We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manuia Grill

Manuia Grill
Ranked #18 of 73 Restaurants in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This fabulous find is just across the road from the Pearl Resort in Moorea. They have quite a selection. We dined there at least three nights of our stay on the island. Each plate is either two (2) skewers of beef, chicken, mix of seafood or grilled pork or beef w/ two (2) sides included. Sides to choose from are: salad, green beans, rice or french fries. Two (2) plates and two (2) sodas averaged about $30-$35 USD.

Tipping is not customary in French Polynesia, however, we tipped our waitress each night at least 20% our bill. The service was as awesome as the food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nopuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    37
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Lots of it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We enjoyed this BBQ meal accross from the Pearl - we only wish it was open for lunch too! The BBQ was fantastic and the sides they offer are well thought out and delicious. There was lots of food (we could have shared one plate!) and the price is definately right. If it hadn't been our last day, we would have gone back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CynIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a find! Right across street from the Pearl resort. Not much to look at from the street but don't be fooled. Plastic tables and chairs. They are currently planting some flowers and such around the eating area. They just opened in the past 6 months.

Food was excellent! We actually ate there 2 days during a 5 day stay. The menu is not extensive but everything is fresh and delicious. The staff is excellent, all recommendations were great. We like to eat at local restaurants to get a true sense of the local food. Was about 9000 cfp for family of 4 (food and beer)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacknjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Some of the best chicken that I have ever tasted. It didn't even need the Roquefort sauce that came with it. Perfect meal. I wish that we came over more frequently from the hotel. I could have eaten dinner there every night. Plus it's so much more reasonably priced than the hotel with much better food. Even my picky kids loved it. Great place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CyKeWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Right across the street from the Pearl Hotel in Maharepa. Great Polynesian barbecue and very cheap with REALLY good food. Barbecue chicken,steak,Mahi Mahi and more. All are served kabob style with rice or French fries but they also have salads, great crepes, Poisson De Cru and other local favorites. Open for lunch and dinner is a very popular with the locals and they drive up and take home all the time. Seating is all outside but the service is great and very friendly and the prices are very cheap by Polynesian standards but the food is very good. Amazing so few guests from the Pearl go there but you can easily eat for two for about 2000 francs which is about 20 bucks! Cannot beat it. The desert crepes which are in their own little shack are as good as you'll get anywhere. Couple times after dinner at the Pearl we went over for dessert crepes nod spent less than a 1000 francs and they are delicious. It's a great little find and you shouldn't miss it if your around! We had to add them to Trip Advisor and had no pictures and the address is iffy but its directly across the street from the Pearl Resort and next door to Alberts Tours. Enjoy

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcmurphy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuia Grill also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
Maharepa, Moorea
 
Maharepa, Moorea
Cook's Bay, Moorea
 

Been to Manuia Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing