine
Royal Huahine
#3 of 3 in Huahine
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Guynette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Guynette

Address: BP 87B., Fare, 98731, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Huahine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Huahine
Price Range: $48 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing