We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of Fare Vaihere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fare Vaihere
Ranked #2 of 16 Moorea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fabulous experience! Beautiful quiet place. One thing: realize that Fare Vaihere is not at Maharepa (this is their PO box), the Fare is at the entrance of the Opunohu Bay-around 20-30 minutes drive from the boat and in fact, taking a taxi from the boat was a little bit cheaper than what was proposed by the hosts. The bungalows are great and full of welcoming flowers upon arrival. The breakfast (included) is incredible with attention paid to what people like or would like to try (fresh fruits, different local jams and fresh bread). The pier is just at the right place and in the evenings we had visits (by chance, but every nights...) of turtles, black and white tip sharks, a ray, trumpet fish and a pleitore of "aquarium fishes". We had an incredible dolphins visit and one of us kayaked so close to them she was even scared. Free access to kayaks and bikes was also a great addition to this place. Philippe was very helpful organizing a rental car the day we wanted one, a paddle boarding experience (where we swam with rays and sharks) and a diving trip for one of us (including delaying our check out time while waiting for the diver). Dinner was too pricey for our budget so we ate food on our front porches (we had 2 bungalows by each others) and Philippe was very gracious in providing us with bottle and can openers. Their dog Paopao is a delight, very well behaved and friendly (but knowing his rules). Except dinner (but we did not try), prices are well deserved. If you go you also must try a little snack (name?) by the "public beach" (on your left getting out of the Fare and mountain side) and the Mahana Snack (the other direction, at the end of the Opunohu bay) for their incredible food and friendliness (curry shrimps- local production- sooo excellent we went twice with our bikes from the Fare). Friends of ours (from the US) went twice to Fare Vaihere and we hope to do this also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    33
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
17
128
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

There are many things that worked for us at Philippe and Corrine's place
+ Good breakfast
+ Clean room and bathroom
+ Lovely view of the water
+ Great location to relax and make your first stop in French Polynesia post Tahiti
+ Nice location close to the attractions in Mo'orea
+ Good value for money
+ You are left alone to do what you want..

+/- The bathrooms are not designed for couples on honeymoon. :-)

We took the bus from the ferry terminus to Fare Vaihere. We were greeted by Philippe and showed to our rooms. Fare Vaihere worked for us because we slept 16 hours a day for the 4 days we were there.. we didn't really connect with Philippe and Corrine - my guess is that there was a bit of a language barrier as we were the only non-French speaking guests. Also, Philippe enjoys taking guests on excursions and we didn't go on any as the weather was not great + we spent our time recovering post our wedding!

Overall - nice place to relax, recharge, see a bit of Mo'orea and get set for the prettier(?) French Polynesian islands.

PS: We would highly recommend the following at Mo'orea
- Rent a car if you plan to go around the island (Philippe will help connect you to Albert)
- Go on the ATV tour! It's the best way to see all of Mo'orea's attractions
- Buy your own water, yoghurt, cookies, etc. There are multiple mini-marts
- We also bought our own lunch and often dinner as lunch is not provided at Fare Vaihere.

Room Tip: Closer to Philippe's bungalow gives you access to wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrohan189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had no idea what to expect, even after seeing photos on the Internet. Philippe and Corinne welcomed us with a refreshing coconut drink and the flowers in the bungalow were a special touch. It was the perfect place to wind down. The bay is beautiful and alive with reef fish as well as unexpected visiting yachts/ships. We saw dolphins when we arrived and lying on the end of the pontoon looking into the water was like looking through the glass of an aquarium - you didn't even need one of the free masks and snorkels! To swim, you need to walk across the coral, so shoes are recommended. Perhaps we missed out on some interesting parts of the island because we only had 3 nights there and didn't hire a car, but we enjoyed borrowing the free bikes and slowly exploring the local area. Climbing Magic Mountain was fun for a 60+ pair and the view was worth the effort. We ate with Corinne and Philippe every morning and night and the food was excellent. If we had stayed longer, we would have tried out other options which Philippe was happy to organize or leave us to work out for ourselves. Just be aware that many smaller places are closed at variable times (shops, cafes) although large hotels are within reach (even by bike) and always open. As for the bungalow, the bathroom was spotless and very functional. The sleeping area was a reasonable size but we struggled to find the best place to plug in the kettle. Perhaps a double socket by the fridge would be useful! The verandah was lovely for relaxing and drying towels. Although our bungalow was closest to the road, the traffic was light at night and the ever present French Polynesian dogs and chickens caused minimal disturbance. The area is very quiet and peaceful. Corinne and Philippe do everything they can to ensure that their guests leave with good memories and we would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Greenlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights in one of the bungalows of Fare Vaihere.

Highlights:
- Warm and personal welcome by Philippe
- Very helpful to provide tips and assist with arranging (outside Fare Vaihere) activities...
- Breakfast was good with fresh fruit every day
- Optional diners prepared by Corinne (and Philippe) were excellent, for a reasonable price
- Flexible in diner options, taking our preferences into account
- Basic, but clean bungalows
- Rocky reef at Fare Vaihere is full of sea life. Great snorkling
- Free WIFI, but you have to be close to Philippe and Corinne's house

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjoPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

June 2013 - I traveled to Hawaii (Oahu, Maui) and Tahiti (Bora Bora, Moorea) and this was my favourite place of all to stay. First you are greeted by both Philippe and Corinne in person (who seem like a French intellectual couple in their 40s), shown to your room (the fresh flower decorations are breathtaking - so you immediately start snapping pics of your room), cold coconut drink in your hand as a welcome gesture. It's a bit hot w/out air conditioning, but the fan and flowing air makes a difference, it feels really cute to sleep under the mosquito net - even though we didn't encounter any mosquitos. Breakfast served outside is ready in no time, you sample different jams/exotic fruits, baguette w/butter always filling, if you are really hungry scrambled eggs for an extra maybe $2.50 ready to order. Philippe suggested taking the bikes and 20 mins away is local fruit canning company - 45 minute interesting tour, with free sampling of juice and alcoholic beverages made on the spot afterwards. I bought a bottle of pineapple wine (never had that before), which I enjoyed with the dinner later that day, cooked by Corrine (also recommend, appetizer, main course, and a delicious coconut cake baked by Philippe). We stayed for only 3 nights, but next day we took the kayaks to nearby Hilton Moorea (20 mins away) - park it on the very L side of their beach (away from the hotel) or they will notice, lol. Went snorkeling around Hilton, very interesting, made friends there (also from Ontario, CND - looked inside their under-the-water expensive bungalow - I was happier at Fare Vaihere!!!. Main reason maybe - Fare Vaihere has the best snorkeling I've seen on this whole trip, not even Bora Bora or Hawaii was better. Right off Philippe's dock is a reef which plunges down/ends, and the variety of fish is fabulous. I could have spent hours in the water, it was like from Jacques Cousteau documentary. Even going for a refreshing swim at sundown, with the sun setting and the dramatic dark outline of the mountains behind the bungalows was a mystical experience. I didn't find any of it too expensive - there are small food establishments around, and for the equivalent of $10-15 you get a good fulfilling hot meal. Even dinner at nearby Hilton (Le Creperie, each crepe is enough for dinner, stuffed with anything from fish, veggies, eggs, bacon, fresh fruits etc...) would run around $19-28, plus a bit more for drinks. Rented a car for a day (automatic transmission was $20 more than standard, $100 plus $20 for insurance) - was worth it. Toured around this lovely island, stopped at different beaches, went up the lookout called Belvedere, stopped at Les Tipaniers hotel (where I originally wanted to stay, but I'm glad I didn't), rented a paddle board and tried that, nice beach - but again if you like snorkeling - no better place than Chez Philippe and Corrine, clean, very friendly, attention to detail - makes quite a difference. I liked Moorea as much as Bora Bora... maybe even more... thanks to of course the lovely owners of Fare Vaihere!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YvetteG970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Loved loved loved staying here. The owners were super friendly and welcoming. We went diving, and snorkeling tour with rays and sharks with Phillipe. He was a great dive instructor/guide, and it was at a fraction of the price over the other tour groups. The location is amazing, with great views of the bay and great snorkeling right off the dock. They let you rent kayaks and bikes for free. Within biking distance, you can ride the bike to Magic Mountain area and we were able to do the hike up to amazing views, and also within walking distance is the juice factory where you can get a free tour and tasting. Within walking distance, there's a cheap sandwhich/crepe shop and a tropical garden that has homemade jam, beautiful flowers, and great views.

My favorite part was Corrinne's dinners, which were the best meals we had in Moorea and Bora Bora.

We had a great time, and we look forward to someday coming back and staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sskny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Tahiti is very expensive and this a good option for big chain resort hotels.Owners are very friendly and every day they suggest a dinner with them.Owners, Philippe and wife are french and make a simple but high cuisine food, mixed french and polynesian.It´s nice dinner with them,they speak french and english.Hotel is in a beach in Moorea, with confortable cozy simple rooms.Great value fo money, a authentic experience of Tahiti that you don´t find in resorts.They book tours, give all infomation about Moorea and Tahiti.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moorea hotels
3.5 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
4.0 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
672 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#6 of 13 in Moorea
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Moorea Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fare Vaihere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fare Vaihere

Property: Fare Vaihere
Address: Baie d'Opunohu | Papetoai, 98729, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Moorea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fare Vaihere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Fare Vaihere in Moorea, French Polynesia : the quietude and the beauty of the location brings to the pension Fare Vaihere a resting and warm atmosphere in a preserved environment. The pleasant ambiance, around the four Polynesian style bungalows located in a flowered garden along the lagoon, will help you to relax. Imagine you just get up and enjoy the view of a lagoon so flat that there is no other way than jumping in, to meet colored fish, turtles or rays. Then it's time to go for breakfast, and later for your Atv or whales watching tour or scuba diving course ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fare Vaihere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fare Vaihere Moorea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing