We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, poor service and quality at the beach bar/restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Moorea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here for 4 nights while honeymooning in French Polynesia. Let me first start off by saying: If you are looking for a decadent hotel in a plush tropical resort, this is not the place to stay (try Sofitel)! However, if you are looking for a stress-free, quiet, no-frills island escape - THIS IS A GREAT CHOICE! If you have ever rented a quiet cabin in the woods, I would compare it to that (but on a beach instead). Accomodations are basic, but clean and well maintained. The service at the front desk is friendly and responsive. They will happily arrange for your rental car, call for restaurant reservations, and confirm transportation for you. They will also lend you a bicycle for free so you may ride to the nearby village (Le Petit Village) to shop for souveniers and groceries. There is a dive shop (SCUBA Piti) and aqua sports (TIP Nautica) shop located on the property, which both have great service and prices. The beach at Hotel Les Tipanier is one of the best on the island (the other being Ia Oro near the Sofitel - over 20km away). The hotel grounds are well maintained, but not overdone like the Hilton. All bungalows provide easy access to the great beach, but the front-porch view and convenience of the beachside bungalow can't be beat! Dinner at the main (Italian) restuarant here is good, and decently priced. My only complaint would be the lack of service and poor quality at the beach bar/restaurant. They seemed to only be open a few hours a day, and the food was less than mediocre for what you are paying. My recommendations: 1) Bring your own alcohol and cook your own food in your bungalow's kitchen..then sit on your front porch to enjoy the beautiful scenery. 2) The Intercontinental and Legends Resorts are within 1/2 mile, so you can easily walk over for a "fancy" dinner and plenty of high quality (but high-priced) cocktails.
Overall, Les Tipaniers was exactly what we were looking for - a quiet, clean place to sleep after spending long days diving, kayaking, snorkeling, and hiking. It is simply missing a late-night bar/restaurant option, because it would have been nice to have a "night cap" and a snack on the water after those long days, without having to get dressed to go back out for dinner!

Room Tip: Try to one of the last 2 bungalows on the beach (closest to the dive shop). The offer the most priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank thove25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 735 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Hotel Les TipaniersI iti is few kilometres away from Hotel Les Tipaniers. Bungalows are spacious with separated bedroom, bathroom, fully equipped kitchen & dining room and small terrace. Beachfront bungalows have also excellent view of Opunohu bay area.
Les Tipaniers Iti has no beach, just small pier for sunbath while water in front of bungalows is shallow and not good for snorkelling. But if you are a good swimmer, you can find your own path to deeper water in the bay.
Since there is no public transport on Moorea, rent a car, motorbike or at least bike is necessary. But the most beautiful beach near Sofitel resort is reachable only by car.
Les Tipaniers Iti is ideal for peaceful holidays, reading or working, away from crowdy resorts.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VladoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We did not stay at this hotel (it seemed more for the French) but we did have cocktails there one afternoon and lunch another time overlooking the ocean. The food was fabulous and a creative offering of salads and sandwiches -- better variety than most of the other places we tried during out week-long stay. Pricing very fair. If the weather and timing had permitted, we would have stayed longer to enjoy the pretty white sand beach and the fabulous clear water protected by the coral reef! I'm kicking myself that we didn't take a picture of the view from our table!

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the rooms but they appeared to be quite dark with only the front sliding door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

GOOD:
· The gardenroom was clean and with refrigerator, safe.
· There is a store (ABC) in the center. Next is a petrol station to rent bikes.
NORMAL:
· there is a transport by minibus from the airport, if you reserve in advance! (1400,- that’s the minimum, as it is for 2 persons!). Otherwise you have to take a taxi.
· The beach is small, clean. Impossible to walk further on the beach.
BAD:
· No good corals, a few fish.
· The scenery with the closed club-med in the neighbourhood looks really desolated.
· There is a boat-way -signed by posts- in about 50meters from the beach. So it is dangerous to go further. They like to speed here.
· waterski is not provided, as advertised. The price for 1hour kayak is 500,-!
· They have a weird deposit system: for the safe-key, you get no receipt and pay 10000,-. For the beachtowel you sign a paper and pay 1000,-. At the end they didn’t want to refund me the towel-deposit!!?? a trick from the reception-lady??
· No ATM here. The next is 20km away. Crazy...
· Almost every house has a minimum of 1 dog! Sometimes they are roaming, a few aggressive, chasing bikes and cars. That’s not agreeable.
On the way to the waterfall in afareaitu I got bitten ,riding my bike, by one running out to the public! path! Reporting at the gendarmerie, it came out, that this happens often and they are powerless to follow all cases. The only thing I could do, is to confront the owner and ask him for amends. If he doesn’t want, you can take a lawyer and go to court, waiting maybe 2 years for a decision (meanwhile you are back home...). Well, tourists have to be protected, but nobody cares about you. Terrible! So there are 2 safe options: stay in your house, or take a car to go around. Nice holiday...
CONCLUSIONS:
· The garden room is okay, but the rest is overpriced. Coming back? MOOREA: NO; HOTEL: NO.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coralkong502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed at Tipaniers for four nights. Moorea is spectacular and there are awesome spots, Les Tipaniers is in one of those, right in front of a couple of Motu. The hotel itself is placed on a small beach that is really nice, even if at low tide swimming is a bit difficult. Coral is just average. Bungalows are nice but not the best you could imagine, the beach restaurant for breakfast and lunch is nice. The real restaurant (for dinner) is on the main street and is nothing special, both for what concerns the setting and for the food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMakkions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in a garden bungalow for a few nights and the setting of the bungalows is very nice. The beach at the resort is excellent, probably the best I saw on the island for swimming, snorkelling after the beach at the Sofitel. The bungalow was simple, spacious, clean and was better than i was expecting. We ate at the restaurant one night but could call it average at best...maybe we chose the wrong dishes. Overall we were happy with the accomodation and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jezz7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and i got to Moorea with no reservations made in advance, so we looked for the big hotels (like hilton, intercontinental and sofitel) and they were all full, a pity, if you are in a place like Moorea and can afford, stay in a great hotel!! Our room was just by the sea, amazing views, quite place but not many facilities! The owner of the hotel is very nice, but staying At this hotel it wont give you the best that this island can give you!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cestlaviebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moorea hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
726 reviews
6.8 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
5.8 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
124 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pension Tarariki
Pension Tarariki
#10 of 13 in Moorea
38 reviews
9.3 mi away
Green Lodge
Green Lodge
#8 of 13 in Moorea
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Tipaniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Tipaniers

Address: Haapiti, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Moorea
Price Range: $138 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Tipaniers 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Les Tipaniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Tipaniers Moorea
Les Tipaniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing