We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raiatea Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Raiatea
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Location is just a few minutes by taxi from the airport or Apooiti Marina on the leeward side of the island. Hotel provided free bikes so we could go to a grocery store located between the marina and airport. Easy, level roads. Refrig in room to store snacks. We got the half board with breakfast and dinner. Fabulous food prepared by the chef the hosting couple brought from France. Definitely a family friendly hotel! Our room was very welcoming upon arrival with dozens of flowers decorating every available space. Rented a car from the hotel to drive around the island. The island is cleaner and more refreshing than Bora Bora. Lots of sail charters out of Raiatea and many know to come here for dinner. Lovely view of the water from the balcony--nice place to sip a drink & watch the sunset before dinner. Though there were several families here the atmosphere was very pleasant and not noisy as I feared. Everyone appreciated the warm hospitality that makes this a very special hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water and have a balcony, AC, safe, bar refrig, TV (in French only)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canyonskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    107
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
103
428
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Oliver the host greeted us when we arrived and explained the services and showed us the hotel, my Dad and I loved the personal approach. We were taken up to our room which was of an average size but very clean and cosy. The balcony had a fabulous view of the hotel garden and the lagoon.

The staff here are very friendly and spoke good English! Dinner was of a very high standard but slightly expensive, however it was fine considering this whole holiday was expensive.
Breakfast was a feast with fresh juices and fruit, bread, ham and cheese and a godly yogurt.

The facilities are very good for a 3 star hotel: there was a pool, free wifi, kayaks, restaurant, ocean across the road, air conditioning, TV, fridge, comfy beds, awesome views.

This is a great hotel located in a good area near the Marina and the airport with decent value and great food.

I hope this review was helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better. Book in advance as often full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

While living aboard a 44 catamaran cruising the Society Islands with 3 other couples was wonderful, our greeting here when we came ashore was heavenly. The food was the best we had in any of the islands. The snorkeling and kayaking from the hotels dock were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

+ warm welcome with drink & information from helpful staff
+ nice room with cool balcony and great view
+ free wifi, kajak, and bikes
+ fantastic breakfast (fruits, bread, yogurth, fresh juice, sweet...) and very good dinner (although not cheap, especially drinks)
+ fridge in the room and store nearby (20' by bike), just if you have a "tight" budget

what could be improved in our view (details...):
- maintenance of bikes (our breaks where just nonexistent)
- almost every time we wanted ask something at the reception nobody was around (but maybe just badluck or bad timing)
- no beach, but actually not a real proplem since the ponton works great as starting point for swimming and snorkelling, and the motu is very close (by kajak)

our conclusion: nice place to stay and worth the price (including the dinner) - recommended

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We flew to Raiatea from Moorea, after our stay at the Sofitel.
Raiatea lodge hotel does not compare to luxury hôtels in French Polynesia as it’s a small 3* property (there are no 4*/5* properties on Raiatea ), but we were not disappointed. The hotel is run by Olivier and his wife Karine, who are both very nice and will gladly help you arrange excursions if you need.
The rooms felt a bit small (we are used to 4* & 5* hotels…but really wanted to see Raiatea rather than staying in a luxury hotel on a motu in Tahaa) but the decoration was lovely (we had the deluxe room, not bigger but better looking). Each of the 16 rooms has a small balcony and they are all located in the main building.

The staff at the restaurant is exceptional, no less. Especially Rainui and Nadia, so lovely. The food is great too (must be one of the best restaurants in Raiatea ), and the cocktails are also worth a try.

The + : the restaurant, great food and service. The breakfast was pretty good too.

The - : the bathroom was small, with only a shower (but I guess it’s ok given it’s only 3* hotel) and the bed was not comfortable...
There’s a (small) road between the hotel and the lagoon and no beach (there are no real beaches on Raiatea ). But you have access to a pontoon if you want to go swimming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nokinsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

we stayed just one night after hauling our sail boat out of the water at the nearby marina. olivier, nadia and the rest of the staff are all extremely helpful, friendly and service-oriented. delicious gourmet-quality meals in the outdoor, poolside restaurant. beautiful rooms with french doors overlooking the pool and lagoon. a truly relaxing and tranquil spot.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superstarkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

For the second time we spend a week in the Raiatea Lodge Hotel. The quality since 2011 did not decrease. The Hotel in its special style as Lodge of the 1920th is still alive, the house is even cleaner than it was (and it was), the food is excellent, the service is outstanding and very personel and the situation is made to relax. You feel welcome from the beginning and get a member of the family: Olivier, Karine, Lauren, Nadja, ReiNui, ReiNa, Mathieu, ... The pool has been embellished, the park is even more soigné and the sundown is as beautiful as it was. At least: the price is - for Polynesia - moderate. English is spoken by most of the personel and of course by the owners.

Room Tip: All Rooms in the first floor are recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raiatea
22.2 mi away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
22.5 mi away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,574 reviews
11.5 mi away
Opoa Beach Hotel
Opoa Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Uturoa
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
22.0 mi away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
10.6 mi away
Hotel Atiapiti
Hotel Atiapiti
#1 of 1 in Opoa
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raiatea Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raiatea Lodge Hotel

Property: Raiatea Lodge Hotel
Address: BP 680 | TUMARAA PK 9,5, 98735, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Raiatea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Raiatea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Raiatea Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel of 15 rooms, located on the coast West of Raiatea, enjoys a privileged location on a property of one hectare, facing the " islet" Miri Miri and the island of Bora Bora.Its colonial architecture and teak wood furniture as well as the refined decoration reveal an atmosphere of quitness and wellbeing.All air-conditioned, spacious and comfortable rooms have all a private terrace, overlooking the park as well as on the lagoon.Common areas provide direct access to the swimming poolThe restaurant offers French and International cuisines, both using local vegetables and fruits for new refined flavors.Raiatea Lodge is the perfect place from which the exploration of the sister islands of Tahaa and Raiatea is made easier... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Raiatea Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raiatea Hotel Raiatea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing